Ratings based on 420 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

One Night at Donners Hotel

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, tastefully presented, nice food and great staff. I would definitely stay here again.
Cons: It would have been nice to have had complimentary tea / coffee etc. on arrival. It had been a long journey & I had no idea where to pick up supplies.
Location: The hotel is very close to the museum and harbour and a short distance from the town centre and historical sites.
The staff were extremely helpful and kind. I had a number of questions and they did their best to help which I appreciated very much. My room was in the annex around the corner and was, in fact, a suite which was a great surprise. It was very clean and well set up. There was equipment for self-catering. The hotel is well placed in the town, close to the harbour. Even though centrally placed the room was quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was very good with an excellent range of choices.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location and nice room, staff pretty average

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: room was clean, modern and well appointed
Cons: Staff training
Location: Close to the ferry terminals and in the centre of Visby. Went during medieval week which I would recommend as a great experience.
Stayed two nights in a one bedroom apartment. Apartment was clean modern and very nice, I could not fault it. Breakfast was typically Swedish....breads, cold meats, fruit, yogurt, fruit juice, coffee etc. All fresh and well stocked. Only complaint would be the staff. They all seemed to be university students on holidays and coming toward the end of the holiday season. I was upgraded to an apartment which I was told I would be very happy with. It was true, I was happy with the room but I was then informed it was in the building next door and I could find it if I went down the street, around the corner and through another restaurants dining area. There was no offer to show me to my room or that it was on the third floor (no rooms on the first two floors had numbers so it was confusing). The room had no information about anything, I would expect to see a dossier including information such as hotel services, internet, meal times, maybe a restaurant menu, how to use the TV etc, just standard stuff really. The WiFi did not work in the room and when I informed reception they said they would look into it after they checked on their own phones it wasn't working. There was never any feedback and it never worked the whole time I was there. A more professional approach would have involved follow up. The staff were not rude just disinterested and poorly trained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stockholm, se

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Great experience! Will definitely be back to stay at the Donners Hotel again.
4 out of 5
by Erik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Great location walking distance from ferry pier, great breakfast daily. Wifi was spotty in our room but great in general hotel areas. Really nice rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Donners is great.

Posted Sep 7, 2015
This is a great hotel and a great location. We loved our stay and would for sure come back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff, and clean rooms.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Clayton, CA

Great location, nice hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
Very helpful staff!
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey from New York, NY

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfortable, clean hotel with a lovely little bar/restaurant.