Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

Very impressive hotel, Will definitely return!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Beautiful to look at, spotlessly clean, staff were all so helpful and friendly, pools and grounds were wonderful. Looking forward to returning.
Cons: The only thing that may need improvement would be the wifi service, but we managed happily without it.
Location: Good location, lots of shops and restaurants beside it and beach just around the corner.
We could not fault this hotel, impressed from the minute we arrived and very sad to leave. Will definitely return again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by Lopesan Baobab Resort, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review on Expedia! We are really happy to read you enjoyed your well deserved holiday in our Lopesan Baobab Resort and that our facilities impressed you! On the other hand, we apologize for the inconveniences caused if the wifi was not working properly. Your comments have already been forward to our Technical Service Department in order for them to take a close look into this matter. We would be pleased to welcome you again in a near future. Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Amazing!

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Loved this place! Staff were so hardworking and helpful! Cannot wait to get back there ASAP!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful swimming pools and outdoor areas.

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Large, warm swimming pools often linking into another, an absolute pleasure, gentle lazy river- wonderful especially about 7 pm when the sun is still out but it's quiet. Hotel outdoor pool restaurant amazing squid with cabbage salad- delicious and enough for 2. Friendly helpful staff. Lovely squarish bath for two. Great location 5 mins walk to bud station- can get to Las Palmas on bus 40 mins, Mogan( market on friday mornings) or Puerto Rico ( boat trips to see Dolphins) in about 25. Upmarket area, 5 mins from fab mainly exclusive shops, but also Zara, Mango etc in shopping centres open till late. No bargains but lovely, also wonderful promenade by ocean full of smart restaurants some open air plus a couple of really lively bars with great music, all finished around 11.30 ish. Wanted a stressfree break with hubbie with sunshine. Mainly Germans and Norweigens, some Brits, everyone very friendly, speaks English. Enjoy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Designer hotel in nice area

Posted Oct 27, 2015
We stayed at this hotel for 5 days mid October. Four of us in a massive family room. It is a stunningly designed big hotel with well thought out areas to hang out. The pool areas are beautiful and I loved the central big bar. The breakfast buffet was amazing. We mainly ate outside of the hotel in the evening and there are plenty of good choices of restaurants in Meloneras and Maspalomas Beach front. Banderas tapas bar in the shop arcade just outside was amazing! Nice shops nearby too. A few things bothered me about the hotel: -big bun fight for the pool loungers. Usually by 9.30 they were all taken. There is a policy about not reserving beds before 10am which wasn't enforced. Staff were not concerned whether you had a lounger or not and didn't help providing more, etc. So we ended up going to Maspalomas beach every morning and only getting a lounger by mid afternoon when there were loungers available. Shame. We did try the other more quiet pools too without success. -weird that you have to hire your room cupboard safe..it's a 5 star hotel! -the pillows were far too big and hard..I really suffered with backache after the first night. You can hire more orthopedic pillows and I am not surprised that they need to do that! -the bathroom or vanity area was badly lit..not good for applying make-up (two teens girls and me!) But all in all we loved our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Garden layout very good as you never felt under each others feet. Plenty of sspace in reception and quality of food excellent
Cons: Free wifi in the bedrooms
Location: Very good location near to shops beach and bus terminus
Enjoyed the African theme experience and general appearance of hotel and gardens
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing hotel... could do with less "activities"

Posted Sep 22, 2015
The hotel is very pretty, well kept and has a very pleasant team. We loved the "no booking loungers" rule (we actually witnessed how a german couple had their towels and bags removed for having done so). However, on day one, we were relaxing by the pool when at 10:30 the animation team kicked off, with a horrible loud music and saying everything in 9 languages. This was a constant through our stay. This has been the only downside to an otherwise spotless hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Love this place!

Posted Jul 8, 2015
I stayed for a week in the hotel and loved every minute. The hotel and grounds are stunning. The food amazing and hotel very clean and tidy. Very safe also. Very family orientated but would also suit couples as there are quieter areas and pools to chill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, England

The best hotel I've ever stayed in!

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: The aesthetic design, the kind, well mannered attitudes of the staff and the level of service is incredible.
Cons: Evening entertainment lacks quite a bit.
Location: Located directly by the beach, 5 minute walk to the boulevard full of shops, restaurants and bars.
This hotel is just incredible! Upon arriving at the hotel you will be just shell shocked with it's size and beauty, it has the best entrance to a hotel I've ever been too and I've visited a lot of hotels! The staff at the hotel are the most kind, well mannered people I've ever met on a foreign holiday. The upkeep and maintenance of the hotel is also incredible, nothing is ever out of place and you will be constantly in awe of it's beauty. I stayed here for 7 nights / 8 days and wish I could have stayed longer! The only negative that I would have for the hotel is it's onsite entertainment, it is lacking quite a bit however if you just want a drink at a bar then it's nothing to bad, just not something you stick around for every night. I have absolutely no other negative things to say about it, all I can say is you need to visit yourself to understand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Agadir Morocco

African themed hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2015
We had a superior room and it really was worth it with a fab huge terrace with table and chairs and sun loungers. Also the bathroom was to die for! The staff were all very polite and friendly - very well trained in all aspects of hospitality - whether it was the receptionist on arrival, the bar and dining room staff or the gardener. The food was excellent with a good choice of starters, main courses and desserts. Something for everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a week away from it all

Posted Mar 29, 2015
If you want great service away from the playa del ingles, but close enough to get to it for a night out, this is the place to be. Great food, staff and ambience. Not for culture, but great for a chillax. Try the African menu at the a la carte place- really great meal and only 35 euros a head.