Ratings based on 2,720 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Decent hotel for a stay in Gothenburg

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Clean, secure and pleasing lobby
Cons: Better breakfast selection (especially for people with milk allergies).
Location: A mile or two from the heart of Gothenburg, but with dining options nearby. Right on the tram line
My stay at the Spar hotel was decent value for the cost. The hotel isn't right in the heart of Gothenburg, but its walkable to get to the city center. The hotel was clean and comfortable enough, although the rooms are small. The underground parking was free (nice!), and there's a lift to get from the car park to your room. Breakfast was OK, but not great compared to other places I stayed in Scandanavia.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Location on tramway. It is also near passenger ships.
Cons: Cancel the use of a dangerous Cloud Wi Fi. Cloud is effectively no Wi Fi. Some other hotels are prepared to pay for proper Wi Fi.
Location: Trams 3 & 9 to City Centre. Tram 9 then 11 to Saltholmen for lovely islands.
The Hotel Cloud Computing system hijacked my computer with the result that it was unusable in Sweden.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakham

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Good hotel overall, convenient for tram. Friendliness and helpfulness of Front desk staff variable. Great buffet breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Antonna

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Only concern was the limited parking ... one of reasons for staying was the indication there was parking available. Small parking garage and staff indicated there as no 'guarantee'. On street parking very limited. No parking upon check in.
4 out of 5
by Abilio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mark

Good value

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Easy access to tram and other places nearby to walk to. Excellent breakfast. Friendly, responsive and efficient staff from front desk to bar to breakfast to cleaning/maintenance. Room was a bit small but we were fine! Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to other travelers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
For Americans, this is a typical European hotel - not too spacious rooms but decent quality and good facilities. Only complaint was the "free parking" was limited tin <40 spots, which were all full when we checked in at 2pm. Nearby parking was ~USD20 per day.
5 out of 5
by walter

Great place has everything we need

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Grad value hotel. Had everything we need in a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Fit the bill for our golf trip

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Clean tidy hotel with friendly staff and good facilities. Beds a bit on the small side but didn't spoil our stay.