Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Mary Lee from Arlington, VA

Great no-frills hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
I wouldn’t say this hotel is a good value, since we paid well over $200 for it, which is not what it is worth. But, I suppose that should be expected in the short high season in Visby. Also, the free, covered parking was a bonus. The room was small, but had a few shelves and a hanging rack for clothes. Bed and wifi were both very good. Also, the shower was great! So, no luxuries, but I’d definitely recommend this place to friends. We were not travelling with dogs this time, but this hotel has a few rooms that have doors that open to patios and grassy space. These would be great for dogs! Even though the hotel was in multiple different buildings, all were very wheelchair friendly. Breakfast was large, with lots of organic choices – a pleasant surprise! Negatives: No safe or coffee/tea making facilities in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for your review. Our prices are set centrally by Scandic. In our standard plus rooms and suites include coffee / tea in the room. I am pleased to hear that you hade a nice stay in Gotland and with us at Scandic Visby. Welcome back. Best Regards, Pernilla H Scandic Visby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shaftesbury UK

Great eating breakfast on terrace

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: The staff - especially Rebecca were wonderful and helpful. Rooms kept clean
Cons: The rooms were hot but so was the weather.
Location: Great location for town. Walk to town was less than ten minute unless you stopped and ate the wonderful icecreams for two icecream parlours
Great eating breakfast on terrace. The sun shone everyday and so we loved the outdoor facilities. Easy parking. Breakfast was good (Pretty dodgy porridgy though). Nice pool to sit by.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by JimmySaver

Great location and facilities

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels
Right next to the ferry terminal which is great for an early departure. Nice breakfast and great facilities (the hot tub and the gym are great). Only ten minutes walk to the old town centre.
5 out of 5
by Larry from Eugene

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
Scandic is excellent!! Rooms are very clean and quiet. Breakfast is the best!!
5 out of 5
by David from NYC

Great clean nice place

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels
Had a greata time close to downtown and ferry terminal !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels
We chose the hotel because it was right by the ferry terminal, but we then regret that we didn't get a room at one of those charming hotels in downtown. This hotel didnt equip the charm of visby- it was okay in all different aspects, just not worth the amount of money we paid :(
5 out of 5
by Narychill from Irland

Across road from ferry fom mainland. Convenient t.

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels
Very friendly and helpful staff. Cost effective and convenient.
5 out of 5
by Ms Lena

Perfect location, exactly what we needed!

Posted Jun 12, 2012 on Hotels
Perfect comfortable room when arriving on the ferry at odd times with lots of luggage. Great breakfast, too. Good value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockville, MD

Too Far Out from Town

Posted Sep 8, 2010
This hotel was clean and that's it. No frills. The breakfast was one of the worst I have ever had in Europe. The staff was not really helpful in getting us the services we needed. They had bikes to rent, but no keys to the bikes. We ended up walking into town to rent bikes although they had about 50 sitting around. The hotel staff was efficient, when they finally waited on you. Apparently, they had a lot of other things that required their attention. The one computer in the lobby was ALWAYS taken.