Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic stop on a cross-country trip

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Clean, convenient, food nearby.
Location: Walk north up the main strip to see a small downtown, then lots of cute well-kept houses and parks and a lake with a walking trail around it.
Staff was very sweet and made sure I knew the pool was open and gave me a map for a walking tour of the cute town. The room was clean and quiet, the bed was comfy, and staff acted very attentive when I mentioned a minor maintenance issue with the room at check-out. Only real issue was that cigarette smoke carried into my non-smoking room, which I guess could be an issue if you were especially sensitive. To be fair, I didn't mention this to the staff, so maybe this could have been easily remedied. Also, there's a pizza place across the street with friendly staff and cool decor (and good pizza).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. I am very happy to hear that you had a great experience here at the Howard Johnson in Gothenburg NE.
5 out of 5
by Howard

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Recently remodeled. Comfortable bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank You for staying with us. We take pride in seeing that our guest have a plesant stay. Thanks again for taking time to provide us with your feedback. Hope to see you again. Heather
5 out of 5
by Glenn

A refuge from the weather

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
We had to find a place to stay because of driving conditions. This hotel was convenient, moderately priced, and the staff was welcoming.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasantly surprised! Nice rooms and super friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast service was great -- well stocked, fresh food, good selection and great coffee! Will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Nice quite good. Thays all i need to say. Good staybclean rooms good night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very clean and quiet.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Good breakfast room, clean room.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Good restuarants close by. Former pony express historical site close.
Great place, have stayed there twice before. Nice lobby, friendly staff, great room. Small town with great bar and grill next door. Mc ds down street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Very Good +

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Everything was good. Easy parking, friendly staff. Good room.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Excellent restaurant nearby.
Staff was friendly. Room was clean and quiet. Easy to find. Excellent restaurant nearby.