Featured Image

Reviews of Spar Hotel Majorna

3 out of 5
Spar Hotel Majorna
Karl Johansgatan 66-70, Gothenburg

Overall score and ratings

4.2

Very Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 322 out of 922 reviews
5 - Excellent 35%
Rating 4 - Good. 483 out of 922 reviews
4 - Good 52%
Rating 3 - Okay. 87 out of 922 reviews
3 - Okay 9%
Rating 2 - Poor. 19 out of 922 reviews
2 - Poor 2%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 11 out of 922 reviews
1 - Terrible 1%

4.3/5

Cleanliness

4.3/5

Staff & service

4.0/5

Amenities

4.1/5

Property conditions & facilities

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2020
Response from Reception on Jul 31, 2020
Hej! Tack för din fina respons! Välkommen åter! Bästa hälsningar

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Perfekt för det vi behövde, bra med parkeringsmöjlighet. Trevliga gemensamhetsytor
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2019

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
"A place to stay".................................
Good and no complaints from me, I have stayed there often...................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Stayed 12 nights in Dec 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 5 nights in Dec 2019

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Rekommenderas
Mycket bra läge på hotellet i Majorna. Spårvagnen går precis utanför. Rent, trevlig personal, bra och rymliga rum. Grymt god frukost.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2019
Response from lfors on Jan 9, 2020
Hej Sonnie, Tack så mycket för ditt fina betyg och tack för att du vill rekommendera oss vidare. Varmt välkommen åter! Mvh Louise Fors

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 7 nights in Nov 2019

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2019

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 11 nights in Oct 2019

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Very unclean and the reception staff need to smile
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2019
Response from Frida, Spar Hotel Majorna on Oct 22, 2019
Dearest Guest, Thank you for your feedback! I am so sorry that you aren´t happy with your stay with us. Could you perhaps describe further what you found unclean? We hope to hear from you!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I liked the wide range of choices for buffet breakfast and the later weekend breakfast opening hours. I liked the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. I felt very secure in and around the hotel.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2019

4/5 Good

Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2019

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice breakfast, friendly reception, quiet and safe car park
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good staff, nice room, not huge, but fine and nice breakfast. A little distance from centre, but transport very easy - transport frequent and runs late. Staff were very nice, will happily stay again.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2019
Response from lfors on Sep 24, 2019
Hello, Thanks for your high score. We will be happy to have you back. Most welcome! Best Regards, Louise Fors

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful
Great place and we enjoyed the room. Service was friendly and helpful. Garage entry was a bit tight and surprising but I got the hand of it.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2019
Response from Max on Oct 9, 2019
Tack för att du valde att bo hos oss. Vi uppskattar din feedback.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2019
Response from Max on Oct 9, 2019
Tack för att du valde att bo hos oss. Vi uppskattar din feedback.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2019
Response from Max on Oct 9, 2019
Tack för att du valde att bo hos oss. Vi uppskattar din feedback.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
We enjoyed the hotel. Compared to most American hotels, the rooms are small and basic, but they are also very clean, comfortable and supply all necessaries.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2019

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The breakfast was great, parking was lacking, ratio of spaces versus capacity is a big difference. Rooms on the Back side of the hotel need AC, I was given a fan though. And I asked to switched to the other side, which has the train tracks so there's noise from there to deal with.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Nice hotel, small room but enough
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2019
Response from Max on Aug 26, 2019
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Comfortable beds good breakfast- good variety of food. Clean aand spacious bathroom. Wifi needed multiple logins.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2019
Response from Adam on Aug 5, 2019
Hi, Thank you for your kind review! Welcome back to Spar Hotel Majorna in the future! Best regards

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Don't stay here.
The hotel is noisy because of the trolley that runs most of the time. The elevator didn't work on our floor. There is inadequate vehicle parking for guests. No bath amenities (same soap for hair and body); no floor mat.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2019
Response from Max on Jul 30, 2019
Dear Hans. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to have such good connections to the city centre with no less than two tram lines that runs here. If you find it noisy, don't hesitate to contact front desk so that we can help you to change room to the side facing the backyard. We are also very proud to offer (as one of very few hotels in the city) free parking. We will gladly help to reccomend other parking spots if our garage is full. Sorry for the incovienice caused by the elevator. It was a door that did'nt close properly but was fixed right away. Hope that you besides this had a pleasant stay in Gothenburg. Welcome back! Best regards, Max

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Goteborg In Summer
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2019
Response from Max on Jul 24, 2019
Tack för att du valde att bo hos oss. Vi uppskattar din feedback.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Nice stay
Overall very nice. Nice breakfast but extremely busy, however, we were told that that could happen by a funny picture in the room. Elevator very slow. Friendly staff.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2019
Response from Max on Jul 23, 2019
Dear guest. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review. Very gratifying to read your nice words about the friendly staff. Just as you write, some hours a busier than others in the breakfast room and information about this is to be found in your room. We have open the breakfast from 06.30 until 12:00 in the summer season in order to give you the oppurtunity to choose a time which is less busy. I hope that you overall had a great stay and that we see you soon again.Welcome back! Best regards, Max

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2019
Response from Max on Jul 22, 2019
Tack för att du valde att bo hos oss. Vi uppskattar din feedback.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Room comfort
Disliked: Cleanliness
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2019
Response from Max on Jul 11, 2019
Tack för att du valde att bo hos oss. Vi uppskattar din feedback

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2019
Response from Max on Jul 2, 2019
Tack för att du valde att bo hos oss. Vi uppskattar din feedback.

