Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

tranquil luxury

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: quality of rooms; tranquility; high quality service
Location: beach close by - also the famous shrine of T'Pinu; plenty of services within hotel including several pools.
good to spend a few days in the tranquil luxury of this hotel. Wonderful pools when weather is good; lots of good walking. Restaurants high quality and not stuffy; breakfasts a feast. Well looked after.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you for your detailed review and for sharing your positive experience from your recent stay with us. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed our culinary offer and especially the breakfast buffet. Furthermore, I am glad that our pool area was to your liking and that the rooms and service met your expectations. Thank you for recommending us on Expedia and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Alberto Hormigo Cebolla General Manager of Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iceland

So nice

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Everything <3
Location: Gozo is great, do not skip it on you Malta trip.
Everything about this hotel was to our liking. Me and my husband went to Malta for our honeymoon and stayed 2 nights in this hotel. Would have loved to stay longer. Great spa, great breakfast, great beds. OMG I loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, Hotel Management
Dear Begga, Thank you very much for your review and for choosing Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz for your honeymoon. I am glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that our breakfast buffet, the Spa and the room exceeded your expectations. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Yours sincerely, Alberto Hormigo Cebolla General Manager of Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sevenoaks, uk

Spoil yourself hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2017
First time in Gozo loved it , first time in a kempinski hotel we were amazed how professional and diligent all the staff were. Always Friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The facilities in the hotel were fantastic , rooms so comfortable clean sheets everyday , we spent a fair bit of time in the Spa absolute bliss. Our favourite restaurant was all of them and the best part although not cheap our final bill not as much as we thought it would be. P.S Room service was excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, Hotel Management
Dear James, Thank you for sparing the time to provide us with such a positive review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by the members of our team. Moreover, I am happy to see that our culinary offer, the Spa and your room were to your satisfaction. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Yours sincerely, Alberto Hormigo Cebolla General Manager of Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

October break

Posted Oct 23, 2017
lovely hotel, fantastic staff who took care of all our needs. highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, Hotel Management
Dear Maria, Thank you for sharing your positive experience from your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the services provided by the members of our team. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Yours sincerely, Alberto Hormigo Cebolla General Manager of Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Beautiful place, beautiful location

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Facilities and location as well as the service.
Cons: The food
Location: The location was very scenic and relatively close to interesting things to see. There is a crafts village around the corner that is quite nice.
The hotel is well designed and well situated. Service was superior and the facilities were excellent, including the spa. The staff always went out of there way to be helpful. The only weakness I found was that the food in the restaurant that served continental cuisine was only so so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you so much for sparing the time to provide us with such a positive review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by the members of our team. Moreover, I am happy to hear that our Spa facilities met your expectations. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Yours sincerely, Alberto Hormigo Cebolla General Manager of Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not a 5-star experience

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Room (with caveats), pool, location.
Cons: Staff attitude and training, restaurant staff and manager.
Location: Just between San Lawrenz and Victoria, easy to get to both (walk or bus).
Having stayed in 5-star hotels around the world, I know roughly what to expect and this fell short, despite the prices being very '5-star'. I'd give preference to other chains over Kempinski in the future, because their staff clearly aren't trained to the right level (and frankly, were a bit grumpy). Examples follow: 1. Worst mojito ever: weak, large unmixed lump of sugar in the bottom. When we entered the bar the waitress handed me a menu while standing and left us to find somewhere to sit rather than showing us to a table and bringing a menu - a small thing, but indicative of the lack of service training. 2. In the restaurant, both my and my wife's meals were far too salty and mine seemed to be missing several key ingredients. We complained at reception straight after (and also about the mojito) and, a couple days later, on checkout (when we were in a hurry), were introduced to the restaurant supervisor who sort-of-apologized, but basically said the meals were as intended, that they had served many happy customers, and perhaps it was the description on the menu that led me to think ingredients were missing. It would have been easy to offer a minor refund or a voucher, but they did neither. My wife had stomach problems later that night, which I can only put down to the meal (but can't prove it), especially as we didn't eat at lunchtime. 3. The room was nice and spacious, but some of the fittings were loose - again, not 5-star. See photos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Mick, Thank you very much for your review. All comments, positive and negative help us improve the service we provide to our guests. Your remarks concerning our restaurants and their service have been carefully noted and taken into consideration in order to prevent similar situations from being repeated. However, with regards to your wife’s culinary experience, we wish you had communicated the issues at the time, as it would have allowed us to identify any potential hazards or problems. Again, we appreciate your feedback. Yours sincerely, Alberto Hormigo Cebolla General Manager of Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from great britain

Overall good hotel with friendly staff

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Free parking Reception area looks very nice and grand We had junioir suite which was very spacious Bathroom was very nicely done up Some areas of hotel need updating. Bed was very comfy Jacuzzi was lukewarm and large indoor pool was cold But the hammam pool which is relaxing and of a decent size was warm enough and just right. Steam room was ok. The best thing about the spa was the amazing turkish hammam which looks new with marble all over. The breakfast was very good although the water they use for the tea is just luke warm despite asking them several times to get some hotter water. Overall a pleasant experience though. The outdoor swimmingpool looked very inviting but i didnt have a chance to use it because we had a short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sparing the time to provide us with such a positive review. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that our breakfast buffet was to your liking. Additionally, I am delighted to read that our Spa and pool area met your expectations. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Yours sincerely, Alberto Hormigo Cebolla General Manager of Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire UK

The ideal get-away

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Just about everything. The interior is beautifully designed, the atmosphere is very relaxed and quiet. Fabulously comfortable bed.
Cons: More coat hangars in the wardrobe please.
Location: Gozo can give the impression that there isn't a lot to see or do outside the hotel. That is not the case. Take the tour bus and see for yourself.
The Kempinski Hotel is everything we expected. Situated in a quiet location on the lovely island of Gozo, it is outstanding quality in every respect. It really is the ideal get-away. It is spacious but offers seclusion and privacy. Take the time to tour the island in one of the open top buses - you will see far more and get a much better cultural perspective than you can by car. The hotel's restaurants are high quality and there are many other excellent restaurants on the island if you wish to eat out. There is an excellent craft centre just down the road from the Hotel which is well worth a visit. Make sure you see the 'sheet metal' craft shop at the centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2017 by Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive experience from your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz. Moreover, I am delighted to read that our culinary offer was to your liking and that our rooms met your expectations. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Yours sincerely, Alberto Hormigo Cebolla General Manager of Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Very nice hotel and facilities. A wonderful layout

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Beautiful hotel with excellent staff and services. The spa & gym was especially high quality and all-star polite and extremely helpful. Food & Drink also very high standard and not too expensive. Would definitely recommend a visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sparing the time to provide us with such a positive review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team polite and helpful. Moreover, I am glad to hear that our culinary offer and the Spa were to your liking. Thank you for staying with us, I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Yours sincerely, Alberto Hormigo Cebolla General Manager of Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Very relaxing

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The staff and excellent management make for a relaxing holiday. The building is beautiful.
Location: A local craft centre within walking distance.
Schools had gone back so we experienced a lovely quiet time here in this chilled and calm hotel. Lovely restaurants and happy staff in every area of the hotel. The Spa facilities and the swimming pool are great and the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. No one noisy and brash around the hotel and pools. The management isn't in your face but everything works very smoothly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, Hotel Management
Dear Carolyn, Thank you so much for sparing the time to provide us with such a positive review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by the members of our team. Moreover, I am happy to hear that our Spa and pool area were to your liking and that the rooms met your expectations. Thank you for staying with us, I hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Yours sincerely, Alberto Hormigo Cebolla General Manager of Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz