Ratings based on 4,664 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Great location, Great price for Manhattan. Will definitely stay here again in the future.
5 out of 5
by @mr_yearhoneymoon

Great location, such a shame

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Had a lovely stay. Great NYC hotel. Such a shame they're shutting down :(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Maid service
Cons: Everything
Location: Good location
The air condition rattles late at night. The radiator was making noise. The reservation I made says that two rooms would share one bathroom. I also reserved a room with two beds and they gave us a one bed. The toilet clogs. One bathroom is shared by 4 or 5 rooms. The maid service was good except in the evening a grouchy employee appear to dislike his job. He was obviously lack common courtesy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Brilliant spot, ideal for all Manhattan, Brooklyn.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We stayed a week and longed for longer. Visited galleries, book shops and eateries throughout New York for eight days. The Hotel 17 was ideal for us.
3 out of 5
by Ricky

Perfect location

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, not far from Union Square with very easy access to all things Manhattan. I was nervous about the prospects of a shared bathroom, but it was kept very clean so not a problem at all. Old-fashioned heating could be incredibly noisy, but part of the charm of this traditional NY building. Only downside was the staff who were rather aloof with no desire to create a warm welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Very central location.

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: One night the room got pretty cold and there is no thermostat in the room.
Location: Union Square station, Irving Plaza, Shake Shack.
The Hotel is centrally located. It is close to 14th St Union Square subway station that takes you everywhere in New York. The staff was very helpful and even though the bathrooms are shared, we never had an issue with availability and/or cleanliness.
5 out of 5
by tripti

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed for a week in this hotel. Apart from an absolutely fantastic location, the room was very clean and cozy. I had serious reservations about the shared bathroom but the bathrooms were very clean and hygienic. We met a lot of other guests during our stay and everyone was collegial and pleasant. Overall, I would definitely recommend Hotel 17 if you're looking for a budget, yet comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
by Laurie

Simple but nice

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
The room was pretty basic but I expected it to be. What really did disappoint me was the fact that the bathroom was shared. That was not very obvious from the online booking. The room could be made more comfortable by adding simple little things like towel rails and bathrobes - but still very good location, and good price.
4 out of 5
by Ignas

Great location, great stay

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Checked in early, room was clean - had a safe, coffee machine, hair dryer. Left my bags for a little while after check out - staff helpful.
1 out of 5
by David

Needs an overhaul - Heating keeps you awake!

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel needs an overhaul. The heating system kept me awake all night. Wont be staying again.