Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent end to holiday.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Comfort and ease of access.
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above
Handy for Autoroute and Ferry at Calais. Last stayed here twenty years ago and the high level of service has been enhanced. Excellent.
5 out of 5
by Gene from Dallas

Loved our chateau stay....amazing!

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
We LOVED our stay! The house is lovely and staff wonderful. We enjoyed sitting in the garden and having a drink. The flower and fruit garden is amazing and our dinner at the restaurant (Vasco) was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
We arrived at 23.00h, due to problems at Eurotunnel, but the hotel staff were pleased to serve us a cheeseboard and a couple of rounds of drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for travelling

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Everything, it also has old world charm.
Cons: No
Our forth visit and it does not disappoint. Room comfortable, food in Le Vasco excellent. We were blessed with lovely weather so could sit in the lovely gardens for a drink, and eat a superb meal outside. What more could you ask for?
5 out of 5
by humaid

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
Only stayed here for convenience because it was an hour away from Calais. Room was clean and tidy. We had a meal in 1 of the 3 restaurants and it was nice (unexpected). Would stay again but only 1 night
5 out of 5
by Gerry from London

Highly recommended and a definite must!

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
Neighbourhood seemed quiet or isolated - this only mattered because we were definitely not planning to drive anywhere. The only downside. A beautiful hotel in lovely grounds - each of the public rooms had its own style and atmosphere very reminiscent of old world luxury. Bedrooms very comfortable and restaurants excellent!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay but overly expensive for what it is.

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
It is a pretty chateau in the countryside. Our first room was above the kitchen and was terribly noisy all night due to the constant fans, so got no sleep. The hotel moved us after we complained. There are three restaurants on site; be careful add they tried to sell us more expensive wine than we wanted. The food was overly expensive and there is no where in the local village to eat at night so they have a captive audience. Fine if you like fussy fancy food that is very expensive: and breakfast was not worth €19! Overall It is Okay
5 out of 5
by Peter from Builth

Class hotel at a reasonable price

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Class hotel but at a reasonable price. Standard room but spacious and comfortable. Excellent restaurant. Will try Brasserie next time. Extensive grounds and gardens and accept dogs. About an hour away from the ferry if you are on a stopover.
4 out of 5
by Peter from London

Charming hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
A very charming chateaux within lovely grounds. The dinner at the hotel was very special with amazing cheese and dessert trolleys. Parking is safe and plentiful. The deluxe rooms are very large with high ceilings and have a great old world feel, particularly with the decoration, old wood furniture and black & white prints. The only downside for me was that the hotel shower drain was blocked so soon after one starts showering, the water rises above the ankles and some hair and sludge from the previous guest rises up from the drain - gross! The hotel staff were kind enough to immediately offer me another room but that too had a slow draining shower (and friends staying in another room reported the same albeit not to the same extent) so it seems this could be a general issue with the hotel's plumbing.