Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Galveston, Tx

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Our stay at the Sleeping Giant Lodge was fantastic! The staff were not only accommodating but friendly, not to mention the lodge was breathtaking. Thank you to all of the staff for making our experience so special! We will be back for future visits!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Rainforest paradise

Posted Sep 10, 2017
If you're looking for a something different than a beach resort with hundreds of drunk folks and need some tranquility this is the place for you! That private tub outside was so exilhhariting. Swimming in the lake in the nude was the highlight for me! Yup I did it. Always wanted to. This place is special. Don't miss out!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Not a good place to stay

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Rain forest
Cons: A lot
Location: Not many, except Blue hole national park. We need to drive at least one hour for good activities.
Pros: 1. Good rain forest location Cons: 1. Not close to many attractions 2. The road to reach properly is extremely poor (almost 1 miles). Careful, that car could get flat tire. 3. No TV, No micro wave in any room 4. We were assigned to terrible room, where we continuously hear restaurant noise days and nights upstairs 5. We had dinner the day, we reach the hotel, got diarrhea, vomiting, and stomach pain for couple of days. Almost two days gone in our vacation. 6. When we were welcomed to the property, the staff told that they can provide coconut for tasting if asked. When I went and asked for it, the different staff, she told that there is no coconut available, while my wife asked another hotel maid, and she asked the worker to pull the coconut for us. We finally got coconut on the second day, and were reluctant to ask coconut afterwards. At least, they should have told that I have to pay for coconuts. 7. Not much activities inside the hotel (except pool, and paddle board) 8. Didn't feel comfortable and relaxed during the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place to relax and enjoy outdoors-

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Enjoyed the beautiful landscape, the trees, flowers, food. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Josue, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unbelievable Retreat in the Jungle

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff, food, views, pool, landscape, everything.
Cons: Absolutely nothing.
Location: Blue Hole, Zoo, Mayan temples, cave tubing.
From the moment we checked in until we left, this place is amazing. First rate staff seeking to meet all your needs. We were upgraded to a casita and it was amazing. Incredibly tranquil. Hike up to the gazebo was breathtaking. So much to do in the surrounding area. We specifically stayed here because we wanted to do more then set a s relax by a pool or at the beach. We did different excursions each day. We then came back at the end of the day after seeing the local sites and relaxed by the beautiful pool. I will not profess to say that we frequent high end hotels all the time, but I can attest this was the best retreat we have ever stayed at. Food was awesome too. Everything was very reasonably priced too. We are trying to plan a trip with our kids next time soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Josue, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Absolutely fabulous place!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We loved everything about our stay at the Sleeping Giant from start to finish! The grounds are amazing and wonderfully kept. Our (river view)room was way more than we'd expected: with the view, hammock and patio table on our patio, outdoor shower & tub, as well as the fabulous room itself! The pool/hot tub area is well kept, the restaurant, bar, & breakfast were all great. We hiked up to their onsite gazebo and took in the breathtaking 360 degree view-very cool. We booked the ATM cave expedition with the onsite reps at dinner one night-quick & easy-and the tour is an absolute must!!!!!! Coolest thing I've ever done!! Also, wifi is offered at the main office/guest lounge area only-no wifi, tv's, or phones in the guest rooms/cottages (actually a nice surprise for us) Our only 'not excellent' was the checkout process-it was a bit slow because everything is kept up with on paper/in a folder while you're here. They had to track our folder down and total us up. Not a big deal just took longer than expected! Overall I will definitely stay at the Sleeping Giant again as well as recommend to friends & family!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Josue, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hospitality First Class

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The Staff and the Hospitality.
Location: We were there to relax so we did not do much. We did go to the Blue Hole which is about 8 miles down the road and we climbed to the top of the Gazebo.
I cannot say enough about our stay at the Sleeping Giant. The staff is 5 Star for sure. The food is fabulous. We ate 3 meals a day and never had a bad meal. The grounds are beautiful and the resort is such a peaceful place to relax. If you just want to check out and relax this is the place to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Beautiful resort

Posted May 20, 2017
The staff were wonderful the mountain rooms are surely worth the 100 steps up!! The view was fabulous. The restaurants were delicious
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Breathtaking site, amazing staff

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Everything about this hotel is beautiful! The views, rooms, lobby, pool, and especially the people. The staff went above and beyond to make this visit amazing and memorable. It was so hard to leave paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful Casitas!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Our room was just beautiful, the shower luxuriant, our room's patio for coffee each morning, the expresso maker in the room, no TV or Wi-Fi in room
Cons: Evening meals were of rather inconsistent quality. The rough road leading into the lodge could be smoothed just a bit : )
Location: We had a rental car and headed out on our own daily to San Ignacio/Santa Elena, Xunantunich, Cahal Pech, Hopkins, Placencia, and Spanish Lookout,
We stayed in one of the Casitas (#8) which are each separate guest houses. Walking on the lighted sidewalk in the evening through the tropical flora to our room built our anticipation in arriving at our casita. The room was beautiful, the large walk-in shower with a garden tub, well...in the garden outside was really nice. The room had a nice mini-fridge and was made up with fresh flowers on the bed daily. The staff was exceptional - friendly and gracious. The grounds are very well kept and if you didn't want to leave the lodge for a relaxing stay, you wouldn't have to as there is free access to their kayaks and paddle boards, hiking trails to the gazebo looking out to the Sleeping Giant in the mountain and overlooking the local orange groves, pool, hot tub, bicycles, and bird watching on your own.