Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Natural Setting.

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I enjoy the outdoors. We thoroughly enjoyed our opportunity to walk on the roads and walking trails of this resort/ hotel. Very peaceful and enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by Jillian from Suffolk, VA

Beautiful setting!

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed for one night but plan to return. Though the room was small, we weren't there to stay in the room. We rented a paddleboat for an hour the morning we checked out, such great views.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middletown, VA

Many Options

Posted Mar 22, 2016
The resort had many options on as far what type of accommodations everything from tent camping, RV lots to cabins and standard hotel rooms. The grounds where nice with hiking, fishing horseback riding as just a few things to do. The only complaints I had where one or two of the staff members attitudes where indifferent at best nearly rude at worst, also the bar wanted to charge me $14 dollars to open a bottle of wine we bought earlier that day at a winery. I don't believe there should be any charge for something like that but I would have paid a few dollars without complaint, but $14! Really?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Someone built a lodge/resort in Gordonsville?

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It was quiet and clean and more or less affordable.
Location: Gordonsville is cute but tiny, with one great barbecue joint, a diner, and the Civil War Medical Museum. Wineries and the Barboursville Ruins nearby.
A small but very clean room containing the minimum - not even a chair - and very sturdy furniture. We didn't really partake of the dozens of recreational options (inc. equestrian trails, Connect Four tournament, minigolf, a lake and something called "pickle ball").
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arlington, Va

For better and a chain hotel.

Posted Feb 15, 2016
We just needed an overnight stay, and we were very pleasantly surprised at how lovely the resort is. The restaurant in the main lodge had a nice menu, the reception area was bright and cheerful, and the room was pretty and comfortable. I particularly appreciated the very quiet heating unit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Was OK. Wanted a Yurt or Cabin but were not available
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice hotel off the beaten path

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: New building, nice public areas, easy parking
Cons: It would be nice to have access to coffee, pastries and/or breakfast without having to drive a mile or so.
Location: Location seems really remote. Only activities are on the property. Neither Gordonsville nor Louisa have much to offer.
We booked a room here for overnight Thanksgiving night while at a family dinner in Louisa, about 12 miles away. Glad we checked in during daylight hours--this would be hard to find in the dark. Hotel room was clean, basic amenities were there, but it was extremely small for a modern resort. No place to sit in the room except on the bed--no chair, no desk. Coffee service, once removed from the floor of the closet, had to be used on the floor of the room--no electrical outlet available with space to rest the coffee service tray. We felt really cramped in this room.
3 out of 5
by Animesh from Chicago

Pleasant resort, but some maintenance problems

Posted Dec 3, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for two nights in November 2015. Having stayed here before, we knew what to expect--a resort with nice facilities for walking in the woods, swimming, a rec room, etc., and a very small bedroom. We were very pleased with the service at the restaurant. However, we were disappointed that the indoor pool was not in service, and the elevator was not functioning. We were also surprised that the room cleaning policy has changed--rooms are no longer done every day, unless guests pay an additional fee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Very nice with lots of activities available

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Very new and modern.
Cons: Nothing
Location: There isn't much to do nearby, but the lodge is part of a resort with every imaginable way to spend the day or evening.
We stayed in the main lodge which felt brand new. The lodge was off the beaten path, but it was worth it.