Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Shubhra from Houston

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
It is a comfortable, reasonably priced motel. The staff is helpful. There was no wifi because the government had shut down internet in the region. The room was small with a small compact bathroom. Hot water is available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive and too uncomfortable

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was very helpful. The hotel is centrally located and easy to find. Room service and hotel restaurant were decent. The beds were awful, just a box spring with a sheet over it, no pillow top or pad of any kind. We moved hotels to one just down the street, and paid half as much for a much nicer hotel. I would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too loud

Posted Dec 18, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel in a good location. Not a good place if you actually want to get any sleep. The hotel is located next to two churches who chant over loud speakers at the top of their lungs from 4am until 10am. The staff were not particularly helpful with anything that was asked of them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A rest in Gonder

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent rest after a long hike in the mountains. The staff are welcoming and the hotel is very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A excellent introduction to Gonder

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed in the Taye Belay Hotel prior to setting off on a trekking trip. It was a welcome rest after a long journey from the US. The Hotel was clean and welcoming, a step above any other in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A pleasant stay in Gonder

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels
Given the general conditions in Gonder this Hotel is very good - well above the expected standard
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riyadh

Well-placed for culture vultures.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: The location is great for visiting historical sites and provides easy access to recommended restaurants.
Cons: WiFi is only available in the lobby area, and can be slow or intermittent.
Location: Multiple historical sights are within walking distance or a Tuk-Tuk ride away. Decent eateries nearby too.
I stayed at the Taye Hotel for two nights before heading to the Simien Mountains, and then stayed another night upon my return. The staff were always extremely helpful and quick to help.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central position

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels
Noisy at night because of situation between two churches and a mosque. Very close to main tourist attraction. Good basic cooking. Attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Claira from UK

Really great stay

Posted May 12, 2014
Cons: My mattress was a little too firm.
Location: The nearby nightclubs are worth a visit, friendly atmosphere live music and amazing traditional dancers. Heard good things about Simian tours.
Friendly, helpful staff who arranged everything I asked for from transport, replacing a lightbulb, taking messages and lending use of the phone. Breakfast was good, I recommend the freshly made omelet. The location is central and convenient for shops, cafes, clubs and the castle. It is noisy at night though. My room was large, beautiful and spotlessly cleaned every day. Hot water was available at all times. Wireless downstairs was reliable.
3 out of 5
by C. Blanco from London

Great location, average quality

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels
The location of the hotel is great. It's really close to the Castle. It's also located in quiet neighbourhood. The quality of the hotel could be better. The pressure in the shower was not good. The people are really helpful and the food in the restaurant was excellent.