Ratings based on 354 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Nice big room, clean, fridge, A/C, shower with decent water pressure. Not too bad and at a great price. Loved having the Sports bar connected, there was good music, happy hour, TV and Pool table. Over all 4 out of 5.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No water , no machines for snacks , broken

Posted Sep 13, 2017
I usually do not take the time to write a review but this place has terrible beds everythijng as far as the vending machines are broke or out of service no bottled front desk help? Forget it I will never be so ignorant as to.stay here unless it's snowing outside ..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Jaymes McDaniel -- General Manager, Hotel Management
Not sure what hotel you stayed at, but i know it was not mine. Our beds are brand new, so they cant be terrible. They might not be exactly what you are used to sleeping on, but we cant interchanged mattresses in every room due to peoples likes. Nothing is broken, only the candy machine is out of order and thats because someone tried to break into it and we arent able to keep it closed til we get a new machine from the company that services it. My front desk is extremely helpful, i have never had a complaint about them ever! I am sorry you wont be staying with us again, but hopefully you can find a hotel that doesnt have machines that break down and can provide you with the comfort of mattress to fit your needs. I am sorry you didnt enjoy staying with us. Jaymes McDaniel General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Stay

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Very affordable and comfortable. The hotel was pretty clean and quiet. I had no issues with neighbors or loud noises at night. Great location, around a lot of different restaurants in walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Jaymes McDaniel -- General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I appreciate you taking time to let us know how your stay was. Jaymes McDaniel General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Gross

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Beds where small. Our non smoking room smelt of strong cigarette smoke and the fridge was broke. Ended up go to best western just down the road which had friendly staff that took care of us at 2am
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Jaymes McDaniel -- General Manager, Hotel Management
Beds are the correct size as all beds made in the US, if you asked for a Queen it was a Queen, if you asked for a King it was a King, we do not manufacture smaller beds. It was a figment of your imagination. I went into your room and I do not smoke, and it does not smell like smoke, so i am not sure what you were smelling but it wasnt smoke. My staff would have GLADLY moved you to a new room, if you would have asked them too, and if your fridge was broke we could have gotten you a new one. So the error lies on you for failing to ask for a new room or assistance. We are here 24 hours a day so at 2 am, we would have taken care of you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

convenient hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: As above, liked the free parking, refrigerator, and Wi-Fi capabilities; also the closeness to UTI.
Cons: none
Location: close proximity to shops, casinos, and most importantly to UTI.
Our stay was pleasant and comfortable. We were there to help my grandson settle in the his apartment at UTI. Appreciated the close proximity to the school and shops near the hotel. Appreciated the free parking and Wi-Fi features. The free breakfast every morning was simple but practical. Also made good use of the refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the unit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Jaymes McDaniel -- GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate guests like yourself that take time to let us know how we are doing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location but shabby

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: interior and pool
Location: lots of shopping and restaurants
first room ac and refrigerator did not work but staff immediately changed my room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Jaymes McDaniel -- GM, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at our hotel. I am not sure what was wrong with our interior or pool. We just had a major inspection on 6/30/17 and we passed in the upper 90 percentile on cleanliness and condition. Our pool is crystal clear and cleaned daily. So I do apologize for your experience. I hope you will give us another try.
3 out of 5
by helena

BED BUGS

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
I made 3 trips to the front desk just to get a door key that would open my room door. The front desk staff was kind, courteous and very apologetic regarding the key. The room was tidy, but old and in dire need of a face lift. I question the actual cleaning that takes place, as there were black hairs in the sink, toilet and bathroom door. Finally, the 3 bed bug bites I received during the night on my arms were not appreciated. Perhaps a cosmetic over haul as well as a bug disinfecting should be priority.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Sergio, Hotel Management
The hotel has been remodeled and i am not sure where you see we need a face lift, all the stuff in the rooms are brand new. i appreciate the comment tho. Also, the keys are plastic, they get scratches on them just like credit cards, and if you get a scratch on them they take a while to read, its also very dusty here and dust get into the readers and we clean them daily but dust and wind still happen a lot, so it cant be done constantly. No mention of bed bugs were mentioned to the front desk, if you would have we would have checked immediately and if we found them we would have refunded you immediately. However, I have had numerous guests stay in the room since you left, with no issues what so ever. So I am not sure if this review is accurate. You responded to another survey as well and i told you the same thing. We inspected the room and the health dept inspected the room and they are no bed bugs in the rooms. Sorry for your inconvenience but next time let people know immediately, just dont write reviews about stuff you have no proof on. Thanks
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Bug bites

Posted Jun 7, 2017
When I left Saturday morning I noticed I had red spots all over my hands and arms. When I got home in San Diego I went to the urgent care and was diagnosed with bug bited
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Jaymes -- GM, Hotel Management
I am sorry to hear about the situation, however, nothing has been mentioned to us about bites from anyone else who stayed in the room. I will get it checked out and if I find any, i will refund your money for the inconvenience. I wish you would have brought it to our attention when you were here so we could have resolved it quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
The bed was very uncomfortable. Everything else was fine except the bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Jaymes -- GM, Hotel Management
Sorry you werent happy with the bed, the beds, linens and pillows are all brand new and choice approved. I am glad to hear everything else was fine. If you would have let us know, we would have moved you to another room, even though the bed probably would have been the same issue. I do apologize.
5 out of 5
by Gerald

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Sergio, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again sometime soon.