Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Great value, clean and very central

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Front desk staff, especially Paula, was very helpful, pleasant and accommodating. Room was clean, streamlined (not dated)
Cons: Size of rooms, enough room for bed. There is a chair with a side table but, since no place to put luggage, that really doesn't help.
Location: 2 blocks to central station. Train tracks right next to hotel. Noise didn't actually bother us, which surprised me.
Traveling as a couple with two kids (2 rooms required for sure) So, yes, hotel rooms in Europe tend to be smaller than in the US, and yes, this one has rooms that are even small by those standards, but, really fantastic in all other ways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth, UK

Great hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Well located, close to the main railway/bus station. Helpful staff. Excellent breakfast buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK.

Great location with friendly staff

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Great location with friendly staff and furnished beautifully. Very helpful and friendly staff, couldn't ask for more. Very good stay at the scandic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

quiet, convenience, cosy

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: location, location. Pleasant staff. Modern environment.
Cons: nothing
Location: as before: 5 minutes to the train station. One street over from shopping and food places.
The hotel is a bit off to the side but only one street over from shops and food places. It faces the tracks going into Central Station but there is zero sound transfer into the room (and I'm a light sleeper). Black-out blinds and good light. Very good water pressure and modern loo. Typical European two beds into one and very comfortable. The staff is among the friendliest I've seen and, thankfully and pleasantly, English-speaking. The hotel is about 5 minutes' walk to the train station along the pleasant shopping area and the train station also has coaches and buses to the airport. The lobby area is cosy. Maybe even a little funky - in a good way. Didn't have the included breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York State

Good value, close to train station

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: It was close to the train station. Staff were helpful in suggesting a city tour to start our visit.
Cons: Add laundry facilities.
Location: There is an excellent canal tour and we very much enjoyed Maritiman, a maritime museum with a number of ships and boats to explore in the harbor.
This hotel is close to the train station, and has a good breakfast buffet. They have no laundry facilities. Staff were helpful. The room overlooked the train tracks, but we were on the 5th floor and had no problems with noise. There isn't much in the way of restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Upon Tyne

not far from city centre

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: staff very helpful and welcoming, breakfast was very good with plenty of choice offered
Cons: little things missing, ie shower cap, no storage space.
Location: too close to transport links for me. However just a short stroll to city centre. Plenty of bars and restaurants.
rooms were small, lack of drawer space, there were only 4 coat hangers for clothes. The towels were not changed, and one of our party did not have their room cleaned. My husband like to sleep with the window open because of nasal problems, however this meant that for two nights i did not get any sleep, this was because the railway lines , tubes , taxis and buses all ran immediately outside the room. I do think this should be highlighted in the hotel literature!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Edmonton, Canada

Nice small room

Posted Jun 16, 2014
My experience was mostly positive. The rooms are nicely decorated, and very small. I don't normally mind that, but in the room I stayed in there would literally be no room to place an open suitcase on the floor without having to step over it. Fortunately I only had a carry on size, so was able to place it out of the way. The showers are very nice, with glass doors. Breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately the cleanliness of the room was lacking, as I noticed several hairs that were obviously not mine on the bed sheets when I first checked in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by horse from tokyo

welcoming place close to rail station

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: The breakfast is amazing (truly is) and the warm, happy energy of the staff.
Location: A few minutes (10 maybe) walk from central rail station, and can easily walk to the boutique shopping on other side of canal.
Stayed one night as a stop-over, in comfy room well insulated for sound - I was in one on the railway side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Taiwan

Best Hotel i had been and so comfortable like home

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: sweet like at home, so clean. hotel staffs so kind personality. quality bedding/pillow and lighting...food is delicious.
Cons: all are great and non else need to be improved
Location: 5 minutes walking to center station.
i will always wanna to stay this hotel every time when i back to Gothenburg..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, not so spacious rooms.

Posted Oct 28, 2012
Pros: Modern design and friendly staff.
Cons: Hotel room size.
This is a great hotel with a friendly and accommodating staff. My single disappointment came from booking a superior room: in contrast to the name I found out these rooms are not as spacious as one would expect (to say the least). But otherwise I recommend this place.