Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great for kids

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Great for the kids, close to the beach and there's a few local supermarkets. Only issue is food is not great...did not enjoy the food at all. Also the bedsheets are not changed...with kids it's a must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorchester

Well equipped appartments in great location!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: rooms , shower & bathrooms , facilities in kitchen , location , staff.
Cons: need second larger pool area to cater for adults only maybe
Location: 5 minutes gentle stroll to Yumbo, 10 minute walk to Masdpolomas sand dunes.
Located just one street ( 200 yards ) from The Yumbo centre which offers shopping , restaurants and nightlife an a grand scale. Although all the bars and clubs within the centre are Gay owned and ran they cater for families and you see a very mixed crowd. Sol Barbacan has a big family following and the staff ( animation team ) are bursting with enthusiasm to entertain adults and children alike. but equally leave you alone if you are just there to chill out. We utilised the kitchen in the appartment with toaster, hotplate , kettle and fridge being very welcome. Large appartments with seperate bedroom, bathroom and very large lounge space. Also extra large balcony / terrace makes for nice evenings sat out. although we were a couple in a room with friends in the next room each appartment catered for 4 people with 4 chairs on terrace 4 of all utensils which was as nice touch. Staff at reception especially Guillermo was very helpful and went out of his way to arrange excursions for us etc. Wonderful stay. The Bungalows on site looked amazing in the lawned grounds and if we returned would try and book a bungalow. Only negative is that the main pool was very busy with sunbeds in many rows and frantic with children and noise. Given the size of the plot and volume of guests it could do with more areas to sit in the sun by a pool in quieter surroundings. A second small pool does exist which if it was enforced as adult only this may assist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gran canaria

fantastic facilities

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: the facilities, the grounds, the staff, the food.
Cons: our bedroom faced a noisy road but you cant do anything about that.
Location: the beach was about 20 minute walk away or you could get a cab. it was near to restaurants and bars if you wanted a change from the hotel.
lovely view of the pool from our balcony good evening entertainment and we found the staff very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

very central good location

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Cons: wi fi as stated above
great hotel right on the main road of playa del ingles, ;lots bars shops for dinners breakfast and beers, only down side was that their wi fi was not good at all although free, may they need to look into this if possible., apart from that a great stay would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent staff but all things just did not click

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Hotel was spacious and adequate but showing signs of aging in areas. Wasn't cleaned properly when we arrived at midnight but by no means unacceptable. Large balcony, living room and kitchen a plus, especially for a family holiday. Hotel staff were excellent and helpful throughout. Wifi non-existent outside of the lobby. The hotel was 20mins walk from the beach, and the location accessible to main roads to other towns. Parking is provided for free but a constant lack of space meant we had to park outside. The public street parking was free upto 10am, with €1 for every two hours parking or so. This would be annoying if you had to wake up to shift the car into the hotel parking lot in the morning when spaces free up. Overall, no complaints, but not memorable by any stretch of the imagination, albeit the island itself being nothing short of a must visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good value for an excellent apartment

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Really was a nice place to stay. Great staff facilities excellent. Couldn't fault it at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Scotland

Great apartment in great location

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Great location, everything about the hotel and grounds was lovely. Really helpful reception staff and supermarket on site (buts lots close by)
Cons: Hot water for those that need a shower at 3am.
Location: Surrounded by restaurants/bars. Yumba centre a 5 min walk (shops, restaurants & more shops). 20 min walk to beach & dunes.
We got a two bedroom apartment (only asked for one bed) which was on second floor and had everything we needed. Lovely big balcony with table/chairs &sunloungers which was a bonus as well as the beach towels. We were on room only basis as like to go out and eat but had a snack lunch and tried the buffet one night. Both were good but glad we were not half board. The only downside in the room was the sofa was not the most comfortable. Our room was just near the lounge bar which often had live entertainment which sometimes went on until 11.30pm which was only annoying on our last night when had to be up at 3am for our flight, plus no hot water at that time of morning either! We went down to maspalomas faro lighthouse area a couple of times as lovely promenade along the sea/beach front. Faro has a range of nice restaurants to try out. Was never more than 5 euros in taxi from hotel to faro lighthouse. Playa del Ingles beach 20 min walk, lovely beach and start of the maspolomas dunes which are great to see. Great Irish bar just down the road with live music. All in all great holiday, location perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marsin from Birmingham UK

Excellent hotel , fantastic stay!

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: basically everything , especially location, its design, large rooms, big garden, ambience, decors
Cons: pool rules and policies - reserving sun beds, kids horsing around
Location: its in the middle between Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas and all amenities that have to offer
Without a doubt this is grand Hotel throughout - facilities, staff, location and lastly but foremost the room - which is more than spacious - with seperate living room and bedroom, big balcony and decent bathroom with bath tub and large mirror. Breakfast was always fresh and selection was vast with very efficient staff. The only gripe I have is internet that simply did not work and pool staff that takes no action what so ever when families and groups were reserving sun beds early in the morning by placing towel on it which is clearly against hotels policy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Barbican Hotel Apartments Grand Canaria

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: The location was very central, near to buses, shops and restaurant.
We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel, the staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. We are looking forward to going again in March of next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lily from London

Spacious apartment & great location

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Enjoyed a week's stay here with my sister and niece. Chose hotel due to convenient location and the availability of apartments & bungalows - all of which have bedrooms, living room area, kitchenette & good shower! Most other hotels will just be standard one room unless paying more for a suite - having a living room was fantastic! Staff also really friendly & helpful. Would highly recommend staying here - had an amazing time! Tip - I chose to stay here partly as more convenient location for day trips e.g. we went on a camel ride, jeep safari, trip to Palmitos national park, dolphin search boat trip (amazing!) etc. If you don't mind not having a central location then consider also staying in Melonaras (Maspalomas) instead of Playa Del Ingles as is really beautiful there (5min cab ride) to Playa Del Ingles. But I really enjoyed staying in Playa Del Ingles & would stay here again:)