Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Debra

elegant stay with amazing views

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
absolutely gorgeous place, 4 stars. built on a high hill with parking below, then a walk thru a tunnel with purple fluorescent lights! to an elevator just to get up the hill 5 flights to reception. then more flights up to a room with a private terrace and unbelievable views over sestri levante and its twin bays. elegant room, lots of extras in room like slippers! hotel has beautiful pool, terrace, lounge with overstuffed sofas, big screen tv.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best views of any hotel in Sestri Levante!

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms have electric blinds so you can totally blackout your room and sleep as long as you want. This place is so relaxing. We wished we could have stayed longer. Best Rissotto we ever had at their sister restaurant on the beach called Portabello!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Laura from New York City

Best hotel you'll stay at!

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
First, that view is absolutely more stunning than a picture can capture. The rooftop pool was fantastic, the restaurant was divine, the rooms were lovely, but best of all: the staff could truly not have been nicer. What a magnificent time we had!
5 out of 5
by Nicola from Taunton

Great hotel with great staff

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Apart from its outstanding position the most impressive thing about the Vis a Vis hotel is its staff. They are very friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble and they assist in any way possible. The room we had was quite small and I could not go out on the balcony as I suffer from vertigo and it was a massive drop to the road below. I didn't let it spoil the holiday as the views were breath-taking as long as I kept my distance! The local town of Sestri Levante is quaint, lots of great seafood restaurants and we had a car go explore further afield but this isn't necessary as the train and ferry service is great for exploring Cinque Terre and other nearby towns. Thank you Vis a Vis - we hope to return soon. Photos added of view from dining and drinks terrace.
2 out of 5
by Gary from Toronto

The only thing going for it is the view.

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is perched high on a mountain top so the views from the restaurant and the bar are exceptional. This is the only reason to come to this hotel. The staff at the reception are excellent and friendly. The restaurant staff are not. They are indifferent and robotic unless you speak Italian. The breakfast is unremarkable. The rooms are terrible. We were placed in a small room. I wondered if munchkins from the wizard of oz could even fit in there. After asking to switch we were moved the next morning to a slightly larger room which was more comfortable yet quite small. These are European standards I am using not American. I have travelled extensively and stayed at three four and five star hotels. The first room was the smallest ever. The showers are terrible. You burn if some other resident uses the toilet. You can smell smoke from other guests when they smoke in their room. To top it off my wedding band was stollen by the cleaning staff. The town itself is a far cry from the more pleasant and interesting Santa margarita. Overall this hotel is in my opinion the worst four star hotel I have ever stayed at. The town is a bust. If you don't want to stay in portofino or cinque terre make Santa margarita your choice. Skip this hotel and the town for more worthwhile options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Wonderful hotel, great location, beautiful views

Posted Jul 13, 2016
The Hotel Vis A Vis was a great experience. The Staff was very helpful due to our late arrival and the loss of our luggage for the entire stay. The food and hospitality were wonderful. Beautiful views and sunsets. I would definitely recommend this Hotel and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chester, UK

Good location and friendly staff

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Location: Lovely seaside town and a great location to use as a base to visit the coast of Liguria, including the Cinque Terre, by sea or by train.
The hotel is on a hillside just outside the old part of town, but the hotel's lift takes you down inside the hill and leaves you just 1 minutes walk from the pedestrian old town and 2 minutes from the promenade - perfect! There are great views from the dinning room and terrace. The bedrooms are quite small but adequate and if you have a garden room this is a nice additional area for you to use during the day. Breakfast is just about OK, with decent cold buffet, but the hot food on the buffet looked totally unappetising. During your stay make sure you visit the hotel's restaurant down in the bay - Portobello - great seafood, beautifully prepared. In addition there are a lot of other very nice restaurants in Sestri Levante.
1 out of 5
by Llnda from CALIFORNIA

DISSAPOINTMENT IN SESTRI LEVANTI

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Well I was anxious to be able to leave a comment on this particular hotel as they actually cancelled our room reservation & moved us to another property that did not even come close in comparison!! This was our first trip to Italy and we were so excited about staying at this property based on the pictures but when we arrived we were told that they had to move us to another hotel (sister hotel) as they did not have enough room for us??!! This was booked months in advance; in addition we were sent an email confirmation. Because of the fact that we were visiting from another Country we thought we had no choice but to move to the other property which was such a disappointment. We opted to check out a day earlier than planned & were told by the hotel that they could not refund the 3rd. night because we had done a pre-pay on the room, even though we NEVER STAYED at the hotel we had booked!!! I am writing this review as a "heads up" so that hopefully this unfortunate situation not happen again as it was such a HUGE DISSAPOINTMENT to us on our first trip to Italy!!!