Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Best family holiday experience

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Really liked the friendly staff and entertainment
Cons: The quality of the food
Location: Grreat location, about 25 min walk to the beach or a short free bus ride to the beaches. Very close to different bus stops that take you anywhere
I have to say this was the best family holiday experience we have had. The hotel was really big and lovely, We stayed on the 5th floor and had a great view out onto the pool. The rooms were big and very clean with a balcony. The location I would also is pretty good. the hotel offers a short shuttle bus to the two main beaches which are lovely and we often walked as it was only 20 mins. Each night they had different entertainment which was really good and child friendly. We spent two whole days at the hotel and felt really relaxed. Sunbeds were always available, the staff were really friendly, we took part in several of the activities that took place all day. Food was such a big choice and I would say is very good for a 4 star hotel. they had every option of everything. I would really recommend this hotel for families, especially with children
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager - Occidental Margaritas, Hotel Management
Dear Jay, First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Margaritas hotel for your visit to Gran Canaria and for recommending us to the travel community of Expedia, this is undoubtedly the best reward for us all. We regret that our buffet could not meet your expectations, mainly because the quality of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. On the other hand, we are very happy to read that you were more that satisfy with the wide offer of our buffets. We would like to thank you for your very kind words about our entertainment team as they work tirelessly every day to entertain our guests during their stay among us, we will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated. Moreover, we are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. Again, we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Really nice family hotel and great location

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Location was great, free shuttle service and staff are great, they made my son feel so comfortable and enjoyed his stay.
Cons: Food for vegetarians, during the breakfast and evening meals. Be handy to separate areas to avoid spoons getting mixed and more choices/variations
Location: Lovely location and a number of restaurants, shopping centres nearby, you can even walk to Play de Ingles beach, roughly 20mins away.
We stayed at the apartments building of the complex and all facilites where great. Nice handy little kitchen, daily cleaned and great balcony with a pool view (definitely recommend this room view as the other rooms would face the entertainment and the sound can be very noisy). We had our 2 year old son and luckily could no hear any of the entertainment in the evenings, resulting in a peaceful night sleep for him. Also a great play area for kids with it's own pool and 3 nice swimming pools. Food in the restaurant was good and the only little downside to our trip was the vegetarian choices, there really isn't much, even normal veg dishes had added meat, fish ingredients added and there was a slight issue with language to get an definitive answer on vegetarian dishes. We made do with chips, pasta, bread and deserts but unfortunately there was not much else to eat. Also the items were right next to meat/fish dishes and a number of the serving spoons look to have been used amd mixed with the veg dishes. Overall the hotel, location, staff is great and we would happily head back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager - Occidental Margaritas, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your detailed review on Expedia. We highly appreciate your suggestion of a vegetarian corner in our buffet, we have taken good note of it. However, we kindly inform you that we are very flexible with our guests with special diets and our chef is always glad to help and make something of course, separately; to prevent getting mixed with other products. On the other hand, we are glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities and pool areas, your apartment and our central location in Playa del Inglés. Moreover, we will transmit your compliments to our staff, they will be very excited. We look forward to receiving you back soon for another fantastic holiday. Best regards from Gran Canaria!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Value for money

Posted May 17, 2017
I loved this hotel! I've never been in favour of half board but it suited us so well. Food is very good with lots of options. A tip for hard working waiters, since they don't come and serve tea and coffee, no need to put cups on the tables (sometimes it took time to get tables set up). Put cups by tea/coffee machines instead. More practical. Most hotels in Playa del Ingles are ugly but this hotel looks fresh and nice. I will come back for sure. Best of all, guests behave nicely, some hotels with certain nationalities don't have manners and just push aside queues, but that wasn't happening here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear André, Thank you very much for your kind review on Expedia. We are thrilled to read that you had a great time at our hotel Occidental Margaritas in Gran Canaria. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. Moreover, we are glad that you enjoyed the beauty and comfort of our facilities. We look forward to receiving you back soon for another successful holiday! Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay