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Jun 2019
Response from Max on Jul 2, 2019
Tack för att du valde att bo hos oss. Vi uppskattar din feedback.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in May 2019
Response from Max on Jul 2, 2019
Tack för att du valde att bo hos oss. Vi uppskattar din feedback.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great hotel!
It was a great little hotel, just a 2-minute walk from the tram station, and around a 25-minute ride into the city centre. Rooms were clean and the staff were friendly!
Stayed 4 nights in May 2019
Response from Max - Spar Hotel Majorna on Jul 2, 2019
Dear Talat. Glad to read your lovely review. Next time you can reach the city centre even faster since there is actually two tram lines operating here. Tram line number 9 only takes 10-15 minutes to the city centre. Hope to see you soon. Welcome back. Best regards, Max - Spar Hotel Majorna

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 4 nights in May 2019
Response from Max on Jul 2, 2019
Tack för att du valde att bo hos oss. Vi uppskattar din feedback.

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Terrible bed. Not even really a bed! Mattress pad on a box spring
Stayed 2 nights in May 2019
Response from lfors on May 15, 2019
Dear Guest, I am sorry you were not happy with the bed. All our beds were changed to brand new Hilding Anders-beds of high quality, only a few years ago. Of course, bed preferences are very personal, but I do know for a fact, that we have absolutely real beds at the hotel. Best Regards, Louise Fors

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice and very good customer service. People from the Reception was amazing.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2019
Response from lfors on Apr 30, 2019
Hello, Thank you for the feedback. I am happy to hear it. Most welcome back again some other time! Best Regards, Louise Fors

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2019

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was clean and tidy. Nothing to complain about. Staff were very nice
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2019
Response from Reception on Mar 30, 2019
Thank you for staying here with us at the Spar Hotel Majorna. Hope to see you again next time you visit Gothenburg. Have a nice day reception Paula

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Decent hotel very clean and friendly staff, all at a reasonable cost, providing a great breakfast and choice. its out of the centre but within a 30 minute walk.or short taxi ride.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2018
Response from Front desk on Dec 11, 2018
Hi! Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate it! Welcome back! Best regards

3/5 Okay

Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2018
Response from Receptionen on Nov 15, 2018
Hej! Tack så mycket för omdömet! Vi är mycket tacksamma för all feedback vi får! Välkommen tillbaka! Med vänlig hälsning Spar Hotel Majorna

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Majorna is a
The tram stops just outside (to the left) and you can take the nr. 9 or 3 to the city centre which takes about 15 minutes. Also the Café Hängmattan is great as they have some nice, healthy food and cakes/cinnamon buns in a cozy enviroment (follow the tram tracks ca 10 minutes to the right of the of the hotel). The hotel is an area called Majorna and there are lot’s of cafés on the way if you walk to Järntorget (towards town) or if you walk the other way towards Maria torget. Pubs and restaurants are abundant on 2:a lång gatan. Enjoy your stay.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2018
Response from Martina on Nov 27, 2018
Hello, Wonderful! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay as well as the district of Majorna. We hope to see you in the near future. Kindly, Martina

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel, close to the centre.
Good location, lovely staff, good hearty breakfast.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2018
Response from lfors on Oct 29, 2018
Hello, Thank you so much for choosing Spar Hotel. Glad to hear you had a good stay. Most welcome back again! Best Regards, Louise Fors

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very clean, modern. Fantastic breakfast! The best
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2018
Response from lfors on Sep 19, 2018
Hello Grandma, Thank you for you top-score and very nice words. Hope to see you again soon. Most welcome back! Best Regards, Louise Fors

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2018
Response from Adam on Oct 11, 2018
Hej! Stort tack för dina värdefulla synpunkter! Det hjälper oss att utveckla vår verksamhet. Hoppas vi ses i framtiden! Med vänlig hälsning, Spar Hotel Majorna

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
This hotel represents the case of "value for money". The good things are the friendly stuff and the quality breakfast. The bad thing is the open window to the street with tram because of AC system lack and according it, the noise in the night.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2018
Response from lfors on Aug 14, 2018
Hello Gennady, Thank you for giving us your review. I am happy to hear you got value for money. Thanks for choosing us and welcome back! Best Regards, Louise Fors Spar Hotel Majorna

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2018
Response from Adam on Oct 11, 2018
Hej! Stort tack för dina värdefulla synpunkter! Det hjälper oss att utveckla vår verksamhet. Hoppas vi ses i framtiden! Med vänlig hälsning, Spar Hotel Majorna

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Excellent breakfast buffet. not enough hangers.Not that clean. Windows difficult to open.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2018