Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

great location, great town

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: location was perfect, staff great - see above
Cons: well, if i could've had one more towel in the bathroom when i got there....but i got one added
Location: terrific, near-perfect central location in visby itself, the entire town completely and easily walkable to/from the hotel
this was my third trip to visby, first stay at the B/W strand - really ideal location, easy access to everything of interest in the town, comfortable, quiet and a very good breakfast included - not only would i recommend the strand to others, i would stay there again myself - staff very helpful with both restaurant and shopping recommendations, everyone also spoke english quite well (as my few words of swedish and comprehension are very poor) - all in all, exactly what i needed for the weekend of visby's christmas market
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Lena Lloyd, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback Katleen. Welcome back any time Kind regards Lena Lloyd/Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by James P from Stamford, CT, USA

Perfect clean hotel nestled in medieval center.

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely place to stay inside the inner walls. Th prior time we stayed here parking in their lots was chaotic, there was no parking fee but it was first-come, first served. So sometimes there were not enough spots. But now they charge a fee per day and only rent as many spaces as they have -- so there was always a spot for us and that is much better. But be warned that the spaces are all small and the medieval streets are narrow and vavigating them is tough. The breakfast is great, lots to choose from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good evening James and thank you for writing t´his review. I hope you had a pleasant stay! Kind regards Lena Lloyd, Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A room without AC

Posted Aug 6, 2016
The room we had was on the ground floor of the hotel and was right on the street. Since there was no Air conditioning in the room we had no choice but to open the windows which was another disaster not only because of the noise that made our sleep impossible but also for the loss of privacy. Street walkers were peeping in to our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Kind regards Lena Lloyd /Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, I'm so sorry that you did'nt get a room with aircondition and that the room was on the ground floor. I apalogize for the inconvenience it caused you.
3 out of 5
by Philip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Erik from Uppsala

Could have been very good

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Overall a very nice hotel but the shower did not work properly, very cold or hot water! Nothing in between.
3 out of 5
by cheryl from Peterborough

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Visby is enchanting, and the hotel is ok, but the food is poor, so go out to eat
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
Excellenta location and service level. Very good value.
5 out of 5
by George

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Andy from Dallas

Great location and value for a trip to Gotland

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a great value and located right in the heart of historic Visby. It's just a short walk to the walls and the excellent Gotland museum. Also a great place to start a walk around Visby's amazing walls. The room is simple and small but clean and comfortable. It's a great value. The breakfast is great with lots of bread, meats, jams and coffee. Good dining to be had around. The hotel bar is well stocked with locally brewed Gotland beer as well. Friendly and helpful staff that speak excellent English (which is now the norm for Sweden)