Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice for families

Posted Aug 2, 2016
We had reserved a room with with one queen bed and table. Instead we were placed in a room with two queen beds and no table. We missed not having a table to use in the room. There were issues about the cleanliness of the room. Overall it is a nice resort setting for families with children.
5 out of 5
by Nancy from Minneapolis

Pleasure in the Country

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely resort hotel and grounds. Many activities and amenities,including General Store and a lake, horses, mini golf.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything was good, except the bar/restaurant.

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
Everything aside from the restaurant was wonderful, and we had a great stay. The bar and restaurant however...maybe it was an off weekend. Night 1-The bartender who introduced herself as "the supervisor for the night" was complaining about how busy she was when taking our order at the bar (she was not busy...this was a Friday night and she had 6 people including my fiance and me). We had to wait for 15mins before she even noticed we were seated, and another 30 for tater tot nachos. Night 2- dinner service in the dining room was much better, however for chicken flatbreads it took another 30 mins. Not sure why it took so long, food was adequate. Aside from the food and beverage service, this is a great place for the price and we will probably be coming back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Natural Setting.

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I enjoy the outdoors. We thoroughly enjoyed our opportunity to walk on the roads and walking trails of this resort/ hotel. Very peaceful and enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by Jillian from Suffolk, VA

Beautiful setting!

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed for one night but plan to return. Though the room was small, we weren't there to stay in the room. We rented a paddleboat for an hour the morning we checked out, such great views.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middletown, VA

Many Options

Posted Mar 22, 2016
The resort had many options on as far what type of accommodations everything from tent camping, RV lots to cabins and standard hotel rooms. The grounds where nice with hiking, fishing horseback riding as just a few things to do. The only complaints I had where one or two of the staff members attitudes where indifferent at best nearly rude at worst, also the bar wanted to charge me $14 dollars to open a bottle of wine we bought earlier that day at a winery. I don't believe there should be any charge for something like that but I would have paid a few dollars without complaint, but $14! Really?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Someone built a lodge/resort in Gordonsville?

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It was quiet and clean and more or less affordable.
Location: Gordonsville is cute but tiny, with one great barbecue joint, a diner, and the Civil War Medical Museum. Wineries and the Barboursville Ruins nearby.
A small but very clean room containing the minimum - not even a chair - and very sturdy furniture. We didn't really partake of the dozens of recreational options (inc. equestrian trails, Connect Four tournament, minigolf, a lake and something called "pickle ball").
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arlington, Va

For better and a chain hotel.

Posted Feb 15, 2016
We just needed an overnight stay, and we were very pleasantly surprised at how lovely the resort is. The restaurant in the main lodge had a nice menu, the reception area was bright and cheerful, and the room was pretty and comfortable. I particularly appreciated the very quiet heating unit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Was OK. Wanted a Yurt or Cabin but were not available