Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cairns

Very nice hotel recommend to everyone

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Check in was very easy an simple staff were very helpful the hotel itself is very clean an modern an close to everything nice food an lisberg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach

We loved everything, awesome hotel!!!!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Had a great time, everything was perfect. Conveniently located and clean. Big breakfast buffet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel and Everyone was There!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The staff was very pleasant, albeit overworked. The night security man who let us out of the garage was exceptionally kind and helpful.
Cons: Be explicit with guests on the parking policy in the hotel garage, particularly the closure hours, and cost of getting a car out while closed.
Location: Major amusement park (Liseberg) across the street. Short distance to Södra Vägen, a walkable main street into the city center.
July is 'high season' at this hotel. From the time of arrival the hotel was inundated with guests, and what appeared to be a very taxed hotel staff. During our stay, the hotel reminded me of a casino hotel sans the casino. No doubt to the fact that there was a major amusement park right across the street. Had I researched this hotel better, I might have been better prepared or made another choice. Travelers considering Hotel Gothia in July need to be prepared for the crowds, crowds, queues, and bustle, so they can properly manage their expectations. Pros: While the staff was stretched thin, they all were cheerful and tried to be helpful. The room was excellent, although housekeeping seemed to miss its opportunity during the late morning/afternoon to service the room. Nevertheless, we exchanged towels and were fine through to our early checkout. Cons: The crowds (I fully recognize that that others which may not consider this an issue). In the midst of the bustle of checking in, we were provided directions for getting into the hotel run garage. It took two attempts driving around the block before I figured it out how to negotiate my way into the garage. It wasn't entirely intuitive, so go over it a few times before getting into your car. Also realize that the garage is closed between 12pm and 6 am. We had to leave at 3 am and knowing this would have possibly affected our parking plan. We paid an administrative fee of 300SEK on top of the garage fee to get the car out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Excellent hotel with all the amenities.

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Gym, free water dispensers, 24 Hour Cafe, multitude of elevators
Cons: It would be nice if there were pool/jacuzzi facilities that we not extra. I think you had to pay like >$30 USD to use spa.
Location: Across the street from amusement park. Within walking distance (few blocks) to a dozens and dozens of restaurants.
Great hotel! Staff very friendly. 2 restaurant options on side (2 on the upper floors of hotel with great view). Basic, but nice gym.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santiago

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Staff speak spanish and were friendly. Room nice and clean. The hotel was near the centre of the city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Truro, Cornwall

Amazing view of Liseberg!

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: The view from Heaven 23 - incredible! The gym, close to Liseberg and the city centre.
Cons: The 'small' rooms were a little disappointing (we had initially), décor of the rooms could perhaps be more modern. Gravalax at breakfast would be nice
Location: 10 minute walk/2 minute tram ride to the city centre. Liseberg across the road, tram road outside, Archipelago Islands not far. Cinnamon rolls!
This hotel is amazing! We visited at Christmas time and the view over Liseberg was amazing! We didn't watch TV at all, we just looked out of the window every night! The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town and has a good selection of restaurants and cafes in and around the area. The hotel has an excellent selection of restaurants and the gym and spa are first class. Hotel staff are super friendly and their English speaking is incredible! The room we had was fantastic (we had an upgrade). Getting to the hotel couldn't have been easier, we got a shuttle bus from the airport and it stopped right outside. Breakfast was lovely buffet style, massive selection and plenty of seating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Bed bugs, a truly awful experience

Posted Dec 28, 2015
We normally stay at the elite plaza in Gothenburg but we thought we'd try here for a change. The hotel is quite impersonal but new and well specified. However, we were marked by bed bugs. It was utterly disgusting! I wouldn't stay here again for any reason.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

nice hotel very central to everything

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: people who stay there first should stay where they are for breakfast for the week and new guest should go up to the top floor for breakfast
Location: close to trams shops restaurants and christmas markets across the road etc
we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel for the week the staff were very nice the food was good and the staff very nice room very clean and comfy, only thing was that the last 2 days we were sent to the top floor for breakfast because there was a lot of people in the hotel the breakfast (eggs bacon and boiled eggs were cold ) so the last 2 days breakfast was not as nice has the 5 days before.where as the breakfast on the 2nd floor was set out nice and the food was hot.otherwise the 3 of us really enjoyed our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great stay

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Excellent breakfast, great staff. Good location, not far from central city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location and decent accommodation.

Posted Nov 1, 2015
We stayed for 3 nights in a small double. The receptionist offered to upgrade us to a larger room for an extra £15 a night. As we didn't plan to spend much time at the hotel, and were working to a tight budget in an expensive city, we declined. Turns out the room was as big as most standard rooms in the UK. Breakfast was excellent but we didn't get a chance eat dinner there. If staying, use the glass lift as the views across the city are great.