Ratings based on 2,231 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent all round.

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Excellent all round. I couldn't fault it. Would stay here on every visit. Great location as well.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Winter business

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for business to get everyrhing done. Service v.friendly and breakfast a treat. Lovely and warm in all respects, happy to return next trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central position

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Position and breakfast
Very central position. Rooms were ok , but nothing inspiring and did not encourage you to sit in them. Great breakfast, although there seemed to be more customers than tables
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swindon

Really Good Hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Character and friendly staff
Cons: Restaurant Menu choice needs to be greater but compensated by the pub/bar down stairs
Location: Good location for business
Not a major chain hotel so staff are way more attentive and it is very central for business. 2 min walk for the tram and ferry bus terminus. Lots of character but room was really small but for the 2 nights for business it was adequate. Restaurant selection for evening meal was really poor, but the pub in the basement is part of the hotel and was really good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in good location

Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
Overall I was happy with the hotel - it is a nice old building with comfortable rooms and classic decor. The staff are friendly and helpful and the location is good (10 minute walk to the train station and easy to get to various other parts of the city, plus a good selection of cafes/restaurants nearby). We had an economy room which was fine size-wise for a couple of days, however we did not have an external window (our windows overlooked the restaurant so we did not want to open them due to noise/food smells coming into our room) and also there was no air-con so it felt a bit stuffy. Also, we found a half-eaten cookie under the bed which was disappointing. The breakfast was good with quite a wide variety of foods, although I would have liked some granola in the cereal selection (I know that is just a personal choice though!). I would stay here again but would request a room with outward facing windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Weekend in Gothenburg

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Cons: Would like to stay in a larger room next time.
Location: Beautiful cafe opposite hotel with an excellent cake selection! This hotel is close to many restaurants and bars.
Excellent location for a visit to Gothenburg. Very relaxing and comfortable hotel with a very high quality breakfast. Staff all very helpful. Real bonus is the late check out time of 6pm on a Sunday! Nice English style pub in the basement. This was our second visit and have recommended to friends visiting Gothenburg in December,
5 out of 5
by Marcus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Fiona

Excellent hotel.

Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is well located for visiting Gothenburg, close to shopping and local sights. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Room was quiet and comfortable. If returning to Gothenburg would be most likely to stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017
It is so pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Elite Plaza Hotel Göteborg so much and your kind words are very much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon. Best wishes, Alexandra Elite Plaza Hotel Göteborg
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Sep 19, 2017
This hotel is very centrally located and the hotel staff were excellent. Breakfast buffet was good and the bar/restaurant and Bishops Arms pub were great! Recommend the burgers in the Bishops Arms! Our only issue was with the room itself. We were initially given an internally facing very small room with windows that we couldn't open. Claustrophobics beware! However, we asked for a room change to a room that had windows that could open, and the reception staff were more than accommodating and moved us to the first floor straight away. This room was lovely and comfortable but be aware that the noise from outside with party goers was enough to keep us awake with the windows closed on the Saturday as street level was just below the window. The room issue did not affect our stay too much as everything else about the hotel was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Centrally located

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: General ambience and breakfast; nice and quiet
Cons: larger rooms - more European tv channels - but fine for a short stay.
Very good hotel - excellent breakfast with lots of choices for all tastes. Room was small but sufficient (even though it had a very comfortable double bed, it would be too small for 2 people). The attached Bishop's Arms pub was very welcoming (beer 75 SKR a pint!) with kilt-wearing staff. Location is great - no. 11 tram is only a few steps away - takes you to Saltholmen and the ferries to the Southern Archipelago: must visit for coastal and forest walks. Unlike everything else in Sweden, transport is relatively cheap and very well integrated: 3 day transport card was 180 SKR = less than £6 a day. The Paddan canal trip was expensive, but worth it (from the Kungsportsplatsen bridge - where the Airport bus arrives).