Ratings based on 1,030 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel, staff very professional and pleasant

Posted Jan 15, 2018
The only negative was the TV channels/system. This was bad, difficult to navigate, kept sticking, couldn't even get a news channel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Location with style

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: Centrality to everything and the accommodating staff.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Close to the Born district, full of hipster shops and tapas bars, and close also to the Gothic district with its history, narrow streets and Cathedral
Hotel was very comfortable and clean with an amazing rooftop bar and pool. The rooms were clean and modern, but what really made the stay so great was the staff who really couldn't do enough to help, make recommendations and bookings. It is central to the Born district and the Gothic District and easily walkable to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfectly positioned in the centre of the Gothic q

Posted Jan 3, 2018
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay over New Year. The hotel is well positioned for all the main sites and within easy walking of the beach and the shopping areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, California

Wonderful Hotel & Great Location

Posted Dec 27, 2017
The entire staff in the Grand Hotel Central were friendly, helpful and a accommodating. The rooms are modern, clean and very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again. They provided us with an exceptionally warm welcome to Barcelona.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Marta Bravo , Hotel Management
Dear Kim, First of all we would like to thank you for choose our hotel for your stay in Barcelona. We are delighted to hear that our hotel were able to provide such a good service. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit. Kind regards, Marta Bravo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southend on Sea, UK

Five star hotel that deserves every star.

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Stylish building inside and out. Staff very polite, friendly and helpful. Our bedroom was very big with a bed to match. Free cava at breakfast time and in the resident's, lounge. The only minor complaint was that the airconditioning was difficult to set to a warmer temperature.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Jaime Estellés, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you very much for your lovely review. Indeed there have been very cold days lately hence it takes longer to warm up the room. We can always anticipate should you inform your preferred temperature. Best regards Jaime Estellés
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Staff were nice and friendly. Convenient location

Posted Dec 12, 2017
The most I liked about my stay is that the staff were great. They were very friendly and accommodating. Always willing to help and had a smile on their face. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Barcelona. Only thing that I found was t great was that the rooms are quite dark and wasn’t kid friendly. It was more suitable for couples!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Marta Bravo , Hotel Management
Dear Shorna, First of all we would like to thank you for choose our hotel for your stay in Barcelona. We are delighted to hear that our hotel were able to provide such a good service. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit. Kind regards, Marta Bravo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Isle of Wight

Barcelona City Break

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: The levels of service provided by all the staff at the Grand Hotel Central made this our best short break ever. Rooftop patio well worth a look !
Cons: I so desperately wanted to give the hotel a 5 in overall recommendation and would have if not for the level of noise from the street.
Location: The Grand Hotel Central enjoys an excellent location, within easy walking distance of La Ramblas & Gothic quarter as well as the beach front.
This was our first break away without children for over 20 years, so fairly special and we gave real consideration to where to stay. I have to say I was delighted that we went for the beautiful, modern and clean, Grand Hotel Central. From the moment we arrived into the hotel, the staff took such great care of us. Bags taken up, a bottle of Cava waiting for us in our room and best of all a room upgrade, which was a lovely surprise. If you get the opportunity, the breakfast service is well worth it and sets you up to enjoy the fantastic city of Barcelona, with many of the attractions readily on hand. Whilst the rooftop bar had closed for the session, complementary hot beverages are still available and you should not stay in this hotel without taking the time to sit (under the heaters if needed ) and enjoy the terrific view. I cannot recommend this hotel enough for the service alone and whilst all the staff were incredibly warm and friendly, Cristian especially shone out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Jaime Estellés, Hotel Management
Dear Brian, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at Grand Hotel Central. We are amazed to learn that our team did perform as always and provided a special stay. At the same time, please accept our apologies for the noise coming from the street. We remind our guests to speak to Reception if there is anything we can change to leave an excellent impression. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Best regards Jaime Estellés
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Superb hotel and location

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: rooftop pool, the Suite
Cons: nothing
Location: slap bang middle of Barca walking to the main shops, port and attractions
Fantastic hotel with excellent facilities, the staff are awesome. The CIty Bar restaurant is so good - try the tenderloin and surprisingly good value for such a hotel quality. Only small complaint is that the "Thermal Suite" is actually just a sauna room whcih is 50 euros for 45 mins so we didnt use it. The rooftop pool was so good even in December and the view speaks for itself. 9.9/10
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2018 by Marta Bravo , Hotel Management
Dear Mr Stephen, First of all we would like to thank you for choose our hotel for your stay in Barcelona. We are delighted to hear that our hotel were able to provide such a good service. About the Thermal Suite 45' minutes is our recommendation, you can use until 60. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit. Kind regards, Marta Bravo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfectly situated hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Situation, staff, ambience.
Location: Highly convenient
Situated on the edge of the gothic quarter, this hotel is perfectly situated for easy taxi access and walking into the gothic quarter and La Rambla, as well as being very close to a metro station. The staff are unfailingly friendly, helpful and polite and the rooms clean, stylish and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Jaime Estellés, Hotel Management
Dear Sue, Thank you very much for wonderful evaluation following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to learn that our team did perform as always and sincerely hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Central location with excellent service

Posted Nov 17, 2017
From.the moment we arrived we felt very welcome.Upgraded to superior room Staff very attentive but not intrusive. Would certainly stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Jaime Estellés, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful comments and evaluation following your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Best regards Jaime Estellés