Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful views and fabulous rooms!

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Amazing experience 10/10! Book here and you will not be disappointed!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2018 by Romain R. Front Office & Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that the team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Excellent hotel with superlative staff

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Staff were excellent throughout, from the initial welcome through dining service to the friendly and professional manager.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Easy walk down to Mgarr harbour where there are many restaurants. We had a car for the week which helped get around.
Stayed one week in early November to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Overall it was a superb experience. This is a very smart hotel with excellent staff and great facilities. Breakfast choice was great - fresh fruit / cold meats / cheese through to full English breakfast. We ate in the hotel restaurant and had an excellent dinner; generally we ate out in the evenings. One morning we were sitting on the terrace enjoying the sun and views, when the manager arrived and brought us complimentary morning coffee. We will certainly return to this hotel. I've stayed in many many hotels over the years but this was a marvellous example of a well-run, hospitable and comfortable place to stay. Wi-Fi was good too if you need it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Romain R. Front Office & Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your detailed review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that the team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Near Harbour

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: The staff , pool bar and restaurant were all great. loved the view from the pool and we had a sea view room which was beautiful.
Cons: The only thing that needs finishing is the grouting of the pool tiles, they are obviously doing repairs in low season which is great.
Location: Location is right by the harbor and ferry port to get to Malta. There are some great restaurants nearby, Country Terrace and Huan Yuan try these.
This hotel is within walking distance of the harbor and ferry port. Some nice restaurants around too. The hotel pool is lovely and not overlooked as it is on the 4th floor. The bar and restaurant are very good. The breakfast buffet has a great selection and is very fresh. The staff are very friendly and helpful with local knowledge of things to do and restaurants. We took the hop on off bus, which was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Romain R. Front Office & Reservations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
by Itay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely hotel close to some wonderful restaurants"

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: convenient, everyone is so friendly and the restaurant is wonderful for breakfast and dinner.
Cons: Nothing, don't spoil it.
Location: Convenient for transport. Local buses, ferries and all sorts of transport to all over the island. Lots of lovely restaurants and places of interest. L
Not been to Gozo before but will definitely go back especially to this wonderful convenient hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Great hotel, clean, food and staff where amazing. Well worth paying extra for the balcony view. The shuttle bus tour, trips to the beach and to Victoria bus are well worth doing and are free. Also as a side note the Phillips restaurant is well worth eating at, the food is all from the local area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent hotel near ferry port

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: I found all the staff extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. It is also so peaceful and quiet with no obtrusive music playing.
Location: Having family living in same town so extremely handy for me. Lovely to sit at the front of the hotel & have lovely views & watch ferry activity.
I have visited my family many times in Gozo and always wanted to have the experience of staying in this lovely hotel. Now it's happened and it lived up to all my expectations, from being greeted with a lovely glass of fresh orange juice while checking in to being supplied with a packed breakfast and taken to the very early morning ferry by one of the night staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Great views, good location, average breakfast

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location, size of the room, balcony with view, helpful staff, size of the pool, quality of sun beds.
Cons: The fitness room is a small room with 3 machines in it, hopefully this will be updated. The breakfast options could be better. Loose pool tiles.
Location: Easy enough to get the bus to Victoria, we used the 7 day travel card costing €21 pp. very easy to get the ferry to Malta.
Hotel & Room: Good location near to the ferry and some bus stops We had a superior sea view room which we thought was a very good size. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony (which was small but adequate) and looking out to the sea and Comino over the harbour and ferry port. The furniture in the room is very decent in terms of space for storage and good quality build. Somewhat old-fashioned but that is the style of the hotel. A bit 'old-school' but we don't mind that. In the bathroom you are provided with unbranded shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, and body lotion then some amenities such as a comb, shower cap, razor, and cotton buds and cotton wool (but these are not replaced). We didn't get any free water with the room, we bought our own from supermarkets. There is a mini-bar stocked with drinks and a few snacks, but we didn't use any of these. Kettle is provided and basic English Breakfast tea and instant coffee. We found the staff at Reception to be very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast: We were somewhat disappointed with the selection and got bored with it after a few days. You can get tea, filter coffee (anything else you have to pay for), juice, water, cereal, yoghurt, canned fruits, decent toast and bread rolls, a couple of pastries, cold cuts, cheeses, then the cooked stuff is in buffet style dishes: bacon, sausage, egg, potatoes, beans. We didn't find these latter items to be good quality. It was a challenge to come away feeling we had a "healthy meal".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

excellent location

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: location, view, sunrise, boats just outside the balcony
Cons: slightly outdated facilities in bathroom, lack of adequate electrical plugs in bedroom to recharge cell phone and computer.
Location: great location very near the ferry landing - easy to travel to beaches and to the main city with service offered by the hotel.
lovely view of the harbour, you can sun bathe straight on the balcony, well air conditioned, excellent breakfast and dinner - highly recommend this hotel as I stay there every time I go to Gozo - very convenient as it is just 5 minutes away from the ferry.
3 out of 5
by Ms Wendy M

Grand Hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
There was work going on outside the balcony, tar was being laid and tiles were being cut. I had to complain to the hotel management who were not aware of the work, but looked into it and refunded one nights stay, gave us fruit and wine and gave us a free bus tour. The plug in the room had to be replaced and we had no water one night. The room was shabby in parts even although this was a new room. Disappointed in general, but wont return. Staff were amazing.