Ratings based on 599 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfortable and quiet, nice staff

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Great location right off La Rambla with metro to just about anywhere. Around the corner were bus day-trips if you want to see La Nuria or Montessano ( or other offerings). Nice staff that spoke English with great recommendations. Beware of theft!!! Keep a zippered bag for carrying your valuables in front at all times.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffs, UK

Room with Breakfast

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Location Comfortable bed
The hotel is quirky and they have used the space in the best possible way. The staff on reception are friendly and helpful. It is however a very small room ( delux rooms in my opinion are only standard). Having the sink in the bedroom rather than in the bathroom did not suit us. The fact there is no real space to sit and relax was also disappointing. From the pictures we though there would be some outside space other than the courtyard (off the breakfast area ) which we felt was not a welcoming space to sit. Our room backed on to a carpark, so the small terrace was not a place you would sit even if they had considered putting a chair on it. We would have also preferred the hotel to have a bar rather than a vending machine in reception. The whole place had a very sterile feel, in stark contrast to Barcelona, so if that is what you want then it should suit. Considering the hotel was full we saw very few people other the reception staff. Essentially it is just rooms with a self service basic but decent breakfast. The location was excellent for sightseeing. We would not return, but would recommend to someone wanting a base to explore Barcelona with a central location, a very comfortable bed and privacy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra AUSTRALIA

Close to everything

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and location
very different Hotel, i liked the modern side and the breakfast was excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Hugo R - Director, Hotel Management
Dear Cathelberry, first of all I would like to thank you for choosing Room Mate Pau for your recent stay in Barcelona. In Room Mate we want to make our guests happy, and I am glad to read that you ejoyed our design and our breakfast. I have passed this review to my breakfast team and they felt very happy about it. If there is something we can do to improve I would love to hear it, we would love to get a 5 on your next visit. Thank you and best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bahrain

Great hotel in an excellent location

Posted Sep 9, 2017
The staff are really friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient - loads to see and do within easy walking distance. Great breakfast on the terrace
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, flexible staff, tricky upsell

Posted Aug 26, 2017
We enjoyed our time at the hotel it is close to many of the Barcelona tourist attractions but they upgraded our room and said it was free but then tried to charge us at checkout. I was extremely disappointed with the way that was communicated but they did waive the fee. I'd give it a solid 4/5
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in center of Barcelona

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Good, clean room located within easy reach of all attractions in the city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Jul 16, 2017
This is a great boutique hotel located in a central location to everything. The staff went out of their way to assist anyway they could. Recommending places to eat, using the Metro, history of city, sights to see. I would recommend this place.
5 out of 5
by Jean

Outstanding hotel selection!

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Location was amazing, close to all transportation. Staff was very friendly, specially Ponce, Mario, Mariona and Jennifer. Breakfast was amazing and awesome hours. Would stay in the Pao again! I was very hesitant to choose a hotel in Barcelona because on the many options but I nailed it with this one! Thanks guys!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel with a modern flare. Centrally located so finding food, sites, and night life is just a walk out the front door. It only takes about 15-20 minutes to walk to the beach. The staff was amazing, loved Melissa who helped us find the perfect room with a great street view on the 5th floor. Quite and comfortable with air conditioning that could freeze you out. Take the A airport bus just half a block from the front door. It only costs 5.90 to get a ride on the bus directly to the airport. Great breakfast deal with a little of everything!