Ratings based on 859 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north Vancouver

Nice hotel in a perfect location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location location location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hop on bus was only 2 blocks away, and the Real Palace very close too. The the Segway if you get a chance.
Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel before catching the train to Barcelona for a cruise. You could not ask for a better location for being a tourist in Madrid and seeing the sites. San Martin Plaza has many many restaurants nearby, and Plaza Mayor and the main walking street is only 1 - 2 blocks away. The hotel itself is very nice and rooms were great. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Lovely elegant hotel, in an excellent location.

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Our stay here was very comfortable and enjoyable. The room, including the bathroom, was quite spacious. The location is excellent, central to most of the main landmarks and attractions, and great shopping and eating locations nearby. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The only let down, albeit a very trivial one, is that there was no coffee or tea making facilities on offer within the room. This is an essential when traveling! Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Exceptional staff, very obliging, small but extremely clean room. Great area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cancun

Hotel needs to be updated

Posted Aug 26, 2017
We have been guests of this hotel in various ocasions, however during this trip it seemed to be very outdated. The rooms and overall facilities need to be updated. The staff and location are great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Centrally located Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Overall a great experience. Highly recommended
Cons: The rug in our room was a little worn
Location: Amazing. Close to the Metro and walking distance to a number of attractions
A very nice experience. The hotel is centrally located and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and the hotel was very clean. The only reason why I didn't give it a 5 to the Conditions and Facilities category is that our rooms was a little dated - rugs were a little worn. However, the overall experience was amazing. Highly recommended and will definitely stay there again if I am ever in Madrid again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Great hotel! So close to the center of the city and very nice room with great staff! I would definitely recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset UK

Hotel in central Madrid, close to all venues

Posted Aug 23, 2017
On arrival we were allocated a ground floor room, but we asked for a room on a higher floor. This was granted without a problem. The reason were were allocated a ground floor room was because we had booked through expertise and not direct with the hotel. Is this common practice to allocate cheaper rooms when booking through yourselves. The upgrade was granted immediately and without question.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent central location in quiet piazza

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Great location, nice piazza, comfortable clean room,very efficient air conditioning, very quiet at night (except for bells), "grand" feel to the hotel
Cons: Breakfast needs to be a bit cheaper, bed should have been made up into a proper double, staff could smile a bit more
Location: Great location. Convent of Las Descalzas Reals next door (book online to ensure you get in as tickets). Easy walk to Prado, Thyssen and Reina Sofia
The hotel has a grand feel and couldn't be in a better location. Staff were very helpful but not particularly friendly and the style is a bit old-fashioned, though some people may really like that. Having said that I would still recommend it highly and definitely stay there again as it is excellent value, quiet at night (except for bells, see below) and within walking distance of all the main sights. Breakfast is very good but expensive so you may prefer to go elsewhere for that. Although it is not the fault of the hotel, the convent next door rings its church bells loudly at 6.30am. Our "double" bed was in fact two singles pushed together with a bit of an unromantic divide between the two and the "hospital bed" style bed-making made it impossible to turn it into a proper double.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Nice hotel, clean rooms, historic building with high ceilings, in the middle of it all. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Only drawback was the hotel was a bit hard to find. It is in the heart of a busy Plaza Callan, our taxi driver did not know how to get to the front of the hotel. Otherwise, it was a great hotel.