Ratings based on 1,397 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Simon

Great for couples who love drilling.

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is ideal if you love the sound of drilling and banging in the morning, in fact they'll do it all day if you like and even if you don't. The bath also had a great feature, where when you drain the bath it filled the bathroom with water so you can use it again to clean your feet and any towels or clothes you've left on the floor, which is really eco-friendly, which is a thumbs up from me. Another stand out feature of this hotel is the lavish bed that makes sure you don't waste any time sleeping in on your holiday by giving you back ache while the sheets slowly cook you alive making sure you get up and go out. What really makes this hotel outstanding though is the service, no sooner had I mentioned any of the above to a member of staff they quickly rushed to do nothing, perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Simon, Thank you for your most valuable feedback. I´m so sad to hear that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us, please accept our sincerest apologies. As you have mentioned we are now undergoing a renovation and I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me directly so that I may assist you in providing a better experience next time. Best regards, Andreas Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by Matthew

Not a peaceful holiday stay.

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
The room and the hotel on the whole were fine and nothing more than what we expected but we were extremely disappointed not to receive any prior warning of major renovation works happening to the hotel during our stay. The exceptionally loud and disruptive drilling into the concrete structure of the hotel began at 9am and continued for hours. The fact that "most" people are up and out of the hotel by this time is irrelevant to the "some" people who are not. When you book a hotel room for a holiday, you expect a certain level or peace to enjoy your time as you please and the staff at the Scandic Opalen had no consideration for this. You should inform people of renovation work prior to a visit so that they can make an educated decision on whether to stay.
4 out of 5
by Melanie

Very economic and clean place

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
It was a last minute reservation (20 minutes before I checked in during holidays). I chose it for the cheap price and was very satisfied. There were a lot of young people on site, I think this is a great spot for students who travel and want to meet other people. The only downside was the terrible soundproofing of the room, but for the price I paid, I wasn't expecting better anyway. I would definitely go back if I need an economic room in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, everything is walking distance.

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great service and very accomoding staf, good breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Gotenburg hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
We had an excellent 4 night stay here. The hotel is very close to the convention center. The breakfast buffet was amazing and there is a nice lobby bar for a night cap. Close walking to the tram lines and walkable to the city center. Many great restaurants within the surrounding blocks. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and nicely sized. The hotel staff was extremely courteous and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Komsan from Chiang Mai, Thailand

Good hotel with reasonable price and convenience

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is very good. The room is wide enough for two persons. It is convenient to travel by tram number 2 from central station. There is McDonald's opening 24/7 at Scandinavium that you can trust for food. It is located next to Gothia Tower where Airport Bus stops there. The location looks like far from city but you will find it convenient enough to travel to inner city. The only thing to care is tram number 6 and 8 do not approach the central station. I will choose to stay in this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Llandudno, North Wales.

Visited as part of football fixture. 3 days

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Aged 72 found Gothenburg a lovely city with brilliant transport. Trams and buses. It has everything. Hotel convenient for centre and entertainment. Made very welcome by locals
4 out of 5
by Mikael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nick from Toronto

Good Location

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was good, hotel central to the congress center and the Avenue so good location. Hotel is a bit dated and the pillows were way to soft. Friendly staff.