Ratings based on 1,913 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Cons: Hot plates for the cooked breakfast choices
Excellent location, first class customer service with some nice touches. Extremely comfortable and spacious building. Nothing was too much trouble and we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Staff was the best!

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Cons: Walls (well actually my ceiling) were a bit thin. Noisy folk exercising or dancing in room upstairs. Not unbearable ...just aware of their presence.
I came with a broken foot yet they still made my stay enjoyable. Lovely, accommodating and attentive staff. Standard rooms still top notch-just without the view of the Cathedral.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central Hotel with amazing view

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Spacious comfortable room, I didn't mind the slightly dated décor as I am not a fan of minimalism. Friendly staff. Location.
Cons: We did hope to have a drink from the roof which has an amazing view but there wasn't a bar as such just seats (you would have to take a drink up from
Location: There was a café just a few doors up with a lovely friendly waiter where we had breakfast. Centrally located and not far from a metro.
We only stopped for one night but I was pleased with our choice, it was an old fashioned hotel with a large comfortable room with aircon, safe, coffee maker & kettle, big TV, nice bathroom and comfortable bed but the best bit was the view of the Cathedral. We couldn't hear the noise from the square with the windows closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Excellent location

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The bed!!!!!!
Location: Very close to lots of shopping, restaurants, the Gothic "old" town, and Barcelona Cathedral. Could also walk to La Sagrada Familia from the hotel.
This hotel's location is excellent. We had a great view of the Barcelona Cathedral and we were close to restaurants and shopping. Overall, a very central location. The bed, however, was one of the worst I've ever slept in. It appeared that they were redoing the rooms and we had an older room so maybe the bed situation will soon be rectified.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but needing updating

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Despite a great location opposite the cathedral in the heart of the city, the square was dominated by a hideous book exhibition housed in temporary stalls. Our room at the back of the hotel looked onto an adjacent block, pipework and ducting. The bed was probably the most uncomfortable experienced in 40 plus years of global travel. The bath/shower was a high walled step into affair, not for timid or slightly infirm. The whole room was in desperate need of upgrading. Staff were efficient ( except for no room makeover from 7.30 am until 3pm). Buffet breakfast at €37 a couple was expensive for what it was. Overall: great location, good staff, but not acceptable standard or acceptable value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Hotel Colon experience

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Bathtubs could be slightly larger for tall men
Location: as above
A pleasant place, centrally located and pleasant, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Charming hotel in the center of the Gothic section

Posted Sep 17, 2017
We spent 3 lovely days at Hotel Colon. Our room had a beautiful view of the cathedral, and we were in easy walking distance to restaurants, Las Ramblas, and the metro. The staff (front desk, porters, and concierge) were all terrific. Excellent and varied breakfast as well. WiFi a little slow, but otherwise no complaints at all except that our stay was too short!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The staff was very friendly. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The location is directly across from the Cathedral in the Gotic quarter. I would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Great Hotel and the view was amazing! It was close to town and we could experience the culture in Barcelona.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Linn, OR

Very Nice, Comfortable and Modern

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location, decor and modern conveniences.
Came back from a cruise and had a two days in Barcelona before our flight home. Hotel Colon was an excellent choice for those two days. It is clean, quiet, and comfortable. It has a great rooftop deck where you can enjoy the remarkable views of the Cathedral and city. It's convenient to the Metro and many good restaurants, AND the staff could not have been nicer. Highly recommend.