Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Its Unique. Give it a go

Posted Jan 10, 2017
The sloping floors take a bit of getting used to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern England

Very quiet and away from road traffic.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Very clean accommodation. Helpful receptionist. Good breakfast.
Cons: Restaurant was closed, no access to upper deck. Taxi drivers couldn't find it. Quite a long walk to any public transport.
Location: Very close to the Nordstaten shopping centre, the largest in Sweden. Then a walk through to the centre facilities, trains, busses, trams, airport bus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hexham

Good hotel but with great potential

Posted Sep 22, 2016
We stayed at the Barken Viking for the unique experience. Parking is available in the shopping centre next door and a 2 minute walk through a covered bridge. It was ideally located by the city centre. Unfortunately there are some details that could be improved, such as the bottles and rubbish on the top deck, also the mismatched tableware was slightly odd. Otherwise it was well worth staying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2016 by Madeleine, Hotel Management
Dear Ben, Thank you for your feedback! We will try to make sure staff goes up on deck to take away any bottles und rubbish on a regular basis. Hope to see you back your next stay in Göteborg. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Barken Viking is actually an old 'Tall Ship'

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: the character
Location: located at docks and therefore handy for river based excursions
Barken Viking is actually an old 'Tall Ship' and full of character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Novel hotel concept

Posted Jul 6, 2016
The hotel has a great site just a couple of hundred yards from Gothenbergs main avenue packed with shops, bars, sights & restaurants. I've never stayed in a hotel so obviously a converted ship & this made for a good experience. We put together a budget break & got our room at a low price. As such our room was clean & adequate but lacked some finesse in furnishings. I saw other, more expensive rooms which were super in their fittings. So, a great place to stay, choose your luxury to fit your budget. I must mention the ladies on reception who were helpful & knowledgeable throughout our stay. A real asset.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Not as advertised

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: it was fairly close to the train station
Cons: Clean the rooms properly. Change the carpet in room #302. Train the staff (or pay them better so they care more about their jobs).
This is not a great place to stay. In the photos posted on Expedia, there are rooms with wood paneling and nice hardwood floors. We had room #302. The carpet smelled strongly of urine and had chewing gum stuck in it. The portholes leaked. All the furniture was worn and very dusty. The squeaky Ikea bed sloped at a 7-degree angle. There were big fat flies on the breakfast buffet. The staff were uninterested in our concerns.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Disappointing

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was okay with good service.
Cons: Windows that open or air conditioning. Giving parking information in the listing.
Location: Near a large mall, the Opera, and the pier.
Trying to find the hotel was difficult and parking was off site in a mall parking garage. The room was okay though small but was quite stuffy due to no windows to open or air conditioning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South East England

Quirky hotel 20nin walk to centre of town.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Very cost warm room great experience hotel was clean few facilities (drinks available from reception) breakfast was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorks.

Great, unusual option for a city stay

Posted Apr 16, 2016
A converted sailing barque close to the city centre. Cabins as rooms (complete with port-hole)s and your able to take your breakfast in the mess or up on deck. Staff are helpful and breakfast is plentiful, if plain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Location

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Cons: Could be bit cleaner, only on Windows and mirrors.
Great location , close to city centre. Very comfortable beds, good shower. Excellent breakfast. Good value for money. Staff really friendly and helpful.