Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OC

Fantastic location and great front dest

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Location and front desk staff
Location: Center of Las Ramblas, everything is near by. Sagrada Familia is a 15-20 minute walk. Park Guell is a 7 minute metro ride. Everything else is closer
Literally on Las Ramblas less than a 5 minute walk from Liceu metro stop. Front desk was super friendly and always willing to assist with any request. The room is tiny, but that's Europe. The maids forgot to clean up the Nespresso coffee station on at least one occasion, but they were pretty good outside of that. Turn down service was nice. Room had a balcony overlooking Las Ramblas with a Jacuzzi tub and table. You can walk to all of the major sites minus Park Guell, but it's a straight shot on the L3. Grocery store is about 5 minutes (it's two stories so go downstairs if you don't see what you need).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautifully styled

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Decor.
Cons: Probably not physically possible but could do with a larger roof terrace area with a bigger pool.
A lovely boutique style hotel in a great location on Las Ramblas
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Greg Behn, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ruth, Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at Hotel Bagués, Barcelona We are glad to hear you both enjoyed your stay in our elegant 5 star hotel in the heart of Barcelona’s cultural and tourist centre on the iconic Las Ramblas which is an excellent starting point for exploring any part of the city. We are grateful for your positive remarks about the elegance of our museum hotel, combining Art Nouveau and Modernist design styles as well as the level of cleanliness. We are pleased you were able to discover our rooftop terrace and pool with views over the historic city centre. The entire team hope we can welcome you back on a future occasion. My best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

One night in Barcelona

Posted Aug 17, 2017
My husband and I had just finished a Mediterranean cruise and had only 1 night in Barcelona. We got to the hotel very early and had to wait for the room, But we still got in 4 hours before regular checkin! Stafff were fluent in English, very helpful and made great suggestions about what to see and where to visit. Only complaint is that the desk staff said room would be ready around 10 and it was 11:30. No problem waiting but just give us a realistic time. The room was stunning! 6th floor with balcony and outdoor jacuzzi. Beautifully decorated and comfortable. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Greg Behn, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chantal, We acknowledge with thanks your positive review about your stay at the Hotel Bagués, Barcelona A message of satisfaction from our recent clients is always a reward and incentive for our staff to continue with their efforts to uphold our high standards.We are happy to hear you received such a friendly and professional service, we have taken note of your comments and will brief our reception team to make sure it doesn't happen again. We are very pleased your room pleased you so much and we hope on your next visit you will be able to stay longer and visit more or our beautiful city. The whole team hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Many thanks,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Hotel was good. Staff was super friendly and attentive. Rooftop pool was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Greg Behn, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We acknowledge with thanks your positive review about your stay at the Hotel Bagués, Barcelona Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are so pleased that you appreciated not only our great location on Las Ramblas, near the Plaza Catalunya but were also able to enjoy our pool and rooftop bar. Your kind words concerning the quality of service are very rewarding. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Many thanks once again, Greg Behn, General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Fabulous hotel, service and location

Posted Aug 4, 2017
The hotel is right in the middle of las ramblas. If this is your first time in barcelona, las ramblas is the equivalent of Oxford street. Perfect location for a first timer and only a short 10 min walk to the sea. The hotel is fabulous. What is really exceptional is the excellent staff and service. Exquisite service in fact. And the shower is absolutely to die for. Best shower I've had in any hotel. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Greg Behn, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ash, Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are so pleased that you appreciated our ideal location on Las Ramblas, near the Plaza Catalunya. Our team does its best to deliver excellent service to our guests and it is so rewarding to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Bagués.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Not a Five-Star Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Location: This hotel is right on Las Ramblas, which is great if you want to be that close to 10,000 people moving past your window every hour.
This hotel is billed as a 5-star hotel and prices its rooms accordingly--average $450.00 per night. Although the staff were very helpful and professional, I think they knew they weren't running a 5-star establishment. The rooms were stylish but very small. We had the largest room (we were told) and couldn't find storage space for luggage. We had to keep one suitcase on the small divan that served as the only seat in the room (other than the bed). I don't mind paying $450.00 per night for a 5-star hotel, but when it turned out to be a 3 and 1/2-star hotel we moved out. We ended up in a 3-star hotel that had more space and amenities that Hotel Bagues...at less than half the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2017 by Greg Behn, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Alex, Please accept our gratitude for your review about your stay at Bagués Hotel. Thank you for choosing our 5* boutique hotel in Las Ramblas, located in the heart of Barcelona’s cultural and tourist centre. We are pleased to read of your appreciation for our team. We endeavour to provide an excellent quality of service. Please be aware that we provide recent rooms with good sound proofing, thick wooden doors and double glazing, so that our guests can still expect a good nights' sleep, despite our popular location. We are sorry to see that your room size did not quite meet your expectations. Please be mindful that our room sizes are on Barcelona's standards. They are quite large for the historic Gothic Quarter of the City. We do offer different room categories with more space. We would be delighted to assist in finding a room more suited to your needs, on your next visit. We do have luggage holders for your convenience, as well as a luggage room located in Reception. I do hope we can look forward to seeing you, again! Best wishes, Greg Behn, General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

