Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Three night stay

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: We liked the grounds, the look of the hotel and location.
Cons: As above
Location: Ypres. I
Good reception and taken to room 15. Unfortunately, we had to request another roon due to the strong smell of cigarette smoke. We were moved to room 10 which we would describe as average, especially the bathroom. We were inicially impressed with the bar area but more often than not had to go to reception to request service due to the fact that that we were the only ones there on two of the three nights we stayed there. Enjoyed a traditional french meal at The Distillary, first evening and a very good gormet experience in the main resteraunt. However, we experienced a very disappointing meal at the Vasco restaurant. Very poor quality for the price. Would not recommend this restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Jennifer Fremaux / Costumer relationship, Hotel Management
Dear customer, thank you for sharing your opinion here. We regret that you do not keep a better memory of your stay and fully understand your disappointment. The rate of occupancy of the rooms being very low that day we could have offered you another room if this one did not suit you. As for the bar, it is not acceptable in fact that you have to move to order, especially if there is nobody else ... Be sure that we took note of your remark and we We apologize. We are delighted that you have nevertheless enjoyed our food service overall and hope that you will renew the experience at the arrival of the beautiful days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Beautiful hotel - but not 20th century wifi

Posted Aug 12, 2016
This was a a luxurious hotel - and in most respects a fabulous place to stay. My only disappointment (which was quite serious over a 2 night stay) was that wifi could only be accessed by a complex code and password which was not retained on my smart phone or Ipad - so every time I wanted to email or contact family in the UK I had to reset the password etc. Over 2 nights this needed to be done about 10 times - very annoying. Having just stayed at another luxury hotel where wifi was open to all guests, this was quite an inconvenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby UK

Spacious room

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Walking outside in the walled vegetable garden was enjoyable. No intrusive staff leaving chocolates on pillows.
Location: Near to Bethune and shopping. To our great surprise, there is an ELeclerc hypermarket not far away which we enjoyed more that Auchan/Carrefour
The hotel has character and a grand staircase, comfortable room with large casement windows. As with most hotels 4* or above, no tea or coffee but otherwise very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stop on the way skiing

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Arrived late well looked after happy to serve breakfast early nice and warm
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Stunning from the outside with amazing bar and foyer. Staff and breakfast were good. Rooms below average: worn furnishings with plastic water cups, no iron/ironing board and basic amenities that were disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent end to holiday.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Comfort and ease of access.
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above
Handy for Autoroute and Ferry at Calais. Last stayed here twenty years ago and the high level of service has been enhanced. Excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
We arrived at 23.00h, due to problems at Eurotunnel, but the hotel staff were pleased to serve us a cheeseboard and a couple of rounds of drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for travelling

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Everything, it also has old world charm.
Cons: No
Our forth visit and it does not disappoint. Room comfortable, food in Le Vasco excellent. We were blessed with lovely weather so could sit in the lovely gardens for a drink, and eat a superb meal outside. What more could you ask for?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice but a bit dated

Posted Jun 13, 2015
very nice staff , friendly and efficient rooms tired
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel within fairly easy reach of Calais

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Traditionally french
Excellent restaurant with superior wine list and attentive staff.