Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Elizabeth

Nice Hotel

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Clean, Neat, has all the appliances you need when away which makes your travelling much easier.
Cons: I would not improve anything. All you need under 1 roof.
We enjoyed our stay. Nice and clean, very nice place. Will stay there anytime again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Lovely, quiet, clean guest house.

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The quiet, garden-like atmosphere.
Location: Lots of things to do in Graaf-Reinert and loads of good restaurants. Check out the museums and walk around the charming town.
We were two couples and spent 5 nights at Stemar. The hosts are friendly without being intrusive. The rooms are immaculately clean and well equipped. The staff is efficient and polite. It is an easy walk into the center of town which is absolutely lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and convenient

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable, well-equipped apartment that was also convenient to see the surrounding area. The owner was very helpful with advice about what to see nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Shepherd from Swellendam

Excellent

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was great and the self catering hotel was excellent and the service was a high grade.
5 out of 5
by Victor from Dowerglen, Edenvale

Great place

Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Hotels
Great place, neat, comfortable and friendly host. recommend anytime.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visit to Graaff-Reinet

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Quiet and secure
Cons: Some updating to the room amenities.
Location: Visit Camdeboo park and valley of desolation
Only an overnight stay, but a pleasant stay. Hosts were gracious. Room was a little cramped and somewhat outdated, but clean and comfortable. Large dog on property, but friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Johannesberg

Pleasant stay at Stemar Guest House

Posted May 1, 2011 on Hotels
We were driving back from Tsitsikamma to Jo'berg and chose to stay overnight at Stemar before the final leg of our drive back home. I did not really have any major expectations as the pics on the website and the 2 star rating suggested a rather dull place. However, I was pleasantly surprised by just how welcoming our accommodation was. Very well equipped and nicely maintained, it was wonderfully warm as the temperature had plummeted to 3 degrees. Steve and Mareita were excellent hosts who did everything possible to make our stay comfortable. It may not be fancy or posh, but has a wonderful homely feel to it. Definitely recommended.
2 out of 5
by A + M from München, Bayern

Für 2 Personen so nicht tragbar

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Da fällt uns nichts dazu ein.
Cons: s.o.
Location: Das Hotel liegt relativ zentral, da kann man auch viel unternehmen, das ist schon okay.
Wir waren 2 Erwachsene, hatten auch für 2 Erwachsene gebucht, das uns zur Verfügung gestellte Zimmer war ungefähr 15 qm groß und mit 4 Betten ausgestattet, ein Doppelbett, dazu noch 2 relativ große Etagenbetten, die auch bezogen waren. Da es ja Self Catering ist, war Küchenzeile drin und noch Bartisch mit 3 Hockern. Wir wussten echt nicht, wo wir die Koffer hintun sollten. Das Bad/Dusche war relativ groß, die Dusche auch in Ordnung, allerdings haben die Badematten keinen besonders hygienischen Eindruck gemacht. Wir hatten 2 Nächte gebucht, haben die auch bezahlt - wir haben es aber dann vorgezogen, nur eine Nacht zu bleiben, weil es uns im Zimmer einfach zu eng war.