Posted Apr 27, 2017
We spent a week at Occidental Margaritas and we had a very pleasant stay. The room we stay at was new and well equipped. The staff is very attentive and always available and smiling. The food was good and there was also a good variety. There are two big pools (the water is not cold as I read in other reviews) well equipped with deckchairs. They also organize activities for kids in the playground and also for the adults during the day as well as shows in the evening. There is a tennis court and a gym as well. It's a family hotel but it is actually good for everyone. On my birthday the hotel management surprised me with a nice cake and a bottle of Spanish cava in my room. Very much appreciated! I would recommend this hotel for a pleasant holiday.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Andrea, Thank you very much for your lovely review and your kind recommendation to other traveller’s of Expedia. We are also grateful that you chose us for such a special occasion as your birthday and we are thrilled to know that you had an amazing time at our hotel. We will transmit your compliments to the whole team, especially to our cooks and animators. We look forward to receiving you soon for another unforgettable holiday. Best regards
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Food poisoning; staff couldn't care less

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Play area and pools; night entertainment; Kids club.
Cons: Don't poison guests and if you do, try to help them. Also, the beds could be more comfortable.
This was to be a glowing review but for the last 24 hours. In which: -My wife contracted food poisoning from the hotel buffet; passed out (bloody nose, large bump on forehead, chipped tooth). -The hotel recommended quack medical service that ripped us off €600 -After hearing about them poisoning her, the staff were utterly indifferent to our plight. They offered no apology or assistance. My wife, who was 19 weeks pregnant, contracted food poisoning from the hotel. We know it was from the hotel as we had paid for all inclusive package and didn't eat anything outside of the hotel. Staff called a "doctor" who took: Her temperature, her blood pressure and €90. This doctor said she could do no more and needed to send us to a clinic with an ultrasound. Once the ambulance (€245) took my wife to the clinic, she found that they were only able to take her blood pressure (and €118) so total rip off. Eventually (4am) she was able to find a maternity unit that gave her an ultrasound and the all clear. The next morning I went to reception, told them about her predicament and asked for redress. I was told I could have a late check out at a cost. I was pretty shocked. I can only assume that food poisoning is a common thing here. I tried a few times to speak to a manager but it's possible the manager ate the food in the buffet because she never turned up. In the end I was given a free late checkout to shut me up. I hauled my sick wife and my 2 year old son out alive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017 by Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ben, Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Occidental Margaritas, please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. After some investigations we have not found any record of your comments at the reception regarding food poisoning. We only have a report mentioning that your wife left the hotel by an ambulance because of a blow to the head due to a loss of consciousness. We inform you, it is a priority to us attend all guest, especially when the nature of the incident is the one you have commented. We apologize for how this incident was managed during your stay. This is an isolated incident that probably was not resolve positively because your departure was the day after of the incident, making our team run out of time to contact you and clarify the situation. Also we would like to clarify that there are no more comments from other guests related to food poisoning during the days of your stay. We also want to communicate you that we follow all the procedures for safe and healthy in our kitchens, being the kitchen daily inspected by our head chef and regularly by an external company. Once again we are sorry for how our team managed the situation being this an extraordinary situation. Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you back and change the image you have from our hotel. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: We liked the breakfast and that the dishes in the buffet restaurant were labelled clearly with allergens.
Cons: As already mentioned, the display screen outside the restaurant would be really good if all the dishes were listed. The two lifts were very slow
Location: Within 15 minutes walk there are many restaurants and bars etc
We had a few days holiday to take so I looked around for hotels that catered for people who require gluten free diet and couldn't find many in that area. Settled for Margaritas which doesn't mention it on their website but had seen a Dutch review where the writer had been provided with gluten free bread. The hotel is a good walk from the beach but there is free bus service that operates - but not that many pick ups so you have to be disciplined at breakfast to catch one that gives you plenty of time at the beach. The room was clean but beds wasn't the most comfortable and seemed to have a plastic mattress protector which meant that sweat couldn't escape and so just went cold and clammy. Also was annoyed that housekeeping didn't replenish the toilet paper for the last couple of days. We opted for half board and food was acceptable, although I was impressed that they offered English style sausages at breakfast which was a welcome surprise. At the entrance to the restaurant there is a touch screen display with the dishes listed and the allergens present, however we found that the details were incomplete and in some cases inaccurate - if this was complete then would be a great tool for people with special dietary needs. The hotel does have a sauna but this is a chargeable extra and is only open during the day so we never got to use it. We did take a look at the rooftop solarium but were disappointed that it was quite small and bare/drab.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager - Occidental Margaritas, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Occidental Margaritas. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. Concerning the food, we are very flexible with our guest with special diets and our chef is always glad to help them as much as possible. We have taken good note about your comments in regards of the display outside the buffet restaurant, and the person in charge is already informed so we can prevent this kind of feedback in the feature. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. About the shuttle service to the beaches, we try to organise it according to the services in the hotel; nevertheless, we highly appreciate your comments and, again, we are sorry for any inconvenience. Moreover, we are sorry to read that you did not find our beds very comfortable, though we understand it is a very subjective matter we try to satisfy the maximum number of guests. Regarding the plastic cover of the mattress, we inform you that it used for hygiene reasons, we apologize for the discomfort caused. On the other hand, we are glad that you enjoyed our food, especially our English breakfast. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from london

