Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice & close to the beach & restaurants.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: We really liked the position the hotel is on the bay. Nice & close to Marsalforn Bay & local restaurants.
Excellent stay in Calypso Hotel. We had a nice clean room & breakfast provided every morning. We would recommend for others to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

the best

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Bed was a bit hard
Location: perfect location, lots of restaurants around and very close to beach.
excellent hotel, perfect position, very clean and professionally run.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very good location and highly recommend taking a seaview room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta

great location, excellent sea and bay views

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Position of hotel - hotel is very centrally situated and very near to the bay
Cons: Food and Tv reception.
Location: Very close to the sandy beach. Lots of restaurants and a great variety of food in the vicinity of the hotel. Lots of sports activities available.
Located a few metres away from the sea. Excellent sea views, very clean rooms and helpful staff. Excellent restaurant service. Food good, some items could be improved. Few TV channels available and some of them reception was poor. Otherwise we had an excellent stay.
5 out of 5
by Anabel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Elaine MW from Malta

Good location but dated

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location as walking distance from a small beach and a number of restaurants. Buffet breakfast was good but the rooms are very dated. there was a small old TV in the room that only had italian, local channels and news channels. the pillows were very thin and the overall feel of the room is dated.
3 out of 5
by Brenda

Great location, service needs to be improved

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Poor service in the bar where I was left with my empty glass and no one to be found to offer me a refill! Very institutional beds and bedding, and old tube TV. No indication that water is not drinkable, and no courtesy bottle of water. Not deserving of 4 stars but excellent location.
5 out of 5
by Ernest

Short break.

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Fast becoming our favourite Hotel on the Maltese Islands. Always a freindly welcome from all the staff. Service faultless, and food excellent. Marsalforn is a good location for holidays, access to other places of interest on Gozo is easy by the local bus services, and plenty of choices of places to eat.
5 out of 5
by Sasa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA and Malta

We always stay at the Calypso Hotel when we visit.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: We like the cleanliness of the rooms, the nice meals including the hearty breakfast. The management and staff make us feel welcome and safe.
Cons: In our opinion we like the hotel as it is and hope it does not change as some do.
Location: The location is on the sea. There are cafes, small stores nearby. We like to go for walks and site see.
Our last visit to Gozo we of course stayed at the Calypso Hotel again and found it to be up to the usual standards of cleanliness, helpful staff, beautiful view and nice meals. Our stays have always been pleasant and relaxing. We know that if there is anything we need or have a problem with it would be solved with friendly patience. The views from the rooms are lovely and we enjoy Gozo in general. We would not stay in another hotel as we have stayed at the Calypso for anniversaries, birthdays, and have great memories of the place and people there.