Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Petersburg, FL

Could Have Been Great

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Nice concept and amenities that are unfortunately marred by inept/disfunctional customer service and maintenance issues. The rooms lack adequate seating, lighting and desk space (beds were nice though), and there is an avant -gard policy that daily maid service is only by request (not stated at check-in or written anywhere). Staffing at recreational areas is lackluster and disengaged -lending a feel of self-service to this resort. With a more customer oriented approach it could have been great, instead of frustratingly mediocre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant find

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Cons: The check in process, took over an hour to get a key for a one bed in the main building, checked in at 4:05pm, room was ready after 5pm
Although 40 minutes from Charlottesville, this was a pleasant find for a couple of nights as we were getting out child settled into UVA. The grounds are beautiful, room was nice and staff was pleasant. I would have rated higher, however the check-in process can be daunting after a long day. Check-in is a 4pm, expect up to an hour to have your room or accommodation ready. I saw this on the second afternoon when I returned to the property, so expect this is the norm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lusby, Md

Newly remodeled

Posted Aug 23, 2015
We've been to Shenandoah Crossings a few times in previous years. This was our first stay at the lodge. Upon check-in the line was long with a lot of unhappy people. Apparently, housekeeping didn't have numerous rooms ready. We were told by staff that school started and they lost most of the housekeeping staff. You would think a major resort like BlueGreen would plan ahead. Poor management. Our room was great, not as roomy as we'd have liked but nice. No mini fridge which is inconvenient. Also, no vending. Not many activities were planned for our 2 day stay, but we enjoyed the pool and horseback riding. It concerns me how the horses were treated. When getting ready for our ride my horse, Rosie, attempted to bite twice. She had just come back from a previous ride not 10mins before. The way staff handled her was not good. I was very uncomfortable during my ride after seeing how Rosie acted. Once we returned another horse attempted to bite and kick. A different employee jerked the horse and smacked her multiple times. I think the horses are over worked and improperly cared for. Lastly during check out, instead of just charging me 37.00 for my incidentals over the 100.00 hold. They charged me 137.00 and I still have a separate 100.00 hold still pending. Management needs to get things together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Very nice and cozy, beautiful view, and everyone was so friendly.
Cons: Better water pressure in the shower. :-)
Location: We visited a few wineries. Would be better if you ran shuttles to and from the wineries.
This was our first time at Shenadoah Crossings. We loved it! There is so much to do. Need to stay longer next time! My husband's only complaint was the closed the bar at 9 p.m. on Saturday night while there were still a few folks there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for a weekend

Posted Aug 4, 2015
This was a nice place to stay for a weekend. Everyone in my party agreed that more than two nights, might be a little difficult with the size of the cabin. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin that only had one bath and that proved to be a little difficult with 5 people showering.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a hotel that is near Charlottesville.

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Terrible drive at night from Charlotteville. It's 45 min on back roads. Room was very small and not like the pics on Expedia at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Family Get-away to mountains

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Cleanlines, staff was very helpful and nice.
Cons: Much construction going on. Some things closed due to renovation. Lightbulbs and cobwebs needed attention and putt-putt course needs renovation/work
Location: Charlottesville and the children's museum, wineries, local Marion County Fair was terrific!
Great experience. Nice staff! Great room and amenities for the price paid at the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Greencastle, PA

Nice resort. Very family friendly!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: The hotel was newly renovated so everything looked and smelled new.
Cons: There was no WIFI in the hotel so that was very disappointing.
Location: There were numerous wineries in the area. We had picked this resort because we were going to the Horton Winery and this hotel was close by.
This was our first time visiting and we were very impressed with all the amenities that were included in the stay. We enjoyed the paddle boating, mini golf, and fishing. We also enjoyed seeing the horses. It was such a peaceful environment. We plan to return with our children as they would love all the things there are to do!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Jul 13, 2015
The guest rooms are small which would be fine if there was better amenity placement. The TV needs to be wall mounted so the one tiny armoire is not housing the coffee maker, iron, iron board and ice bucket. The guest room was very moist during our stay, we had barely wet swim suits that were still wet after being hung to dry for two days. It was an enjoyable stay, the property is great and guest rooms are well appointed. Someone in management needs to stay in a room with a family for a night or two and see the few tweaks that would make the room far more useful. All things considered we would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Nice closet of a room

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Small, small room where air conditioner blew directly onto bed all night long. No positive response of night staff. They suggested we turn the unit off.