Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Teresa from Birmingham, Alabama USA

No Hot water.

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Must ask for hair dryer. No tea pot! Lady serves tea in lobby. Move her to another job! Put tea pot in room! Shower would not drain and Water ONLY luke warm. For this reason alone I would NOT stay there again. Would try another hotel in town first for hot water. Lovely hotel though. Thick rock walls. Cool. No mosquitoes. Put one of those little hot water heaters on the wall along with a blow dryer. Put tea kettles in the room and it would be worth the high price I paid. Sliding screen with beautiful woven picture moves over window for privacy, but it has HOLES woven in it. In the AM a man walked down the narrow lane behind room and waved. What?! That means at night you can see right in if you are outside. Unnerving. I did not appreciate the small twin bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ticks in the Beds

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
Having pre-paid through Hotels.Com,I was irritated that the hotel had no record of this and even claimed to have never heard of Hotels.com. After a couple of hours of backwards and forwarding they eventually seemed to accept it but not a good start. The rooms were fine if somewhat drab and overpriced. we had to move rooms during the night when we found ticks crawling all over the children's beds. The night porter was helpful but noone bothered to apologise - they simply blamed other guests for bringing them into the room after trekking. The food was mediocre but the restaurant staff polite. I visited the Goha 20 years ago and the rooms haven't really had any work done to them since then. Slightly sums the place up. Sure there is better to be found in Gondar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best view

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is located on the hill, so the view is fantastic. Thanks to the five-star view, I had a great dinner there in the restaurant. Despite the location, it was not difficult to find a tuktuk and take a look around in Gondar. All staff are kind. The food was good. But the electricity was cut off for 2~3 hours one night and the room condition was not the best. The drainage was not good in the shower room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2015 on Hotels
This is not Bonnie. I travel with Bonnie and had another room.I could never get hot water. The telephones did not work in any room. The meal prices were overcharged for the . There was the 10% tax and another 15 %VAT plus needed to leave a tip. The exchange rate was 1 dollar to 20.039Birr. The meals were 90 to 140 Birrs on the menu plus an additional 25% for basic staple quality. the staff was very nice. The view for which the hotel is known for was wonderful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from Ipswich, UK

Fantastic view with an OK room.

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: The view, the quietness, the fresh-air and the ever-so-friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: The bathroom, hot water, and bed linen.
Location: Only passing through... twice. Lovely walk down to the town, bit of a steep hike back though... caredful if you are disabled or have a heart condition
Many things about the Goha were laudable... being met at Gondar Airport, a warm friendly welcome from smiling staff, the view from the terrace over Gondar, coffee on the terrace, ice cold Dashen beer and much more. However what was not so pleasing was: being charged $105 dollars for a room I'd already paid $46 for through Expedia. Then after complaining the room rate was reduced to $59. Plus the heavyweight screen to close off the window, the 'shabby' bed linen, the antiquated bath and toilet, the 'sand-paper' towels, only luke warm water, being sat in the bar for dinner as the dining room was full of package holiday-makers from 7.00 'til 9.30, sporadic electricity cuts, sporadic inter-net cuts along side the power-failure, getting food-poisoning on the last night (my fault as I really shouldn't eat luke-warm lamb as a main course. HOWEVER taking all this into account I WILL stay at the Goha again. The view, the quietness, the clear, fresh air and and the very helpful and friendly staff made this one of Ethiopia's better country hotels... thanks to all at the Goha and I forgive you for the dose of sickness I got (could be from handling the birr notes of course and not the food).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic view

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels
A lovely hotel, the staff was smiling and helpful, and we enjoyed the stay. We clearly recommend this hotel,and would have liked to stay longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2013 by Fissha, Hotel Management
Dear our customer, We are please to say thank you for your review and your stay in our hotel. we hope we will serve you even better next time. thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: utsikt, stil
Cons: wi-fi sykkelutleie
Beautiful view and style. Useless wi-fi all four days
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ゴンダールを見下ろす山の上のホテル

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: 景色
Cons: 従業員の訓練。食事内容。
室内の設備はベーシック。レストランの食事の質はよくない。かなりの健脚でないかぎり、町に行くのに徒歩ではむずかしい。他のレビューがよいのは、景色のよいところで、プールサイドに寝そべるのに適しているからで、西洋人的評価と思われる。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels