Ratings based on 1,474 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2018
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, USA

Great hotel right in town!

Posted May 14, 2018
Amazing hotel with a great and kind staff that was so helpful. You can't beat the location, you are right across the street from Placa Catalunya and its train/metro station, and around the corner from the Rambla. A 5 minute walk is all it takes to reach the famed Palau de la Musica Catalan, the Bari Gotic, and numerous other attractions. The rooms are spacious, clean and have minibars. The main feature of this hotel is its wonderful staff!! I'd like to personally mention these amazing people who were so kind and helpful and made our stay so pleasant! Enrique, Wilfredo, Eli, Loic, Sergio, and Xavier. Great job! We would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly stay here again in a minute!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2018 by Marco A. Martínez - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Eric, We would like to thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased to read that you loved the location, cleanliness and our rooms. However, especially what make us more proud are your excellent comments about our staff; you can be sure that we will share those with them! Our staff works with one goal every day, which is our guests satisfaction, so we are very happy to know that you had an excellent stay with us! Thank you for your time in reviewing your overall Olivia Plaza hotel experience. We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Olivia Plaza! Kind regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Good hotel only if you get a balcony

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Pros: The balcony (I think only 5 rooms have balconies)
Cons: The bathroom is ridiculous
Location: Right in the center of Barcelona
The location is great, but unless you are able to get a balcony (which we did), I would not stay here. The room was not cheap for such a plain hotel. The staff at the front and at the entrance are very friendly and helpful. The worst part of the room is the bathroom. It has glass walls and doors and has absolutely NO privacy. I cannot imagine what the person who designed (or approved the design) was thinking. The balcony was great! If you can get a balcony room then it would be worth staying here. If not, choose a different hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2018 by Marco A. Martínez - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Greetings from the Olivia Plaza Hotel. First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your opinion is very important to us, it helps us to continue improving our service. We want to provide memorable experience to all of our guests, and I am sorry to read that we didn’t reach your expectations. We would like to thank you for taking time to write this comments, which we will take in to consideration very serieously, always in order to improve our facilities. Please, if you are visiting Barcelona again, do not hesitate to contact with us, we will be happy to welcome you again at the Olivia Plaza Hotel. King regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel for sightseeing & attentive staff

Posted Apr 5, 2018
Pros: Staff and good size rooms with excellent shower
Cons: Bathroom layout could be improved for privacy
Location: Central location, gothic quarter, Casa Batalo and shopping square is very close to walk
We really enjoyed our family city break in Barcelona,the hotel location was very convenient for walking or traveling by public transport to all key sightseeing we wanted to do. The breakfast service and staff at the hotel was very nice. Ask for room on 5 or 6th floor if you prefer quiet room with a view. You must visit Choclate box and La bouqueria market if you are a food lover. Enjoy your stay in this lovely hotel and booking via Expedia has been a great experience for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2018 by Marco A. Martínez - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Pimkie, Thank you for choosing the Olivia Plaza Hotel for your stay in Barcelona and taking the time to share your experience with us with the Expedia's community. I was so glad to read that you felt that the Olivia Plaza offers everything you could possibly need for a trip to Barcelona, that you found our location and team to be extremely helpful and most of all that you would highly recommend us! Our goal is to make our guest happy every day, so it's truly grateful to read such a nice words! If you are visiting Barcelona again, we will be very happy to welcome you again at the Olivia! Kind regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Mar 17, 2018
Over rated. I was expecting kettle and iron for 4 stars hotel.and room was not cleaned when we came back in the afternoon. Breakfast was boring.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2018 by Marco A. Martínez - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Greetings from the Olivia Plaza Hotel. First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with the Expedia's community. Your opinion is very important to us, it helps us to continue improving our service. We want to provide memorable experience to all of our guests, and I am sorry to read that we didn’t reach your expectations. All of our staff works with one goal, which is our guest satisfaction so we are truly dissapointed with our performances during your stay, this kind of situations doesn't match with our high quality standards. We would like to thank you again for taking the time to write this review about your experience, your information is really important and we will take the proper actions to avoid this problems to all of our guests in the future. Please, if you are visiting Barcelona again, do not hesitate to contact with us, we will be happy to receive a chance and welcome you again at the Olivia Plaza Hotel. King regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2018 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best of everything.

Posted Jan 22, 2018 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic hotel, staff, location and food options. This hotel has it all for a great weekend away with the one you love. The attentive service from the staff was most welcome and was on display for the entire stay. Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2018 by Marco A. Martínez - Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Allan, On behalf the hotel staff of the Olivia Plaza Hotel we thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and sharing your experience with the Expedia`s community. It's nice to hear that we have delighted you with the high standards of services and beautiful facilities we have in our property. Especially, your description of the staff and service, those are which make us more proud of! You can be sure that all you positive words are going to be shared with the Staff. Come back soon, the entire team is looking forward to welcome you here again! Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2018
excellent view and location friendly staff very good breakfast
4 out of 5
by James from Melbourne

Nice hotel, nice location.

Posted Jan 4, 2018 on Hotels
Perfect location to explore the Gothic quarter on foot. Hotel was nicely placed to all major attractions in Barcelona. Bus from airport only meters from the front door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Barcelona trip

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Good location, clean room and friendly staff
Cons: Soundproffing and load flooring when walked on, people harrassing hotel guests when entering hotel
Location: good location
Stayed at Olivia Plaza Hotel for 3 nights in early Dec 2017. The location is very good, Minutes to Rambla and the Gothic Quarter. Room was clean and staff were very nice. 2 things I was not happy with, very poor soundproofing between rooms. The rooms have laminette floor and people in the next room came back to their room at around 2am and were walking arounf the room with their shoes on.the sound was so load it wolk me and I could nod get back to sleep with the noise. Every evening migrants were selling handbags and watches and other goods on either side of the hotel entrance, they were extremely aggressive to guests entering the hotel and could be very intimidating to some people. i am returning to Barcelona in March and my wife and daughter will be with me on this trip, for the above reasons we will not be staying at Olivia Plaza Hotel.