Ratings based on 2,052 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great location

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Great location, clean, comfortable, spacious room (twin)
Cons: Wifi was really slow at night (when everyone was using it), very few English TV channels
Great location, right off Gran Via and close to the metro stops (but it was close to everything, so we ended up walking everywhere).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bogota, Colombia

Good location. Not very good hotel

Posted May 31, 2017
Not very friendly staff. Good hotel location but not very clean. Carpets in pathways are not clean and give a terrible first impression. Very poor room amenities. However, room are clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

4 star? I don't think so, but...

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Brilliant location which saves the hotel.
Cons: Reception staff. Clean/replace common area carpets. Update rooms.
Location: Best value is the two day hop on hop off red bus at 21 euros, which allows you to get your bearings.
The hotel is a few metres off the Grand Via, about as central Madrid as you can get. For location, I don't think it could be beaten really. Thirty Euro fixed taxi fee whisks you here in about half an hour and is worth doing for the time saved, although a Metro station is nearby. The hotel reception is small (not a problem) but the staff seemed disinterested in everything. No smile, greeting or even an acknowledgement by looking up from the desk whenever guests came in or out. They would help with locations etc, but without friendliness. A definite case for customer service training. The hotel was tidy, but needed some TLC. Corridor and stair carpets were worn and dirty. I had a single room at the rear of the hotel overlooking a light well and other bedroom windows, service pipes, flues etc. The room was small (as most single rooms are) and tired, but the housekeeping staff did what thy could to keep it clean. I can see why other reviewers say the front rooms are noisy. The traffic is unrelenting madness. Didn't take breakfast (14 euros). The city is quite compact and most attractions can be walked from the hotel within 10-15 minutes. Red bus route 2 will take you to the Bernabeu Stadium if that's your thing. Stadium priority tickets sold on the bus (24 Euros). Impressive even as a non-football fan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St.Louis

Vacation in Madrid.

Posted May 26, 2017
Wonderful city. Rich in history. Took several tours. Walked throughout city with no problems. A city I would return to visit.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value, great location

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
It was a 1 night stay. The staff were helpful. The single room was small, but functional. Great location. Smallest elevator ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Great location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Ample closet space and a large bathroom. Breakfast buffet is varied with lots of options.
Cons: It's a bit outdated and worn in decor.
Location: Great location, center of Gran Vía. 15 minute walk to the Prado or royal palace (opposite directions). Plaza de Sol & Plaza Major within 5 minutes.
While a bit worn, the hotel is great. Wonderful central location within easy access of the major sites in the central city and steps away from the Metro to range further our. They have a separate office center if you need to access a computer/printer as well as a large and well stocked breakfast buffet. The room and hotel as a whole were spotlessly clean. My room was larger than my expectation for a European hotel and the bathroom almost spacious - plenty of room to move around without bumping into things. On the whole it was very comfortable, and I had a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leicester

Great hotel in a great location.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Great hotel in a great location. Ideal to use as a base to explore the city. Great breakfast!
3 out of 5
by Ujjalendu

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
It is a noisy hotel. Rooms are sound transparent.
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Great location but not 4 star standard hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is in a great location, however the rooms are in need of renovation and the property does not live up to a four star standard in terms of standard of accommodation or services offered (no bar or room service, tiny reception area). Air con didn't work in room only pumped out heat) so not great on a hot day! If you can secure a good rate and don't expect a real 4* standard then you'll be ok!