Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
37% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not book this hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2017
This was such a bad hotel. The staff wasn't friendly, the elevator was not working, the room wasn't clean, we had to share a bathroom that wasn't clean at all! We had to use a clogged tub, so when you get a shower the water stays in and the dirt goes around your legs! Disgusting!! And, the free full breakfast wasn't good either! Please choose an other hotel! Not this one! Terrible and very expensive! It should not be a choice on Expedia!
5 out of 5
by Steven

Ideal for a budget room in a good location

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
The location is great for exploring Barcelona. The initial approach through a graffiti covered door is a little daunting, but once inside the courtyard is clean and has a lift or stairs to the hostel on the first floor. The man on the desk was friendly and helpful. The place was clean but could do with a lick of paint and a few repairs done to the plaster work. There is free wifi in public area and a basic breakfast provided (Coffee, Juice, individually wrapped buns, french toast with jam and butter). You have your own keys to all areas so can come and go when you want.The rooms are basic but clean, we had an ensuite with a mini tub shower which provided plenty of hot water, also they provided individually wrapped soap and sachets of shampoo.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good area but mixed feelings about the place

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
when we first came we handed the receptionist the booking papers from hotels.com. he didn't say a word, just read the whole paper and silently took a key and went towards our room and let us in and left, he did not say one word. we felt that was a bit weird. First impressions of the room, very tiny, but with high ceiling. two separate single beds pushed together but on very wiggly thin metal frames that would slide apart and the lightest movement. there was a closet and a sink with a mirror. we actually hoped that for the price we would have a private toilet or shower, but that was not included. But there was a door to a balcony which we really liked, so that was a good surprise! The walls are paper thin, you can literally hear anything going on outside of your room. The heater was a problem, since we couldn't turn it off, it just kept wasting energy and we we had to sleep with the balcony door open. After a few days of staying there another receptionist was working and was actually really kind and he actually talked. The breakfast was free, which was nice, but they didn't have any tea at all, and their bread is not bread, but more like dry tiny bits of bread, kinda crouton style. The location was the only thing we really enjoyed about this place! It's super centered in the gothic quarter, and why we chose to stay there. I doubt that we will return tho'.
1 out of 5
by Phuong from Salt Lake City, UT

Get away from this hotel - like gosh house

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
Can't tell it is a hotel from outside. Bad service, no speak English customer service person. Hotel look very dark and very scary. Must get away from this hotel.
4 out of 5
by Mr Igors from Oxford

Igor

Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
I am absolutely satisfied with hotel service and pricing.
2 out of 5
by Monika

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Corina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Jonathan

Worst Hotel I've ever stayed in!!

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. It was dirty, seemed like there was dry blood on the walls and super loud at night so sleep was difficult.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sevilla

Perfect location. Poor rooms.

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: The gentleman with the black mustache who welcomes new arrivals midday. He was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The room needs a new coat of paint, some cheap IKEA furnishing, and, more than anything, a staff that has even a passing interest in basic aesthetics.
Location: It is perfectly situated in the center of Gothic. You can't find a better location in Barcelona.
First, it should be noted that the staff member working reception midday is a lovely, friendly gentleman who offers a very warm welcome and is happy to help in any way he can. He is, rather unfortunately, replaced in the evenings by a cantankerous old Catalan who is actively rude and disagreeable. Perhaps one learns to love him over time. Like Archie Bunker or an oddly-shaped, prominently-placed skin mole. The room itself showed equal signs of wear and tear. With a load-bearing column running right through the center of it, the walls, floor, and furniture were covered in cracks, scratches, scuff marks, and general lack of care. It is clear that the room has been host to ten-too-many groups of drunken youths on holiday, and no effort has been made to address the damage. A fresh coat of paint on the walls and a 100 Euro trip to IKEA for new furnishings would, at the very least, bring the room up to youth hostel standards. That said, the room itself was fairly clean. As for additional accommodations, there is a non-functioning wifi signal, a window that looks across a meter long space at other windows, and a wall fan. A shame, really, as the place is situated directly in the center of Gothic. A wonderful location to travel to and from around Barcelona. With just a little care and a few days' profits from hosting 19 year old Germans, this place could easily be converted into an excellent hotel. But, for the moment, it's just a bed and a roof. Nothing more, nothing less.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
The location is great, but the hostal is old, and no elevator. There was mold on the badroom door. I moved to another room. It was better, but the bathroom was very small. The towels were old and gray. :( The front desk staff in the morning was very nice, but the gentleman working in the evening was antisocial n lacking customer service. The breakfast was ok. Over all, you get for what you paid. :(