Ratings based on 971 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island ny

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Can’t go wrong with sands. Waterfront rooms, and just walking distance to the beach. Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ridgewood, NJ

great hotel away from crowds

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Itś a very classy, nice hotel with all the amenities but very cozy and not overcrowded
Cons: staff could be a little more attentive at Hemingways...sat down twice for a meal and had to get their attention both times to take drink orders
Location: Excellent location. very close (10 min walk) to the stores and restaurants but not on top of it. Grace Bay beach is beautiful
Went for 4 days, it was perfect. Staff is very accommodating and there are many little places to find your own privacy whether around the pool or gardens. Food at Hemingways if very good. Better than other restaurants that we tried that were recommended. Very chill place where the staff doesn´t bother you but is there to help you if needed. Will be our go to place when we come back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't get what I paid for.

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Upon arrival at the resort, we were informed that they were putting us in another resort due to a repair work going on. The resort they put us in was very inconvenient for us in terms of location and amenities but we were not given any other option. I tried to contact the resort manager several times but he was never available and never returned my message. It was apparent that they were not interested in making any effort to meet their guests' needs. So beware. You may end up in a random resort without any advance notice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Basic hotel on Grace Bay

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Ummmm. Not much
Location: Hemingways is overpriced and mediocre. Head to town and go to Provence, La Bouchon, or Lupo.
So I've never written a review on a hotel before but after spending time on Long Bay Beach and moving to Grace Bay we were hugely disappointed, thats an understatement. Our room spelled strongly of marijuana from the time we checked in I mean as strong as a Kendrick Lamar concert. We hardly stayed there and kept windows open (our kids are young) and told sec guard about it the first night hoping they could sort out where it was coming from, through the vents in our room. That sec guard was on no help, so we endured it. The next night (after staying away from the room all day on purpose) we walked in to Room 4101 and it was evern stronger. I walked back to the front check in desk where two security guards and a woman at the front desk came into our room and all said "whoa, that is strong". Took them a few hours to sort out it where it was coming from (believed to be the employee hangout in the basement below our room). We thankfully checked out the next morning. Gross experience. Gross. For that amount of money too, even grosser.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Fantastic Stay

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Honestly, our stay was incredible. We wouldn't change anything :)
Location: Location was terrific, close to the grocery store, salt mills and even the golf course.
Booked this hotel last minute, we had a 1 bedroom condo suite which was fantastic... clean, spacious and well appointed. Kitchen had everything you could want and more. The staff was fantastic, from the front desk, to the beach and even at Hemingways.. they were awesome, went out of their way to help. I would highly recommend this place. We loved everything about it and will definitely be returning :))
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thornhill

Very nice resort on the beach. Highly recommended.

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Very enjoyable on all fronts. Can't wait to come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Wonderful find!!!

Posted Dec 18, 2017
We found this hotel on Expedia and were extremely satisfied with everything about it!! The staff, the rooms, the ocean, the food...everything was wondeful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Ocean view is not what you would imagine

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Upon arrival we were informed that the hotel could not accommodate us because of the impact of Irma. They said we would have to go to a sister hotel not located on Grace Bay. The hotel did not have the courtesy to inform us before our arrival. We travelled to the sister hotel and were informed they only had garden view and we had booked ocean view. After many discussions, the Sands agreed to put us in an ocean view room which ended up being a garden view with ocean in the distance. We asked to relocate but they were not able to accommodate us to a true ocean view room. While the grounds and location are very nice, the hotel needs updating. The island has recovered well from Irma and the people are lovely, but our experience at the Sands left a less than positive lasting impression.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Great hotel.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: location, cost, room size, and amenities(they supply nearly all beach items snorkel / boating equip. also the beach is amazing.
Cons: staff organization. when requests are placed need to assure follow through
Location: nice shopping plaza and restaurants about 5 minutes walk. they offer bikes if you prefer. snorkeling location (reef) is 1.5 mile walk .
Great hotel. Our group had numerous rooms for a wedding. Overall rooms are very large, clean, updated, and in a very nice location convenient to shops and restaurants. Staffing is somewhat unorganized. Numerous individuals had to move rooms between days, asked for a crib to be moved(was in wrong room) numerous times finally moved it ourselves, when making excursions staff was very confusing. I kept being told no worry in paradise. I thought it was directed at me the customer but quickly realized they had no worries either. But overall the location, cost, room size, and amenities outweigh any negatives if you don't mind being somewhat self sufficient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

On the Beach

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Beach was great. Pool looked nice but we never went in. Plenty of chairs available at pool and beach.
Cons: Bedding. The beds were not horrible but my husband and I both woke up with stiff necks and shoulders. The beds and pillows are too hard.
Location: Nicely located to shops and restaurants. Walkable. They have bicycles you can borrow.
This was our second stay at the Sands at Grace Bay. Pros: We were upgraded upon arrival. The condo was nice. Landscaping and grounds were constantly looked after. Beach is beautiful. The staff was nice. Cons: Housekeeping did not come on our first full day. We had enough towels that day so we didn't mind that much. They did come on the subsequent days but did not always replenish all the towels. There was definitely a problem with guests staking out their claims at the beach very early with towels and books etc. and not showing up for most of the day.