Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Emerald Isle NC

Charming, spotless and comfortable

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The parlors and porches.
Cons: Hard to improve on near perfection!
Location: The village has a museum, nature center, restored buildings, walking paths, covered bridge and cheese factory, with great fall leaf peeping.
Charming, spotless and comfortable, with a superb cooked-to-order breakfast. Located in a delightful small village chock full of days-gone-by memories.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed with management.

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Wanted lunch on Saturday but restaurant was closed Manager seemed very stressed. The waitstaff at dinner and breakfast was very pleasant but understaffed ,not a relaxed atmosphere and will not return. Very disappointed not at all like we remember from previous visits
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north of Boston

Beautiful antique inn with 2 restaurants .

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Staff , size and quality of room , excellent meal .
Cons: No television or cell phone service . You were able to place calls from room phone at no additional charge .
Location: Was on motorcycle cheese tour of Vermont . Inn was in close proximity to destinations .
Room was surprisingly large and well appointed . Large bath had separate tub and shower . Staff was courteous , friendly and very accommodating . Would definitely stay again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful peaceful inn

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Beautiful location, fantastic room and staff. Tavern was also very nice. Would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A great winter getaway

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, warm room & environment, atmosphere, Phelps Barn, yummy breakfast, open fires, Grafton Ponds pass, local fare, beautiful inn & town
Location: Grafton Ponds Outdoor Center was just up the road & offered a range of winter activities - equipment hire and use of area was included in room rate
The Grafton Inn is a beautiful old building that has been maintained and restored to allow a warm and comfortable stay. Large rooms where you could relax in privacy or common areas in front of fires to experience the hotel buzz. The dining options were perfect (Phelps Barn and formal dining) - why would you need to go anywhere else! Breakfast was hearty and delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful and welcomed us like a guest in their own home. It was the perfect location and environment for a winter getaway. Highly recommended and we will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Inn with character, comfort, and delicious food

Posted Feb 1, 2015
We stayed here overnight during our way home to NYC. Such a picturesque Inn with the snow creating the perfect wintry background. We had dinner in Phelps barn and enjoyed the burger & brew deal. Susan, our waitress, was friendly & we received great service from the rest of the waitstaff as well. We finished dinner with a delicious S'mores dessert by the fireplace. Our bed was very comfortable and had such a good nights rest. Woke up refreshed then headed to breakfast which was the best I've ever had coming from an Inn. We really enjoyed our experience here even though it was a short but sweet stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Nice historic property with limited dining Mon&Tue

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The historical aspect was a draw. The room was very nice. They spent some bucks on the renovations. Rooms were updated but still held historic charm.
Cons: Cheaper dining options.
Location: A couple of covered bridges nearby, biking, art galleries.
Coming from Route 100, and a gravel road, the town is old but WELL maintained. My wife thought the town was a little spooky, seemingly in the middle of nowhere. Our room (33), was very nice with luxurious bedding, updated bathroom, and old fashioned picturesque common areas. It is in the house across the street from the main building and was built in 1816! We stayed on a Monday night and were a little put-off with the pricey food offerings at the only open restaurant in town. (We had arrived later). Although the website briefly mentioned Phelps Barn would be closed Mondays and Tuesdays, we hoped they would have offered some of Phelps menu items in the main dining area. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic, service very good. Met the manager. Very friendly and attentive fellow. We didn't have the heart to mention our dissatisfaction with the dining limitations and didn't want to draw public attention to the matter better handled privately. The community seems very proper and tends to cater to an affluent customer. Although we are not, we still enjoyed the property and old aura it gave off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bucket list gal from Washington

Great place!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
I was upgraded to a lovely suite because it is low season. It was wonderful! King four post bed with down quilt and pillows! Dinner and breakfast were out of this world. The wine selection is great too. This is a wonderful place to relax. Grafton is a beautiful little town and within easy driving distance to multiple ski hills and other attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jj from windsor, ct

The best value in New England

Posted Mar 23, 2014
The Grafton Inn is a wonderful gem. It is in the middle no where so don't go if you want a "cutesy" Vermont shopping and dining getaway. But if you want quiet relaxation, friendly service and great food at an unbeatable price, make your reservations now. I've been here twice in the last few months and each time I'm amazed at how good it is. I will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Theresa from New Hartford, Ct

very pleasant stay, very clean and warm.

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Weather outside was very cold and windy. The inn was comfortable and warm. Very relaxing and quiet.
Cons: A little more variety on the pub menu food items.
Location: The location was convenient for us. not too far from I 91. We enjoy x country skiing so this was appealing to us.
Hosts, waitstaff and check in lady were very nice. inn was clean and warm on a very cold winter night. We enjoyed the pub beer and food. Very quiet relaxing atmosphere. Would come back for another visit.