Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East England

nice hotel very within walking distance of centre

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: the location, the staff were very friendly and helpful
Cons: the breakfast could do with a bit more variety and a few more English channels on the TV would be good.
Location: lots of places to see within walking distance from the hotel very good location
My sister and I had a weekend break in Barcelona for a special birthday, we had a wonderful time, lots to see and do, we did the bus city tour over 2 days which was well worth it as you got to see everything, our hotel was very central near to the cathedral lots of of nice restaurants it was a nice break. Would like to visit again, maybe for a bit longer next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice looking hotel with horribly rude staff...

Posted Aug 2, 2017
We arrived late because we drove in from Nice. The front desk clerk was short with us and rude. We asked about parking he said "there is none" we asked about baggage, again he just shrugged his shoulders. My husband saw a cart and asked if he could use it and the clerk just said "okay". He then gave us no further directions on how to get to the room or elevators. The baggage cart is clearly not meant to go in the elevator as it barely fit so it would have been nice to have been offered use of the service elevator (we have used others at previous hotels in Europe) but this clerk was clearly bothered and uninterested in his job and us. My husband asked again if he could be directed to public parking and was told "maybe 200 meters down the street", no mention of which street or any maps... again, we've been provided with such things in the passed. Such a dissapointing way to arrive. We had tried to call the hotel ALL DAY, using both Expedia and their provided number but it just wrang endlessly. I'm not looking forward to a two night stay at a hotel that clearly doesn't care to have guests. When we finally managed to get to our room with all of our bags (no help available apparently) the bedding had cigarette burns and the room had twin beds when we had paid for a larger bed... the next day we tried to start Frisch with the staff but the day staff proved to be just as rude as the night staff. We felt unwelcome & Will not be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

In the Center of it All

Posted Jul 31, 2017
We checked in late and it was very effortless. Our first room however clean upon initial look just dated. Our shower however appeared to have mold on the floors and it was hair in the drains. When we asked of someone could come clean they stated the maid service was unavailable. When we asked to switch rooms the night receptionist said they were booked. I told him we had been traveling all day and would need showers. Asked him what should we do? He shrugged at first and then said that he maybe could put us in a room that hadn't been checked into yet. Long story short we were moved and it did take a bit of a hassle to get to something deserving of our money. The rest of our stay was much enjoyable as the hotel is in a great location....the center of it all. You are walking distance from The beach, las rambla, gothic quarter and short taxi ride from famila sagrada. Overall the hotel stay was decent but I will never forget that first hairy moldy shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - great location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Short walk to beach, markets, restaurants etc. Front desk staff great - soft on amenities. But no matter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, canada

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Good location, near lots to do, walking distance from Ramblas and beach. But on a very noisy street. Busy late, tough to sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Illinois

Great location, ok room.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Location was great, in the Gothic quarter. This was the best part. Our honeymoon room was small, booked king bed and was told they don't have any in whole hotel (said expedia was wrong) and we had a difficult time with space for luggage, toiletries, and generally moving around in room. Cleanliness was ok, but still black gunk at bottom of shower. Beds/pillows were very uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Excellent location.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We were put in first floor, handicapped room by the elevator because I had indicated I wanted a double bed. They said it was quiet. Not so, I was awaken at five hearing preparation for the buffet and every guest coming in late to use the elevator. The handicap shower bar is placed right where you stand.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well situated hotel but skip the breakfast

Posted Jul 10, 2017
We spent two nights in this hotel. Great location. Rooms and common areas look dated. Room was quite dark. Generally Cheap fixtures and fittings. So don't book it for the decor or atmosphere. Also recommend skipping the breakfast which is terrible. Artificial juices from vending machine type dispenser / same for coffee. Tired looking spread (cold cuts, cheese, croissants, fruit) but to be fair bread was fresh. All served in unpleasant basement cafeteria like room. Instead just go to market st Catherine down the road or loads of cafes for cheaper better food in nicer surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel very good location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
When we arrived we could check in straight away room was ready and had a nice bottle of water waiting for us. Very nice hotel and in a great location about a 10 minute walk to the beach and there's some very nice restaurants around too and thing to see too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Double or twin bed roulette

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Booked a double bed and given two twin beds. Staff insisted it was up to them whether to offer double or twin beds at check-in and they gave priority to those staying more than one night. We had to downgrade our room (without compensation) in order to get a double bed. The otherwise faboulous hotel--clean, modern and well-located--needs to honor their reservations as booked and not assert some convoluted, arbitrary practice. They should be able to convert two twin beds into a double bed by pushing them together, putting a mattress topper over it and remaking the bed with larger sheets.