Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Really great hotel with fabulous facilities

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Not far from Heraklion airport so easy transfer. The area around the hotel is a bit sparse but there are a few restaurants dotted around.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Amirandes. The staff were super friendly, the hotel in great condition and the facilities are great. Full length 50m pool (a little cold in October but still great) and a private bit of beach kept the kids occupied most of the time. The football activities in the late afternoon filling in the rest of the time. Overall very happy with our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place

Posted Oct 31, 2016
My daughter and I stayed late October for 5 nights in a Luxury room. Very nice - staff extremely friendly and efficient. The grounds are beautiful. The kids club animation team are amazing. We weren't so lucky with the weather but that's life. My only note is that the room was a bit cold in late October (no heating), and pools were freezing (no heating), and the shower leaked a bit onto the bathroom floor. But these were really minor points on an overall great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Excellent place especially with family. Rooms a bit dated but still very functional$ the grounds of hotel are amazing!
4 out of 5
by Ezra from Tel Aviv

Great for families and couples

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
It was amazing, the stuff are more than welcoming and very helpful. Amazing breakfast. The lunch and dinner are a bit expensive for the area but tastes amazing The hotel is great for family vacations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from poland

Beautiful setting with private beach.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Service , service service!
Cons: A minor point but we would would have preferred not to hear the children's disco while we were in the main bar in the evening.
Location: It is well worth visiting the archeological museum in Heraklion and a day trip to Agios Nikolaus.
Excellent staff who go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. You will always get a sun lounger whenever you turn up and the restaurants are a delight, particularly the Cretan restaurant offering local dishes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Loved every minute of being at this hotel - I would recommend a hire car
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amirandes Grecotel review

Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
Amirandes Grecotel - great place for romantic getaway! Good food. Nice pool.
5 out of 5
by Shalin from India

10/10 on hotel and 20/10 on service

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
It cannot be described. We were 11, 8 adults and 3 children (12, 3, 1).From the time we entered to the time we left, it was WOW! If the hotel was awesome from the view, facilities and the landscaping perspective and you thought things cannot get any better, they prove you wrong with service standards that even airlines should learn from. If Singapore Airlines and Emirates are standards of excellence, Amirandes service even beats that. I travel extensively across the world but would not hesitate to say that I would give Amirandes a 10/10 on the hotel say and maybe a 20/10 on service and helpfulness. This is a heaven for kids of all ages as there is a lot for kids to do and kids eat lunch and BF free. That's was the sweetest thing they have done. Believe me, if kids activities and meals are taken care of, you can have a blast too. What a time we had. Simply superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Fabulous Hotel in not so good location!

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Everything was just perfect apart from the location.
We have just returned from a 1 week holiday at the Amirandes Grecotel in Gouves, whilst we had a very nice stay in the most fabulous hotel, it should be mentioned that the hotel is located away from any other establishments an it is very difficult to walk to anything out of the hotel, unless you clamber over rocks and up very dodgy steps or a risky walk up a lane. Taxis's are available, but we like to walk whilst on holiday. So with this in mind unless you book full or half board at the hotel, you may go hungry. You can upgrade to the option of half board at the hotel on a daily basis but at €50 per person for a buffet, we thought that this was a bit over expensive. After all that the hotel is extremely good, the service is second to none and the rooms very luxurious, and all very very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nik from London, UK

Very enjoyable and romantic break

Posted Oct 5, 2012
Pros: The hotel was beautiful and well designed and facilitates matched expectations for a 5star hotel
Cons: The service provided by reception is not as one would expect of a top hotel
Location: The hotel is located 15-20minutes drive from the airport. It a lovely hotel on the beach. Recommend a hiring a car if you wish to do some sightseeing.
Had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel. It is a beautiful hotel situated on the beach and facilities are as expected of a 5star resort. The pool is large and there are plenty of sun loungers whilst the beach is kept in a good condition. The selection at Breakfast is wide ranging and the restaurants are of a good quality with excellent service. My only reservation is the qualtity of service provided by the reception, hence the four star rating. I expected them to be able to recommend places to visit and restaurants but they struggled on occasions. In addition, on leaving the hotel I felt aggrieved when the concierge didn't bother to load the car with my luggage leaving. Despite these reservations, I would definitely recommend this hotel. Overall, I had a very enjoyable stay.