Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

My Favourite Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: the cleaners makes too much noise
Location: plenty to do
This is my favourite hotel. I have returned many times. I can't fault any aspect of the hotel. Reception and staff are polite and efficient. Bathroom is clean, modern, well equiped. Lounge / bedroom is clean, modern and comfortable. My room (511) had a very nice view from a large balcony of sand dunes/beach/sea. The area gets some traffice noise but no music/party/drunken noises. Restaurant is very good, I can't fault anything, food is amazing, fresh, not over cooked and so much choice, the restaurant is clean, bright with views of garden, outside dining and staff were excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Enrique Giersberg Carrión, Hotel Management
Dear John, We are delighted that we are your favourite hotel and we thanks for sharing your experience. We would be more than happy to welcome you again very soon and wish you a nice Septembre starting. With best regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tenerife

Air conditioning

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: Good entertainment and excellent food.
Cons: Air con. all year round.
Location: Great location. Close to all amenities.
Air conditioning only available June to October. It should be available all the time as the rooms were very hot in the afternoon. Apart from that the hotel was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Ten day stay at IFA Catarina

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: I like this hotel as I have stayed here before and it is of a good standard but not 'over the top' Good rooms, meals and staff.
Cons: Maybe an improvement could be made to the after dinner 'entertainment' most nights this was poor.
Arriving quite late I was welcomed and cheched in.Despite requesting an upper floor room I was allocated another but this was very quickly and politely rectified. The meals were very varied and good although sometimes the chicken was bloody in the middle. Excelent service from the very helpful and polite staff. One criticism however, although it says the towels placed by the Germans reserving sun beds would be removed they were not and sometimes even at 0730 most of the beds on the sun deck were reserved - many not used at all just reserved in case - this is not good as we all pay for their use and should have a fair chance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

relaxing hotel, good quality

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: as above
Cons: furniture scraping on the floor every day .
very relaxing as always . big balcony . quiet room . good sleep . fantastic view of dunes, sea and gardens . very good selection and quality breakfast and dinner buffet . big clean room . big clean bathroom .very big and nice gardens . nice pool . reception very helpful . easy check in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service, value, experience

Posted May 11, 2015
Catarina is my favourite hotel, it is rare that I return to a hotel . . I look forward to my next visit . . Every aspect of catarina is excellent . . . Overall a very tranquil pleasant stay . . Polite prompt service from all staff . . Requests to change room is promp . . Large nice gardens with different sections . . Huge selection of fresh healthy food every meal . . Rooms and large balcony very nice, only 1 plug socket though . . Perfect location next to beach, dunes and a nice walk to gumbo . . This is a quiet/tranquil hotel, I you want party atmosphere go somewhere else!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dr68 from Tenerife

Great but long walk to room!

Posted Jul 5, 2012
Location: Good for bars and restuarants-within walking distance.Taxi ride to sea front and the shops and bars there.
Good hotel,good location and pleasant surroundings. Air conditioning in rooms not brilliant needs to be more powerful.Vending machines out of order so no where to buy water at night so there needs to be a facility to buy water from reception.If you can´t walk far or have a young family the walk to far corridors involves going up and then back down a flight of stairs-no elevator available to this level!It took us over 5 mins to get to our room! Lunchtime menu at poolbar not brilliant for kids could do with kids choices.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review as well as for the time spendig for the comment. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the damaged vending machine. We offer in an other location at the hotel additional drinks from the vending machine. As general information and for your next booking, you can request before arriving a room not to far of the outlets and of easy access. We would be pleased to provide you a more confortable accommodation not having to go for dinstances specially having a baby. We hope to welcome you back to the IFA Catarina and we remain, Hasta la vista!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Edward from Kingston, ON, Canada

A very nice experience.

Posted Jan 5, 2012
Pros: Pool area and the sun deck
Cons: Not having coffee available at all meals.
Location: Great location with little traffic noise.
Front desk staff excellent at handling all inquires. Dining staff excellent, courteous , and prompt. The hotel is ideally located in walking distance from the Dunes and the Beach. All the amenities were in good shape, and the rooms were spotless. Very enjoyable stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from London, UK

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2012
Pros: Cleanliness and the language skills of the staff, easily switching betweeen any number of languages.
Cons: Location! The walk to the beach it is across some sand dunes. the 1st day these are interesting after that it becomes a drag. the hotel provides a Bus
Location: If you are Ok! with a bus to the beach then the location is fine.
Great clean hotel. I was B&B and the Breakfast was fantastic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hayden from London, UK

Decent location & facilities

Posted Jan 4, 2012
Pros: Location between the dunes & Yumbo
Cons: It's a long hotel, so if your friends are down the other end, it's a long walk!
Location: 2nd closest hotel to the dunes
Good location, everything is basic, but perfectly functional. Clean, tidy, modest. We were always out, so it was just a place to sleep and suited us fine. No kitchen or kitchenette. Waffles by the pool between 3-4:30 :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal q.c. and Miami usa.

nice place to visit

Posted Oct 27, 2011
Location: Yumbo Centrum and the Dunes quite gay .......
Very nice weather