Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The hotel is really well located - only ten minutes from the Royal Palace and some really central plazas. We really enjoyed having an apartment style room so that we could save a bit of cash by buying bigger bottles of water and keeping them in the fridge and having some grub ready for a quick breakfast before heading out for the day to explore. The only negative of the room was that the spare duvet was a little stained but this was minor considering everything else - we even had a view of the Cathedral and Royal Palace from our room! We'd definitely stay if we come back to Madrid (which was are hoping to do at some point as we fell in love with the city!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Good hotel centrally located. Good sized room for Europe. Desk staff a little brusque but OK
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wednesbury, UK

Nice Hotel, Good central location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The hotel is in a very central, but expensive, part of the city. The room itself was fine although decor is very dated. We were pleasantly surprised to find a small kitchen area in the room with a fridge, microwave, sink and hob (no kettle though!). The room was very clean apart from a slightly smelly fridge. The air con was very good once we figured out that we needed to close the inner door to stop it sucking the cold air straight back out. Shower was very powerful and the bed was comfy. The staff were friendly enough and helpful when we asked them if they could help with printing boarding passes. Overall, our stay was good but would maybe look to stay in the medieval district next time.
4 out of 5
by Emanuel

Good place to stay

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Convenient room with many features to make your stay easier, like drawers, benches, hooks in bathroom, relatively big fridge. Kitchenette is OK, but without coffee maker. Our room was on the 8th floor with view on Palace Real, a little bit noisy at midnight. Beware of some (all) rooms on the 9th floor: they have only roof windows and it was terribly hot inside even in April morning. We requested to changed the room and it was done almost immediately. When we asked for late check out, they were honest, not hiding after usual "we are overbooked", just said you can hold the room till 18:00 but pay 30 Euros.
4 out of 5
by Monica

Espahotel Gran via 65

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
The trip was amazing, we will definitely be back to Madrid in the near future.. The hotel was in the city centre and was 2min walking distance to the nearest metro, which was easy to use for travelling about the city. The hotel was very nice and had the best staff I have every come across, nothing was a problem to them... The only thing about the hotel that had a negative for me was the hotel asked how many beds we wanted and we paid for three which was on one of the pictures, which I think is decefing as we were given a room with two beds and a pop up bed which wasn't the best ...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location...

Posted Mar 28, 2017
air-conditioning didn't work. It was a little hot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Excellent location, everything we needed

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Location: Perfect for Prado, Thyssen museum, the royal palace and the cathedral. Currently they have an excellent Escher exhibition nearby too - well worth it.
The hotel is perfectly placed to provide a base for all the major attractions in Madrid. In 4 days we did not have to use a taxi or public transport to do everything we had planned (art galleries, museums, the palace and cathedral). Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance too. The hotel was clean and comfortable, and provided everything we expected. The kitchenette facilities are quite basic - enough for a continental breakfast, or afternoon tea, but not sufficient for a cooked meal. This was just what we needed. It is worth noting that there were very few food shops (that we found) near the hotel; it was not easy to find anywhere to buy even the basics, such as coffee or milk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin Ireland

Excellent situation.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Excellent rooms. 3 elevators
Cons: The breakfast and the politeness of the staff member in the dining room on Saturday afternoon. Otherwise excellent all round.
Location: If you are into shopping this is the place to stay . Surrounded by shops and theaters and restaurants to please everybody
Right on the main street of Madrid about 300 metres from Corte Ingles Shopping Centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach, FL

Fantastic Location

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: I decided to book this hotel based solely on the location, I was a little worried first because the hotel itself didn't seem too appealing for the price we paid but I'm glad I booked it. I booked the studio room. It was a great size! They put two double beds together which basically made a king size. It had a small living room area and a kitchenette. The bathroom was big and had hot water. The cab from the airport was about 30 euros each way. We got there early and our room was ready so we were able to check in. The room was very clean. The hotel is located toward the end of the Gran Via. You can walk to all of the major parks and plazas but the walk is so scenic that you won't even mind it, it's a safe area. If you do need public transportation, the hotel is a three minute walk to the Plaza de España metro station which will connect you to most places including the airport. There is a "Ham Museum" right across which is a must for ham lovers. There is also a Western Union conveniently located right next to the hotel which offers currency exchange. We actually ordered the breakfast room service and we got a lot of food for less than 10 euros.
Cons: My only complaint with this hotel was that it was pretty noisy at night but that's due to the foot traffic on the Gran Via, other than that everything was excellent!
Location: Near Plaza del Callao, Plaza España, Santo Domingo, Plaza del Sol, Plaza Cibeles
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NG

Kitchen facilities not adequate

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful reception staff, welcoming, centrally located.
Cons: Breakfast items could be better, especially for vegetarians.
Location: Very noisy in early mornings.