Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey usa

Excellent location

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Cons: Escalators
Good breakfast, close to transportation, friendly reception- answer all questions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Excellent conditions, location and staff.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The most important thing is its location. It is in the heart of Madrid, but also the conditions of the rooms and the attention of the hotel's people.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It is in the center of the Grand Via, just a few steps from Plaza el Callao and very close to Puerta del Sol.
Very good. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, the attention of the staff is excellent and the locations couldn't be any better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynne from west midlands UK

Pleasant hotel on Gran Via in Madrid

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Value for money, clean and well placed for the Metro
Cons: Re-decorate bathroom, add more lighting and repair wardrobe door
Location: Well located inGranVia. Shops and eating places nearby. Tour bus stop over the road. Cinemas and bars in walking distance.
Hotel Rex is fair value for money. Had I been sharing my room for two I think I would have felt cramped. Bathroom area a bit dark and in need of re-decoration but facilities all clean and working well. Bedroom storage sliding door out of order reducing hanging space by half. OK because just me, not ok for two people. All lights not working so overall a bit too dark. Safe difficult to manage and priced at one euro every time it is opened. Female staff open and friendly. Breakfast varied and filling. No need to be hungry. Notwithstanding faults, I would stay at Hotel Rex again.
4 out of 5
by Maria from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Noise from hallway & no iron
Location: Perfect, Right in the city centre
Facilities: Above average, Good bathroom. No iron; Value: Affordable; Service: Sufficient, English speaking staff; Cleanliness: Pleasant; Decent breakfast & free wifi
1 out of 5
by Eugenia from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Jul 28, 2012 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Room had no natural light. Staff was rude. Under construction. Thin walls, was very noisy.
Location: Great
Facilities: Nothing special, Old; Value: Could be better; Service: Rude, Awful; Breakfast was ok, and location was very good. However, everything else about the hotel was poor. I would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Schaumburg, IL

enjoyed the stay

Posted Aug 7, 2010
Near the metra station. didn't use it too much. Spent most of the time walking to see the sites. Didn't travel outside the city. When I did use the metra it was simple to use and cheep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to all the must-see sights

Posted Jun 15, 2010 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

There are better hotels in Madrid

Posted Jan 13, 2010 on Hotels
Room was deteriorated and very hot. Beds were uncomfortable. Bathroom door had water damage. Couldn't sleep because you could hear everything that was going on in other rooms and the hallway. The only positive thing is its location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Great location to see Madrid

Posted Jan 6, 2010
The hotel itself is a bit dated and could use some updating. However, the staff was wonderful and the rooms were very clean. We had two rooms - my husband and I in one and our two adult sons in the other. The location of the hotel was the most important to us and it was great! Just steps from the metro and easy walking distance from restaurants and bars. We felt very safe venturing out day or night. We had a great time and would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Room not good

Posted Oct 23, 2009
We were there for 2 days. We were given the worst room on the floor (wall was peeling, bathroom was too small to move. The room was smallest and corner most on the floor The beds were uncomfortable. Got up with a back pain. The view from room was facing some small street and we were told that they were full, while we saw customers checking in after us.) I am saying that it was the worst room because, after requesting and pleading that our stay was 2 days, they gave us a good room the next day. The front office staff was not friendly and we felt discriminated. This was the only hotel where we felt this on our entire trip in Spain, Portugal and Netherlands. We checked in an other hotel on the 3rd day. That hotel was good and we were happy to end our trip in this hotel. The only thing good about the Tryp Rex hotel was the location and i guess, that would be the only reason to stay there. But then there are tons of hotels on Gran Via.