Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a great experience!

Posted Oct 5, 2016
The Sleeping Giant was an amazing experience from the minute we pulled up until we drove off again after our stay. The facilities were great, the view was breath-taking, and the staff was incredible (especially Garreth) - they really went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay. I would highly recommend the Sleeping Giant to anyone who is looking to do more than just lay on a beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Nice hotel in the mountains

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Excellent service employees are knowledgeable and helpful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Incredible and special place

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Amazing. The lodge experience was newer to me, but having people all spend time together really made it feel unique. Staff was incredibly, friendly, and kind. The rooms exceed expectations. The surroundings are flawless and the tours/activities are one-of-a-kind. I was so excited to stay here and it EXCEEDED my expectations. Swifty/Julio at the bar are legends. Will recommend to absolutely everyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The resort is beautiful, nestled in the rainforest at the foot of the hills. The staff made the experience unforgettable and the food was incredible!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico


Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Everything but the staff truly make it the experience of a lifetime. The staff go above and beyond to make this the best place in the world to stay!
Cons: What is they always say if it ain't broke don't fix it well that's what I have to say here is that I can't imagine anything better!
Location: Mr. Alexander comes by every evening to go over everything possible from all of things to do which is everything!!!!
I chose this lodge based on the glowing reviews I read. Trying to honestly review this Hotel and staff I would have to give them a 10 STARS!!!!!! From the minute I showed up at the lodge I felt as if I was at home. The staff were very sweet, kind, thoughtful and very attentive. I have never traveled by myself anywhere and decided on a whim to go to the Sleeping Giant Lodge and after a 7 day, 6 night stay all I can say is " I CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!!" and in fact I am talking to my daughter and her husband about going with me next year. They made my stay so enjoyable that when I got home I actually felt like I was on my own private island. I can honestly say this is the first vacation that I didn't feel like " I NEEDED A VACATION FROM MY VACATION!". Anyone that is looking for a place to truly spend family time and unplug from the world this is definitely the place. And anyone who want s a truly beautiful peaceful serene tranquil vacation this is the place. Mr. Eugene the manager visits with each guest individually each day. My waitress's and waiters knew me by name and took the time to make sure everything I had whether it was food, drinks, or just how my day was going and if there was anything they could do to make it more enjoyable. The staff at this hotel are the best I have ever seen and I have traveled a lot in my lifetime. Thank you to Mr. Eugene, Miss Millie, Miss Caroline, Miss Ami, Miss Jessica, Mr. Julio, Mr. Orlin, Mr. Bryan and Mr. Garath.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Romantic, peaceful

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Our room was incredible. The luxurious amenities and beautiful surrounding scenery, as well as plenty of privacy in the spacious room and large balcony, inspired romance and relaxation. This is a great place to go for a honeymoon. It is not the best place to go if you are looking to experience local culture and nighttime entertainment, but there was plenty to do during the day, between pay-as-you-go adventures, and exploring the surrounding area of the resort. The pool was beautiful as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockland, NY

Awesome, relaxing, plenty of options for excursion

Posted Sep 2, 2016
The staff was very accommodating, friendly and helpful. My kids had a great time kayaking and paddling on the river. The hotel landscape was impeccable. It was very hard to leave
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

This hotel is amazing!

Posted Aug 19, 2016
This has to be the most beautiful, elegant, and peaceful hotel I've ever been to! Beauty everywhere you look! staff is so friendly and is very accommodating! They remember every guests name your whole stay! Ready and eager to help with anything you might need. Big or small! A special thanks to Orlin, swift, Alexander, Julio, Clinton, and gerreth! Y'all made our stay incredible! We will definitely be back! :-)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort, excellent staff

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We had a wonderful time at Sleeping Giant. The resort is beautiful and we took advantage of the many cave and jungle-oriented tours available. If you go, consider renting a vehicle rather than paying for airport transfers. For a family of four the cost is about the same and then you have the flexibility of your own wheels. The roads are very easy to navigate and you can plan an excursion to St. Hermans cave and swimming hole, which is about 10 min down the road. The town of Belmopan is about 25 minutes and, while not exciting, has some decent restaurants and grocery stores. We stayed in the garden view rooms which are nice, but a bit noisy from 6am-9am and again in the evening. The evening noise didn't bother us at all since we were enjoying the pool and grounds then but the morning noise did wake us up. For the most part, it wasn't a problem since we wanted to get up early anyway for our tours. Be sure to bring ear plugs though if you stay in these rooms. As far as tours, the favorite of 3/4 of our party was the cave waterfall climbing. This was unique and exhilirating. Our oldest daughter, who is not the most coordinated, had trouble climbing the waterfalls and bruised her legs quite a bit, but the rest of us had no problem and loved it. We also did the ATM and Black hole drop tours. While these were both fun, we enjoyed them less than the waterfall climbing. Everything at Sleeping Giant was well-executed and we had a wonderful time. We highly recommend it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing place to stay

Posted Jul 30, 2016
The lodge was amazing...Staff was very attentive and fun. Casita was beautiful, clean and so comfortable....loved kayaking on the river that was right outside our door....will definitely go back!!!!