Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Very good hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: the Ryokan style, the Japanese breakfast was excellent, the hot spring baths and spa facilities were very relaxing, staff were very helpful.
Cons: Bar facilities and TV channels in English, e.g. CNN/BBCŷ
Location: Unfortunately it rained during the whole of our stay so limited options, but would have Iiked to have done the "loop" and seen Mt Fuji, our aim.
A very nice location for site seeing and doing the "loop" via cable car, finicular, boat etc. Would stay there again and there is a superb restaurant within walking distance,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017
Thank you for your stay ! Gora tensui
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel with hot spring near to agora station

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The outdoor public hot spring bath and the staff
Cons: State of private baths. Nice to have them but they need to be more regularly cleaned
Location: Funicular and cable car to nearby lake, views of Mount Fuji, hot springs, excellent 100 year old gardens, art, glassblowing, walking
Very good. My only concern was the state of the private baths in the evening as they did not seem as clean as I would have liked. Otherwise, staff were excellent. I would recommend not going for half board as there are good restaurants in the neighbourhood. Dinner was good but expensive. At least check the difference between B&B and half board. This is a quiet hotel so if you want to party it is not for you. Having said that, it is a good place to relax and chill out. Good for couples although public baths are single sex.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by GoraTensui, Hotel Management
Than you for staying. Try to get to say much better.
4 out of 5
by Helen

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
The service is generally good. The only down side is the communication in English. It is about a 5 minute walk from the local train station of which is very convenience. It has both public and private onsens. The breakfast is superb, but the dinner is only okay as I am a little picky on the freshness of the meal. The room itself is clean and good in size, but you won't expect the quality of 5 star hotels. We paid more than $800 for one night(2 adult and one 13 years old), it is kind of pricey for the overall quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying ! We wait for you :) From Gora Tensui
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint ryokan with impeccable service

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
We love the hospitable Japanese service extended to the guests. With the half board plan, we had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and every dish was exquisitely prepared. A unique Jap experience! The only downside was the early timings of meals and we had little choice. The neighbourhood was quiet and safe and we took walks after dinner. Felt relaxing and romantic. We loved the private onsen on Level 4 and bedrock bath on ground floor. The hotel is easily accessible from Gora train station, you have to pass through an underpass and the whole walk is less than 3 mins. From the ryokan to tourist spots, it was convenient as there is access to train, buses, cable car and ropeway. Though our room faces the construction site of the extension annex, we (both as engineers) enjoyed seeing the progress day by day. Looking forward to the new wing next year!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Upscale Ryokan near great restarant

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great upscale japanese Ryokan. Service & staff were great. Traditional breakfast wonderfully prepared and presented. Downsides: construction going on next door, can disrupt views & be noisy. Music playing in hotel and other music playing in bar (same spacee) - total dissonance! Hotel locked between midnight and 6 AM because of wild boar problem (!) Eat up the street at Itoh by Nobu!
5 out of 5
by carol

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Winderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Amazing staff & awesome property facilities

Posted May 11, 2016
DO NOT CATCH NO.4 BUS as the 10min walk is through narrow uphill stairs. Take the train!!! Property is only few minutes walk from Gora station but there is a little underpass/subway with stairs going down & up, be mindful of large/numerous luggage Upon arrival the checkin was fast & we were given a voucher for the room/2 occupants for welcome drink at the foot spa bar. The welcome drinks ends at 6pm & toy can choose everything on the menu We were upgraded from our queen tatami room as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The room was extremely spacious with magnificent views of the mountain. We wete both given yutakas to wear in the property - made the experience evenmore enjoyable Facilities galore: Lvl 4 - 2 private outdoor onsen without booking. Really spacious with views of the mountain and no neighbors or high rise in front Lvl 1/ground - 2 private rock bed rooms booking req'd Basement - 2 public onsen split by gender, comfortable sized with sauna, indoor and outdoor onsen. Went at 9pm only 2 other ladies Dinner and breakfast was included in our package. Heaps of little dishes. Great experience Everyone was wonderful and attentive. Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

!!!Amazing stay!!!

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Location, amenities and service are world class! Since checking in the entire staff has gone over and above to make our stay as pleasurable as possible. There is not one thing I want to change about our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, Arkansas

Beautiful, relaxing place for onsens and keiseiki

Posted Apr 2, 2016
We stayed here for two nights during our 10 days in Japan and it was a highlight of an excellent trip. Accessible to all guests are two private onsens: no reservations needed for those, if there's nobody in it you can lock the door, bathe up and hop in. These are both on the 4th floor on a private covered balcony. There are also the two gender separated communal onsens on the basement level. The women's had an indoor sauna, indoor marble tile pool and outdoor rock pool as well as the expected bathing and locker facilities. The natural rock pool was my favorite as the sulfur and minerals in the spring water were evident by the color but not enough so to have noxious fumes. We didn't reserve a room with an en suite onsen but our room still came equipped with a deep bowl tub, circulating with the hot spring water. The bathing facilities adjacent to this tub are what constitutes your shower (wand sprayer). My friend and I both have small tattoos so we wanted to pick an onsen experience where this wouldn't be an issue - this definitely fit the bill: 1)there's easy access to private baths, 2) nobody ever complained about it even though we only came across a few other women in the communal bath, 3) under the Expedia Q&A the staff advised a questionnaire that small tattoos are ok. Tips: read up on onsen etiquette before as no English instructions are provided for that. Bath hours are ~6 -11am & 3pm - 1am to allow for cleaning so plan something else for midday.