Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend break

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Locality good,breakfast excellent but staff a little morose
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Sightseeing, shopping, dining
Hotel is located in a very impressive old building. Across from the train station and from the canal. Walking distance to shopping and tourist attractions. The hotel is modern inside and well appointed. It was busy in the lobby. Our room was spacious and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Center of town

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Beautiful hotel. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind. Able to walk to mall and outdoor festival.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central location. Great outdoor bar

Posted Jul 31, 2016
We had a very nice stay at the Clarion Hotel Post. Staff was very friendly. Restaurant & bar were really good. Extensive wine selection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to transportation and shopping

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Location: Great location! Walking distance to restaurants and shopping
Nice hotel that is very close to public transportation and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2015
rooms are small but up to date - ok for two no more though
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant Location

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Excellent hotel for seeing Gothenburg, amazing location, center of everything and fabulous bar and great rooms, great breakfast and funky rooftop pool.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2015
Noisy, small rooms. When I cheked in, tjey did not have the reservarion. I had to eait more than half hour. They said that you(expedia) did not send my reservation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Nice hotel, terrible noise issues.

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Hotel is nice and modern, general facilities are good as is the location. One serious issue is they have a club on the ground floor which we could hear very clearly until the early hours of the morning. For this reason alone I wouldn't stay here or recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrick from London

Beautiful hotel in a bank holiday ghost town

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Impressive building; beautiful decor; comfortable room; friendly and efficient staff.
Cons: It would have been perfect on any day other than a bank holiday.
Location: Next door to rail and bus stations. Saluhallen market and Haga within easy walk. Botanical gardens 30 minutes walk.
The Clarion Post is within 5 minutes of bus and train stations. It is a most impressive building, and beautiful inside. Reception gave us clear instructions about how things work. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the WiFi easy to access. Unfortunately it was the midsummer bank holiday, so very little was open. The Saluhallen market was closed, and the Haga old town so deserted that it looked like a Hollywood film set. However the botanical gardens were open, and they were lovely, including the most amazing collection of succulents I've ever seen - better even than Kew, I reckon. Sadly the hotel's sumptuous main restaurant was also closed, but we had a very nice meal in the outside restaurant (thankfully it was warm). This would be a great place to stay on any other day.