Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is AMAZING

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: The Location was in the center and VERY easy to catch a tram or bus to explore. Google Maps is your friend.
The hotel had an old world charm but in a modern way. The included breakfast was delicious. The location was perfect for catching the city tram or buses. Must get the transportation pass. Our room was quite.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and friendly staff

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location a few steps from railway and bus stations. Charming hotel with individually decorated rooms snd very friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nice old style hotel that needs to be refurbished
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel. Friendly staff good location
5 out of 5
by Addie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Amanda from Brentwood, CA

Best Beds in Europe!

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at Hôtel Eggers. They have the MOST COMFORTABLE BEDS IN EUROPE. Not an exaggeration. It was the best sleep I have had all summer. Right across from the train station which is a huge plus if traveling by train! Which you should... The Swedish countryside is gorgeous.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, convenient for train travellers

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
Eggers has been renovated and is very comfortable, adjacent to rail station and perfect for arrival/departure by train, within walking distance of shops, restaurants and city centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gothenburg City Center

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Short business trip and overnight stay. Small single room, in an old hotel. Bathroom was renovated nicely, the rest of the room not so much. Front desk ladies were courteous and helpful. Breakfast sufficient and kept well supplied. Ok hotel in center city near everything. Suitable suitable for a short stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U..K

Very disappointing

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: The staff and position. Trams which were outside and frequent
Cons: Update room. Have English menu with choice of decent food
Location: Palm House and garden (smallish); Town Hall museum; plenty of shopping opportunities Highlight was Leisberg Christmas Market; was absolutely wonderful
Being a 4* Best Western (we have used B.W all over the world; last year in New England) we expected more. Bedroom very old fashioned.1 single brown wardrobe, 2 brown tables/desk and 2 old fashioned chairs.Room always cool - only 2 old fashioned radiators for a very large room which were never hot.No English menu,3 unappetising meals plus burgers eg steamed fish and sprouts and some sliced meat in gravy!!Ate out 2 nights and in bedroom 1 night as everywhere booked.Completely spoilt our 3 day break. Pleasant reception staff and helpful. As we are in our 70s we thought we would be eating a pleasant dinner in the hotel every night. Breakfast was quite reasonable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel from the great days of travel

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely traditional hotel with great ambiance for the great days of travel + 2-min walk to Nils Erikson Terminal. Staff always very welcoming and attentive. Lovely food. Spacious, immaculate, and beautifully furnished in an old world style. You feel like you have just stepped off of the Orient Express!