What a lovely hotel! The staff were top class

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The staff were so accommodating, the room was incredible and the rooftop bar is the perfect place to spend an evening
Cons: the only thing we found was that the hot tub was a bit dirty and took a couple of rinses out before we could use it (first world problems, eh?)
We went to Barcelona to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the excellent staff at the hotel upgraded us to a suite! It's beautifully appointed with luxury fittings (we particularly enjoyed the hot tub!) and the rooftop bar is such a nice place to spend an evening. The hotel is right on La Rambla so most of what Barcelona has to offer is within walking distance. Failing that, there's a metro station 100 yards away. What really stood out for us though was the friendliness of the staff. They patiently listened to my butchered attempt at Spanish and were happy to speak in perfect English, and they were so kind! I would give this hotel 6 out of 5 if I could.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Greg Behn, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gareth, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Bagués, We are flattered that you chose our 5* boutique hotel as the venue for your anniversary. Your positive remarks about the high level of luxury and comfort in your suite are appreciated. Normally we have the highest standards of cleanliness. Should you find anything to the contrary, please call down to our front of house team and they will assist you immediately. We are glad you enjoyed the hot tub and the rooftop bar. Thank you for highlighting the excellent level of service. We are happy our prime location on Las Ramblas, near The Liceu Theatre, suited you well. The whole team really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. With best wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to stay

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Very modern with a tiny museum on the second floor
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right on La Rambla and very close to lots of GOOD places to eat.
Very fancy, modern and in the perfect location, right on La Rambla. The staff will guide you to whatever you want. They setup tours for us as well as cabs and restaurants. Had a great stay and knew we were in a great hotel. I loved the rooftop bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Greg Behn, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Bagués, We are glad to hear you considered our elegant 5 star hotel, on the premises of the historic El Regulador palace, as perfect. It's kind of you to mention the museum which showcases exquisite pieces from the Masriera jewellery collection. Thanks for complimenting the modernity and opulence of the design, the room comfort and cleanliness. We are proud of the high level of personal service we offer so it's really rewarding to receive your positive feedback about the great lengths our team went to, in order to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We are happy to hear you made the most of our rooftop terrace bar. We appreciate your enthusiastic comments about our location on Las Ramblas, near Barcelona's Museum of Contemporary Art. The whole team hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Fabulous hotel right in the heart of La Rambla, the staff here are fantastic. The only thing Missing wasan iron in the room. Would definitely recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Greg Behn, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Bagués, What a pleasure it was to receive your 100% perfectly rated review of your experience at our 5* boutique hotel. Our team will be satisfied to hear that you considered the service to be fantastic. We do not provide irons in the room, but should you need to use our laundry service you can contact the front desk at any time to book it. Thank you for your high ratings for room comfort and cleanliness. Your recommendation is well received. All of the team do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future. With best wishes, Greg Behn, General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Great Stay in the heart of the city

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The staff were impeccable. Nothing was too difficult. Hotel was recently refurbished, clean and modern.
Cons: Acoustics between rooms were not ideal but adequate for our stay
Location: Perfect location to explore Barcelona
Friendly staff, exceptional location, large clean room...excellent location to explore beautiful Barcelona.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Greg Behn, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Stan, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Bagués, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our 5* boutique hotel. We are flattered that you considered the service as exceptional, I'll be sure to pass on your compliment to the whole team. Thank you for speaking so highly of the elegant, sophisticated design of our renovated hotel, occupying the site of El Regulador Palace, built in 1850, totally modernised in 2010. We are grateful for your positive feedback about the rooms size, comfort and cleanliness. All our rooms have soundproofed windows and doors. May we suggest that if you require added tranquility one of our interior rooms would suit you. It's kind of you to refer to our location on Las Ramblas as exceptional, within easy walking distance of major attractions such as Barcelona’s Museum of Contemporary Art and La Boquería market. All of the team look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With very best wishes,