Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good Hotel-Not very Kid Friendly

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Good clean rooms, good location and a nice staff and the views were incredible.
Cons: More kid friendly, proper theme food nightly (Italian, American, Mexican, British etc.) and allow shorts to be worn by men at dinner.
Location: Great location, with plenty to do.
Had we gone without our 12 year old son, this hotel would have received a higher rating. It's just not that kid friendly compared to other hotels we have stayed in, and the reason we would not recommend it to a friend, is because most of ours have kids. The breakfast was great, however, the dinner buffet seemed very much the same each night, even though they placed a food theme on the menu, and dinner was not kid friendly at all. I know that steak, fresh fish etc. is great for adults, but that's not what most kids want. Pizza-burgers-chicken nuggets etc. for kids. And adult men had to wear long trousers to dinner, again tailored toward a couples hotel, not a family vacation. I get that they are trying to keep it nice, but if that were the case they would not have allowed a twenty or so year old girl wear a shirt with the F-bomb on it. And the facility just doesn't really lend itself to kids-No kids room, with things like a pool table, ping pong, air hockey etc. to be fair they had that stuff around the pool? So mostly adults were using it. The entertainment at night was poor to say the least and of the 7 we watched, only 1 was tailored toward kids, they were all pretty sub-par and the male entertainment host was terrible and quite aggressive around women, my wife was definitely not a fan of his along with our friends their.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, space and food plus the employees. Location and views too.
Cons: If I was to be picky better quality pool towels.
Location: Purpose built beach and resort cut into rock. We walked to Puerto Rico about 20 mins which had some night life and lots of shops and restaurants.
Excellent hotel with spacious and clean bedrooms overlooking the infinity pool with great views of the sea and beach. Food was excellent throughout the week both at breakfast and dinner. Lots of options and all very fresh and tasty. Service was very good too and whilst dress is informal at breakfast chaps must wear long trousers for dinner. There are far more sun loungers than guests and there are two distinct pool areas. Personally the area around the infinity pool whilst looking good was a little crowded so we opted to spend our time at the higher level pool where there is lots of space and quiet. This pool is not heated and salty so very refreshing on hot days! We had a terrific time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bury St Edmunds, UK

perfect location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Spa, although nice seemed a little tired.
So many hotels to choose from but luckily we chose the best one. Close enough to the sea but high enough for beautiful views. Amazing staff, food excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dublin

Lovely hotel. Great views over the beach

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Lovely building, great pools ( would be nice if they were both warm). Very good staff, very obliging
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Very posh hotel close to beach with friendly staff

Posted Nov 15, 2016
We got upgraded to the presidential suite as we arrived without even asking to which was amazing. All staff were so friendly and offered us lots of free drinks despite the fact we were not fully inclusive .. great entertainment, hot weather, close beach with shops, perfect for a 3 day get away in November
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ireland

Very good hotel, helpful staff

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: We were looking for a relaxing holiday, we certainly managed to achieve this, it was a most restful week.
Cons: There was some mould on the ceiling of the bathroom of our room, and the road noise at night was noticeable despite our room being on the 4th floor
Location: The hotel is a bit of a climb from the beach area to get to the lift at the hotel, although this would not be a problem for most guests,
We arrived 2 hours before nominal check-in due to an early flight arrival. The check-in was very simple and we were offered a drink at check-in while we waited. We were given a room key where we could charge lunch etc to our room while we waited for it to be prepared. At this stage we went for a look around, the mirador pool area was very nice an quiet, just what we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016
We had a lovely stay at the Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa. The rooms are a good size. The first room we stayed in suffered from road noise, the hotel is a good 200 foot above the road but I think the sound must bounce off the rocks and in to some rooms. We spoke to reception and they weren't surprised so must be used to people complaining about this. We were moved to another room, one floor below (at an additional charge as the room was designed for 4 people / families) and there was no road noise at all. I was surprised at the lack of toiletries in the room. A bar of soap is provided and a fixed container of shower gel is attached to the shower wall but there is no shampoo, conditioner or body lotion so you will need to take your own. The hotel has two pools, we preferred to pool on the top floor as it was much quieter and there was much more space. They had activities such as aqua gym and aqua spin in the lower pool. Both pools were very cold so brace yourself! We were on B&B basis so I can only comment on breakfast, we ventured out in the evening for dinner as there are plenty of restaurants along the beach or at the harbour (a good 20 minute walk away). There was plenty of choice for breakfast, hot and cold, sweet & savoury. The staff were very attentive, the restaurant was well run and was kept very clean. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Beautiful hotel with stunning view

Posted Oct 11, 2016
This was an absolute gem. Perfect mini break in a perfect location. Try get a room in block 4 so you overlook the infinity pool and bay from your balcony. My partner and I have not a single complaint. The hotel is worth every penny.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex uk

Lovely clean hotel could improve.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
This is my second visit to this hotel. Things have changed!! The main problem is the new card system even tho u have a a/I bracelet on, you have to swip your card every time, what is the point in having bracelet on. This really is a total pain and slows everything up. Also in the evening you cannot go to the bar, you have table service this is fine until it gets busy then your waiting 40mins for a drink. Quality of food is not as good as our visit last year. I get the impression they are trying to cut back on drinks and food. Such a shame as this is a lovely hotel and in a perfect Position .