Ratings based on 571 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Nov 1, 2017
We have our reservation for more than a month and it was confirmed. We asked for a king size bed but they gave us twin size bed, all we wanted was to get what we paid for. It’s useless for us to do a review because you’re not going to do anything. You got paid in full and we got discomfort for 7 nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Elisa Barral, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all, thank you for choosing Le Méridien Barcelona during your recent visit in our city and for taking the time to review your stay. We are very sorry to read your comments regarding your stay as we strive to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and positive stay throughout their time at our hotel. After further investigation of this issue, we found that your comment regarding the king bed submitted to Expedia was overwritten when you added the additional comment including the time of your arrival. Please know that this is an isolated case, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Although king beds are subject to availability, we do everything in our power to assure that guests who request them are able to have them during their stay. Again, we are sorry for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Méridien Barcelona and turning your experience around. Best regards, Elisa Barral General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Barcelona Protests

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer service
Location: It is on La Rambla, the site of massive recent Barcelona protests.
My experience was awful. I had booked the hotel 3 weeks in advance for a conference I was attending in Barcelona from October 7-11. The day prior to my arrival protests were planned in Barcelona. I decided to book another hotel in a safe area. There were massive protests on Oct 8. When I asked for a refund due to the protests and because I was not planning on staying at the hotel. The hotel refused. I offered to take a one day deposit penalty. I also offered to take resort credit so I could come on a different date or go to a different Le Meridien. The hotel once again refused. Very unprofessional and unaccommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Elisa Barral, Hotel Management
Dear guest, The safety and security of our guests and associates is our utmost priority. We understand that travellers are concerned about the situation in this region currently, but we are monitoring the political developments since this situation has started and the hotel and city continue to operate as normal. Kind regards, Elisa Barral General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Close to everything

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Hotel is great for being close to everything there is to see. However it simply didn't feel 5 star fo me. It was more 4 star in terms of just how the place felt to me. Lacks the wow factor in my opinion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Elisa Barral, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Le Méridien Barcelona. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. However, I am sorry to hear that you did not feel that our services met your expectations. Next time you are staying with us, I recommend you discover some of our unique amenities and services such as our Experience Specialist team who tends to all the needs of our guests in Suites as well as SPG Platinum and Gold members throughout their stay. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Méridien Barcelona to exceed your expectations. Best regards, Elisa Barral General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very expensive for what you get

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Central Location
On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded. I hate to think what the room would have been like had we not been upgraded. The room was small and pokey with a very small window, considering what I spent it did not represent good value for money
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Elisa Barral, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Le Méridien Barcelona. I am sorry to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations. Since our hotel is located in the historical and iconic city centre, the Le Méridien Barcelona is a historically protected hotel. Therefore, although we are limited in terms of construction, we do strive to honour the history of our building while juxtaposing modern design elements and amenities throughout our rooms and common areas. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. Please, do not hesitate to contact us on your next visit to the city in order to recommend you the best room options to ensure we meet your expectations. Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Le Méridien Barcelona. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in order to regain your trust. Best regards, Elisa Barral General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doylestown, PA

Nice hotel close to the action.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Friendly staff and nice accommodations. We were there the day after the terrorist attacks. The hotel had great security so we were able to relax.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Elisa Barral, Hotel Management
Dear Phyllis, On behalf of the whole team of Le Méridien Barcelona, I would like to thank you for these kind words. Security has always been one of our top priorities and, as a result of recent events around the world, we have increased our focus. Security procedures and risk assessments at our properties are reviewed often and we have dedicated teams at Marriott hotels across the European continent. In addition, we regularly train our associates in order to ensure that our teams feel confident in how to respond should they be faced with an emergency situation. Thank you again for your inestimable support, we are delighted to note that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon at Le Méridien Barcelona. Elisa Barral General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I expected better based on previous reviews

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Staff was very nice and made great restaurant recommendations.
Cons: Makeover.
Location: You're steps away from the over-crowded Las Ramblas. Once you get into the side streets it's a lot less crowded. Easy walk to everything.
Room was small and tired. Could use an update. Hallway was dark and musty. If you like being in the heart of tourism then the location is great. I would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Elisa Barral, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Le Méridien Barcleona. I was happy to read that our service lived up to your expectations. However, I was sorry to hear about your experience with the room. As you have noted, our hotel benefits from an outstanding central location in the bustling heart Barcelona. As a result, our hotel is a protected historical building and we strive to honour its history while providing juxtaposing design pieces within our hotel. During your next visit in Barcelona, I kindly recommend you discover our Premium Deluxe Rooms that are redesigned and feature touches of Mid-Century style, pieces of local artists as well as value-added amenities such as complimentary Illy Coffee. Again, thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Le Méridien Barcelona. It would give us great joy to welcome you back to our hotel and turn your experience around. Best regards, Elisa Barral General Manager
5 out of 5
by Emad

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Le Méridien Barcelona. We are happy to hear about the positive experience you had during your stay with us. Providing our clients with excellent service throughout their stay is our uttermost priority as we want to provide our guests with an oasis when they return from exploring Barcelona. Again, thank you for reviewing your time at our hotel. It would bring us great joy to welcome you back to Le Méridien Barcelona next time you are in town. Best regards, Elisa Barral General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Barcelona hotel for a high price

Posted Aug 14, 2017
The hotel is run down and the service is horrible. We had a do not disrurb sign on our door and house keep kept calling to ask us when we wanted the room cleaned! Brekfast was a joke I guess because it was included in the package. It short, don't stay at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Elisa Barral, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all, thank you for choosing Le Méridien Barcelona and for taking the time to review your recent experience at our hotel. I am very sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations in this case. Since our hotel is recognized as a historical monument we therefore strive to honour its history while integrating a modern twist in our design around our lobby and rooms, and we hope that our guests can enjoy a getaway within the authentic city centre. Additionally, due to our hotel’s housekeeping procedures, we call our guests by noon to make sure that they do not need anything else and that they are not facing a health emergency. I apologize, and hope that this did not cause an inconvenience for you during your stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to Le Méridien Barcelona to turn your experience around and regain your trust. Best regards, Elisa Barral General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017
Dear guest, Thank you for reviewing your experience at Le Méridien Barcelona. I was sorry to see your rating of your time at our hotel. We pride ourselves on the quality of our service and facilities, and therefore would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced during your stay. Please, don’t hesitate to contact us directly to provide us with more details. Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel to turn your experience to a positive one. Best regards, Elisa Barral General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
It was Ok. Las Ramblas is not what I expected. Hotel was OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Elisa Barral, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First off, I would like to thank you for choosing Le Méridien Barcelona for your past visit in our city and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. We do hope, however, that you were able to take advantage of our location and visit all the nearby Barcelona attractions. Again, thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Méridien Barcelona next time you are in our city. Best regards, Elisa Barral