Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard beds and terrible service

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
The bed was so hard we had trouble sleeping. There are no windows to the outside--only Windows to walls--so you can't tell if it's day or night. A very depressing place to stay. I should have gone with Airbnb.
2 out of 5
by HYEJIN from Seoul, Korea

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
the room was clean and tidy nothing to complain, but my room faced the main road, gran via, and was quite noisy due to cars even during the night. so was hard to get a good night sleep.. My biggest complain about this hotel is that the receptionists dont speak english AT ALL. i've never met a hotel receptionist who doesnt speak english. It was so hard to communicate with them. the only english word i could hear from them was 'thank you'.
2 out of 5
by evelyn from Miami

Great location

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
This hostel is located on a main avenue in Grandad close to all the attractions and the albacin neighborhood Great location
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2012 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Katie from Ithaca, NY

Great deal, great location, management doesn't speak English

Posted Sep 24, 2010
This hotel is in a great location near the cathedral in Granada. If you take the bus in from the bus station, ask the other passengers where the stop is to get off near the cathedral. I definitely would not try and walk here from the main bus station if that is your mode of transport (too far!). Either take a cab or the bus in to town. The air conditioining worked well, but we had to go into the dark stairwell to use the free wifi. Ask for the password at the front desk (*in Spanish only*). I expected a budget hotel and the room was better than some rooms that we paid twice the price for. The management could have been better - workers smoking in the main lobby area was a bit unprofessional.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Avoid at any cost!

Posted Mar 6, 2010
As much as we enjoyed our trip to Granada, we totally hated our stay at the hotel Sonia. Despite the good location (easy walk to Alhambra, bars and restaurants), I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Being a one star hotel, obviously the expectations were not very high, however, one would expect to have a window in their room. There was one, but tiny and overlooking the enclosed courtyard of the neighbours!! which made the room very suffocating. The worst thing is the fact that smoking was allowed in the hotel (despite the non-smoking signs) but who would stick to the rule if the reception staff and the owner smoke non-stop in the corridors, and not having fresh air in the room did not help! It was also very noisy especially over the week-end, but then once again the reception staff were very noisy themselves. After two nights we decided to leave the hotel. We spoke to the reception staff (only spanish is spoken there) and we said that we could not stay anymore because of the smoking and a my health issues. They were extremely rude at us, shouting and claiming that the smoke was not that bad! we eventually managed to get a room with a window which improved things slightly but it was extremely noisy as it was on a very busy main road. Bottom line, avoid at any cost. Plenty of very nice and cheap hotels nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peut faire mieux

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
l'hôtel est au centre ville, mais malheureusement un peu ancien et bruyant. Heureusement l'accueil est agréable
4 out of 5
by JAIRO ALBERTO from Bogotá

Estadía en Hostal Sonia.

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
En general la estancia fue muy placentera, el hotel está perfectamente ubicado en el centro de la ciudad, cerca a todo lo turístico, y muy cerca de la plaza donde se agrra el bus para ir a la alhambra. Además el hostal tiene habitaciones bastante amplias y limpias, lo que siempre es muy bueno encontar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Propre et agréable

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Séjour rapid, mais chambre impecable, pareil que le service. Placé pas loin de l alhmbra et du quartier historique.