Package holiday hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The room is quite spacious with a balcony. The restaurant is huge and the food lovely in quantities and quality.
Cons: The restaurant closes at 21:30 pm. Closes quite early. Less pillows on the bed.
Location: Hotel has it own entertainment. Yumbo is about 15 minutes walk Some small shops nearby.
This is a typical package hotel. The service is ok but not personalised. Rarely you get greeted by a member of staff, from the reception to the main restaurant. Too busy to notice you by. Quite a long walk to reach the main restaurant. The food diversity and quality is great. Suitable for families. Overall, good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jose, Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Occidental Margaritas .We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. About our meals schedules, we kindly inform you that they are subject to the season, so in winter season the schedules are, normally, earlier than in summer season. We are sorry for any inconveniences this may have caused you. On the other hand, we are very pleased to read your complete satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards
4 out of 5
by Michael

Good facilities and short walk to night life.

Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel overall and certainly one of the better ones I have stayed in. Good size rooms, well presented and good hotel amenaties eg gym
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017
Dear Michael, Thank you very much for your positive review on Hotels.com We are thrilled to read that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel Occidental Margaritas and that you enjoyed our facilities as our rooms and gym! Moreover, we are glad that our central location matched your needs. We look forward to receive you back soon at our hotel. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Margaritas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel complex for families

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Good sized room, friendly staff, lovely swimming pools & great location. Child friendly with many activities if you wanted to join in.
Cons: More organised meal times as too busy.
Location: South of island close to beaches, sand dunes & bars & shops.
Clean & tidy hotel, excellent animation team, buffet meals ok but busy. Choice of two pools set in lovely grounds. Staff friendly. Good location for exploring the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager Hotel Occidental Margarit, Hotel Management
Dear guest, The vision of our clients is the key to complete guest-satisfaction, therefore we are very grateful for the time you spent writing this review We lament to read about your disappointing feelings in regards of the restaurant. However, there are 3 hours for breakfast and lunch and 3 hours and 30 minutes for dinner in order to spread the affluence of people, and also we advise people to avoid peak times to ensure a more comfortable service. On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool areas as well as the comfort of our sunbeds. We thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis. In addition, we are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities are having a memorable moment among us and we will certainly not fail to share your congratulations with the entire team. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Overall a nice stay.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Location of hotel excellent. Room pools,bars and sun terrace all excellent. 2 disappointments. The food whilst plentiful and varied wan not 4 star in quality. I am a "foodie" so i may expect more of food than some peoe! The spa (consisting of one dry Sauna cabin and massage rooms ) was tiny and had to be booked in advance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager - Occidental Margaritas, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you for your comments. We are also very pleased to read your complété satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds We also regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. About your comments about the "Spa", we do not advertise that there is a Spa in the hotel. There is a Beauty Saloon with Sauna and services such as massage, manicure, ecc. and, certainly, previous booking is required. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards