Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Felt Let Down

Posted May 22, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The bar and the restaurant was nice.
Cons: More staff training is definitely, management to investigate online booking procedures further to then pass on/train staff accordingly.
The reception staff were abrupt from the get go. They don't understand the Wotif system and were not willing to listen when I had explained that the extras such as rollaway beds and extra persons staying in the room were included in the price I had already paid. They therefore charged me additional again... The rooms looked very nice in the advertisement, but were not so when I had arrived. There were a lack of towels in comparison to guests per room, and when requests for more were made, none came. All in all, I didn't feel welcome, nor relaxed the slightest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced, badly managed and a hotel in decline

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is unpleasant. Dark room with only a few lights working, NO heating in the room (despite the town being at 1600m), bathroom had not been cleaned properly, the advertised internet did not work, no manager on site to sort out problems and the supervisor also refused to visit to discuss the many items. This hotel is WAY overpriced for what you get. No way would I book it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from BNE

Pacific Gardens

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Surroundings, Friendly helpful staff, food, price
Cons: Room was quite shabby. Being a business traveller I'd have paid more for a better equipped room but like I say, value was excellent.
Location: Never really tried them out but the grounds are a nice place to relax and unwind.
Staff were real nice, Manager even gave me a ride to the airport himself. Food was excellent. Room was very "out-back-shed) like but then I paid only a small amount so value was really good considering where I was. Grounds were very nice and peaceful and used by expat locals for a safe place to walk in the open air..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

some good , some bad

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Lovely safe environment - a real plus
Cons: training of staff
There re definitely some drawbacks staying in the cheaper rooms - they can be noisy and people in adjoining rooms can be heard all through the night ! UGH! The grounds are gorgeous. The restaurant is hit and miss - meals can take up to 90 minutes - but it is PNG
2 out of 5
by John from Ballina Australia

A bed but not much else.

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Visit to Goroka show.A wonderful experience. Very limited hotel choices and this hotel reflects this. Now in Bali and the contrast in hotels could not be starker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Moresby

Great mountain get away

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Gardens, Brook and Birds
Cons: A compendium in the room would have been nice with some tips on near by hiking, a restaurant menu or local map.
Location: Walk to Goroka Uni, Visit the Markets and museum
My wife and I stayed at the lodge for a weekend as a quick getaway from Port Moresby. The on site Gardens and bubbling brook made the stay seam a world away from our windy dust blown home. The location is close enough to walk in to town as we were rather keen to get out and use our legs. However when we decided we would prefer a ride the staff at the hotel were also nice enough to arrange for this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: quiet
Cons: Problems checking in as the could not locate Wotif payment. Took a good hour sorting this out over the phone with hotel accountant and Wotif.
Location: Outside the main area of town. Need a car to get to center or a long walk is ahead.
Nice and quiet hotel. Rooms are of good standard. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aus

Very welcoming staff

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, Food and the Setting.
Cons: The bed sheet.
The hotel is outside the town centre, which can make it a bit of a task from the airport. Some of the most friendly staff I met in PNG and a good selection of food on the menu. The rooms are value for money and good for a nights rest. The hotel setting is very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by David from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Room was nice
Location: Tranquil
Facilities: Above average; Value: Reasonable; Service: Friendly; Cleanliness: Spick and span; I forgot that i paid thru wotif and I paid them with my credit card so they were paid twice due to my stupidity